We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff who understand what customer service is all about.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Valley Motel & RV Park

Save Saved
You added Snow Valley Motel & RV Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snow Valley Motel & RV Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1041 7th Ave, Box 1530, Fernie, British Columbia V0B1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Fernie
British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff who understand what customer service is all about.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife, 10 year old son and I took a week travelling with our RV from Penticton, BC to Lethbridge, Alberta where we were to attend a wedding. When we got to Fernie we stayed 2 nights in a provincial campground. I initially stopped and inquired about RV space at Snow Valley Motel and RV however they were full. Since we would have to come back through Fernie to return home after the wedding I asked if they knew of a storage facility I could leave my travel trailer at while we drove to Lethbridge. Janis the manager said there wasn't one, however, she did have a small site and if my trailer would fit we were welcome to leave it there. To make a long story short ... my trailer fit and we were able to travel to Lethbridge in just our truck which made our trip and stay in Lethbridge alot easier.

It's not everyday, people go out of their way to be accommodating. Janis is such a warm and friendly person. And so helpful. If ever we are in Fernie again without our trailer you can be sure we will be staying at SNOW VALLEY.

A great big THANK YOU to Janis and staff at the Snow Valley Motel and RV Park.
People who truly understand customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVManager, Owner at Snow Valley Motel & RV Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and rv park. Janis is indeed such a warm and friendly person, instinctively accommodating and we are very fortunate to have her and her husband William as managers. i thank you personally and on behalf of both of them for your kind and thoughtful comments.
-Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband, 17 year old son and I were passing through Fernie on a bicycle tour. Our room was clean, had aircon, wifi. Was excellent for the price. The staff was outstanding and is the reason I am writing my first Trip Advisor review. They answered our many questions, accomodated our bicycles, called ahead to hotels in the towns toward which we were riding, and were genuinely concerned about our well-being. They brought us fresh-baked cookies as we were preparing to peddle away, and even, (I feel terrible about this), drove all the way to Crows Nest Pass looking for us after we inadvertently left some items in the room. We will definitely go back if we are in Fernie again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVManager, Owner at Snow Valley Motel & RV Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your favorable review. We have always strived to provide an excellent level of hospitality and customer service and feel with our reviews, like yours, that we are achieving that goal. We fondly look forward to your return visit and trust that you had a safe and fun bicycle tour.
-Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband, 20 year old son and I had an 8 night stay here in Fernie. We were looking for accom. at a good price and definitely wanted a kitchen. We had a separate bedroom with a pull out in the l.r. for our son. Although the motel is a bit dated, it was quite clean and had all the cooking items that we needed. The staff, especially Rebecca, were super. Anything that we needed i.e. measuring cup, extra containers, steak knives (BBQed on their unit), were supplied when we asked. It was a bonus to have free computer use in the office. We also enjoyed using the hot tub across from our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVManager, Front Office Manager at Snow Valley Motel & RV Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities suitable for your needs.
Yes we are an older property and while each room has received recent updates, the kitchenettes are the oldest part of the Motel and this is reflected in some of the fixtures and finishes. As you mention, the layout with the private bedroom is very popular and as these units are small, we are able to keep the rates as low as possible- the kitchenettes are only $10 more than our standard rooms. I am glad you appreciated the value for money.
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family on your recent visit, and I hope we will welcome you back to the Motel again soon.
-Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed in one of the small 'kitchenettes.' For the price, these rooms are fantastic- about the same size overall as a standard motel room, but with a separate bedroom and full kitchen! We found the room perfect for 2 people.

The kitchens are older but very well equipped and everything worked. The bed was very comfortable and the sofa bed appeared to be almost new- adult daughter was very pleased to get a decent night's sleep! Our bathroom had been renovated and the flooring and curtains also seemed new. For an older property, the upkeep is very good. We also looked at one of their regular rooms. These are in the newer building and get more sun and have a better view of the mountains. Those rooms were more updated and had nice furniture- they had just finished tiling the bathroom floors when we were there.

Other notes on our stay:
-Central location is great, walking distance to everything.
-Free wifi, local paper and movie channels were a bonus.
-Motel has a hot-tub and BBQ deck which we didn't use.
-Great staff who know the area really well.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVManager, Front Office Manager at Snow Valley Motel & RV Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and your daughter during your stay with us, and show you some of our accommodations. We are glad you appreciated the updates and value for money we provide and hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Title says it, for the cost of the room, I didn't expect it to be so roomy and clean.

The front desk staff was wonderful and very helpful with directions, etc - very important!!

Clean room, working air conditioner, great immediate hot water.

Would definately go back!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We paid $89 a night for the Snow Valley Motel which is inexpensive for Fernie but not a great value relative to other similar motels elsewhere. The motel's location is good and you can walk to several good restaurants and bars on the highway; downtown is about a ten minute walk and the ski hill is a ten minute drive. We were able to conveniently park right in front of our room and that was a bonus. There is a hot tub in the lobby area..it appeared clean but didn't seem overly appealing so we passed.

The rooms are very basic and average sized but clean however. There is a microwave, fridge and table in the room. We had to go to the front desk to borrow a hair dryer..would only work in the living room as plug was incompatible for the bathroom. The bathroom was slightly older and had moderate water pressure. The walls were fairly thin and we could hear our neighbors playing music into the evening. Otherwise no complaints about our stay here.

If you are on a budget and aren't searching for luxury this is an acceptable option for Fernie.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My wife and I and our 4 kids stayed in one the family suites. I was really great! We had a full kitchen with cookware, dining table, plenty of room for everyone to sleep and walk around. TWO, count them TWO bathrooms! We NEVER get TWO bath rooms when on vacation. The kids were ecstatic, my wife was too! The room was clean and the service great. For the price, I feel I got my monies worth. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snow Valley Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Valley Motel & RV Park

Address: 1041 7th Ave, Box 1530, Fernie, British Columbia V0B1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snow Valley Motel & RV Park 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned & centrally located Motel & RV Park. All standard rooms have upgraded furniture, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. 6 cedar-lined cozy kitchenettes (separate building) and 1 family suite available. Free wifi, hot-tub, movie channels, BBQ deck, parking. Close to all amenities; ski shuttle, restaurants, shopping, skating arena, bars, parks, aquatic centre. Fernie has many wonderful activities available including golf, fishing, rafting, skiing, tubing, horseback riding, mountain biking, festivals, art classes. Fernie Alpine Resort 10 minutes drive, downtown Fernie & Fernie Golf & Country Club 10 minute walk. RV Park open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Snow Valley Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Valley Motel & RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.