We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamagoya

Yamagoya
Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 restaurants in Fernie
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed this place that is located directly across from the hotel we were staying at. We sat at the bar and enjoyed a few of there dishes. Overall the food was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    45
    27
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved it. Nice spot to have dinner. Great service, nice atmosphere, yummy food. Will return with friends next time. Good job

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous sushi in Fernie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a new favourite of ours even though its been in fernie for many years. Simply good, fresh food and especially great for vegetarians (soya wraps instead of nori too!). If you love Japanese food you'll love Yama Goya. Watch for their rolling sushi truck - delish! Thank you for the fab meal and lovely service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparwood, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm not a sushi fan at all I just get the stir-fry but my fiancee absolutely loves their sushi. Her best friends dad is a professional sushi chef so she knows what good sushi is.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Theres hope for Fernie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

In a town where pride in restaurant service is almost non-existent, this is refreshing
The friendly staff ( Trish is outstanding) is the reason this is the 1 restaurant I look forward to coming back to, when I'm in town

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamagoya also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Yamagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamagoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.