We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerstone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornerstone Lodge to your Saves list
Cornerstone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5339 Ski Hill Road | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Best location for skiing at Fernie. Underground parking and restaurants closeby. We stay here every year. Great management at this place, they go out of their way to make the stay as good as possible.

Room Tip: Stay on the North side of the complex so you don't have to hear music cranked all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear CalgaryThere:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we will pass on the kind words regarding our staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

It doesn't get more convenient than Cornerstone Lodge for skiers. The lodge is steps from the lifts, main lodge, lift tickets etc...In its day, it was likely the epitome of comfort. We have stayed here on a couple of occasions. The rooms are basic but have what you need for cooking and washing/drying clothes. Bring your ear plugs, because the building is old and not well insulated - plenty of noise from other rooms, and the groomers/cafe noise will have you up bright and early. Underground parking is a plus. The building itself has a tired feel to it, Worn-out carpets, strong smells, weak work-out area and tiny hot tub are a few examples. Lots of wear and tear.

Room Tip: Not above the cafe - go for the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear 140molly:

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Cornerstone Lodge and took advantage of the great location in the centre of the Fernie Alpine Resort village. We are sorry to hear that noise had a negative impact on your stay. When notified by guests while in-house, we take proactive steps to minimize noise disturbances from the resort operator and other building tenents or guests. We also share guest comments and concerns regarding noise whenever possible with our resort partners. We provide recommendations to unit owners as to which amenity improvements they should consider and your review will help us in this regard. We thank you for your kind comments in your review and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is the first time our family has stayed at Cornerstone....normally we stay at The Griz Inn but they were all booked up. There are pros and cons to both places. The positive points for Cornerstone are: washer and dryer in suite; ski-in ski-out; detergent is supplied for the washing machine; rooms are more spacious than most at the Griz (although you can rent some large rooms at the Griz); there is a second bathroom in the 2 bedroom suites; electric fireplace; underground parking lot. Cons for Cornerstone: ski lockers in underground parking lot are too small to accomodate a family of 3... some equipment had to be left in the vehicle; hot tub is indoors and small; the one elevator is slow and so one often is waiting for a long time, however the exits are available if not wearing ski boots!; main entrance doors are always locked which means everyone has to be sure to take a key with them and it is hard for visitors to get into the building...they can buzz up to the room but you then have to go to the main level to open the door for them; being so close to chair lifts, be prepared to hear the groomers out early in the morning around 6:30-7am.

Griz Inn positive points: Top Shelf ski rental is in the basement; easier to get in and out of hotel as entrance doors are not locked (hotel staff are on duty wherease there isn't at Cornerstone); indoor swimming pool, 2 outdoor hot tubs..both good size; washer and dryer available in basement (might have to wait your turn); bar/restaurant on main level; ski-in, ski-out....15 steps out front door put your skis on and away you go. Cons for Griz: living room area can be narrow and small; rooms are privately owned, so the suites are all different and some decorated better than others

While both hotels are right at the base of the ski hill (Deer chair was right outside our kitchen window at Cornerstone) and are true ski-in ski-outs, I prefer the Griz Inn for the positive points listed above.

If you book at Cornerstone, request top floor (vaulted ceilings) as well as ski-hill side, not 'village' side. If you book at the Griz, request ski hill view.

I agree with another Cornerstone review about the beds and pillows....I found both very uncomfortable yet my husband didn't so to each their own I guess. The kitchen supplies could be a bit better stocked but that can also occur at the Griz. And yes, you do need to check in at the Griz but we didn't find that to be a problem...just drove up to the front door at Griz...checked-in, then drove 1 minute to the underground parking lot at Cornerstone. There are carts available there to load up all your luggage.

Both places are right on the mountain, but if you have kids, they might enjoy the indoor swimming pool at the Griz.

Room Tip: 3rd floor units have vaulted ceilings; corner units have a very large living room; would ask for ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear sarahwinter_11:

We thank you for your review and appreciate the thorough comparison of the Cornerstone Lodge and the Griz Inn. We agree that each property has specific amenities and features that appeal to a certain clientele. As we manage both properties, we make best efforts to match property and /or unit with each client’s particular needs. The size of the ski lockers will be brought to the owners’ attention as they are currently considering upgrades to the property. We are looking forward to welcome you again and be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valleyford, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We visited Fernie for the first time on our annual ski expedition. I must say for a supposedly world class ski resort, I am a little disappointed in the accommodation at the Cornerstone Lodge. This set of condos has the look of a place that was hastily put together. The layout of the rooms is not very efficient and the kitchen was poorly equipped. This location has no wireless internet access which in this day and age is very surprising. The lockers for storing your gear are tiny and don’t even come close to holding more than 1 set of gear for an individual. Seeing how there were four of us, we had to keep the rest of our equipment in our car. Also the access to the lockers is inconvenient as it is in the parking structure with no direct slope access. I would not call this location a true ski-in ski-out. I think next time I’ll stay in town as there is really nothing to do in the village afterhours.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear johnjinderlee:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cornerstone Lodge. We are glad to see that you are considering a return visit to Fernie. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are currently recommending to the owners of all units that they upgrade unit amenities and to have wireless internet installed. Your review will help us in this regard. The Cornerstone Lodge is located at the centre of Fernie Alpine resort on the village plaza at the base of two ski lifts and is a brief ski down to a third lift. We are sorry that you found the location of the lockers and their size to be a source of inconvenience and will share it with the owners of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Decent place. Right on the mountain. Ski in ski out. My only complaints are that there really isnt any service. And the hot tub is about the size of a bathtub, so dont expect a soak after a long day on the mountain as it will be full.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear JM8888

We are very happy that you enjoyed the great ski -in ski- out location of the Cornerstone Lodge. All units at the Cornerstone Lodge are Full Condominium units and therefore are offered limited services. We do agree with you that the hot tub is on the smaller scale but we do hope the patrons are aware of the suggested posted time limit for sitting in the hot tub and of others who may be waiting.
We do hope that you will come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

A group of four of us in our mid-20s stayed in room 304 at the Cornerstone Lodge for 3 nights (Jan 20-23).

Check-in is located at the Griz Inn, which is a bit of a hike from the Cornerstone Lodge. We were glad we had been warned by TripAdvisor reviews. There is a large 8.5X11" typed sheet of paper in the window now (to the right of the door) saying that check-in is at the Griz Inn as well.

We had an issue at check-in as one of our party had to drop-out the night before. We told the front-desk when we checked in that we wanted to cancel one of the 2-day lift tickets and they printed it and charged us anyway. My friend that booked the package in the first place called to try and resolve the situation and everyone he talked to kept telling them it wasn't their problem and to call someone else. He kept getting the same answer from everyone, so I guess we will be paying for a 2-day lift ticket that sat on the kitchen table in our suite for 2 days without being used by anyone.

We really enjoyed the large vaulted ceilings on the third floor which really opened the place up. The suite was clean with nice amenities in the bathroom and we were very happily surprised to find a washer/dryer in the bathroom. This was a 2 bedroom kitchenette and unfortunately many of the dishes had been put away dirty and required some extra time being scrubbed before we could use them!! The fireplace was great.

The building is very conveniently situated with regards to access to lifts. Once we had all of our gear on, we had the choice of three lifts which were all a short walk from outside the door. It was easily accessible to get down to for lunch or a drink part-way through the day.

The underground parking was great, however upon our arrival the check-in did let us know that many people had checked out but not moved their vehicles yet. There were a few spots left underground, but two large trucks with toppers on them were parked like complete jerks taking up valuable parking spaces! We spent several minutes edging our large SUV into a tight corner space, trying not to damage the paint on the concrete barriers. There were several other guests that came in after us that were forced to spend significant time edging into too-small parking spaces as well. We arrived on a Friday afternoon around 4pm. The underground parking was almost empty by the time we left on Monday morning.

Also, they do provide guest lockers for equipment in the underground parking (not allowed upstairs), but they are VERY narrow and would not fit snowboards. Likely only appropriate for skis. We luckily had room in the vehicle to store our boards.

Warning: If you are going to stay here (or at least in this suite), BRING YOUR OWN PILLOWS. They were terrible. All four of us woke up with very very stiff necks and backs. The beds were not very comfortable either... could probably use replacing or some kind of pillow topper.

Oh, and also bring EARPLUGS! Lots of noise in this suite!!

Unfortunately this room looked out over the "village" and was directly located across from the Griz Bar, with several parking lots right outside as well.

Elk Valley was under a Winter Storm Warning for the first two days we were there, so they were receiving some snow. With our suite looking out over the parking lots, this meant that every morning starting at 6am, we were woken up to bobcats and graders working on the roads and lots. VERY VERY LOUD. Not sure if earplugs would have done the trick to be honest. This maybe would have been understandable with the snow they received the first night, but this even happened Monday morning when there was no new snow!!

We completely understand the roads and lots needing to be cleared out, but 6am with people still sleeping was completely unacceptable. This was mentioned to the front-desk when they checked out and we were told "it was out of their control."

On Saturday night, bar patrons spent several hours launching snowballs at our suite while other guests in the Cornerstone lodge sent some back. The hooting and hollering continued into the wee hours of the evening as well. We like to have as much fun as the next person, but we wanted to get in a full day of snowboarding the next day and couldn't get any sleep!!

There is an indoor hot tub on the 3rd floor of this lodge, so this was down the hall from our room. The posted limit is no more than 6 people and the water/spa room was very warm. We ended up opening the window in the room just because the heat was intolerable for more than a few minutes. When we were sitting in it on Sunday night trying to work the kinks out of our tired legs, someone kept opening the door (required room key) and swinging it open so it banged against the wall and then they would run away!

I am not sure I would recommend this particular accommodation to anyone unless a few things were changed... the other side of the building (facing the mountain) may have been significantly quieter, but you would never know until you got there. The beds/pillows may also vary from suite to suite (as I believe these are owned time-share units) so that issue may not exist in every room.

Basically if you want to stay right on the hill but not sleep, this is a great location!!

Room Tip: Third floor has nice vaulted ceilings. Try to get backside (mountain facing) location in lodge. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear letmecount123

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Griz Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many elements of your stay such as the suite amenities, hot tub and location, but we are also very sorry that your overall experience did not meet your expectations.

We regularly share guest comments with our staff as we believe it is important for our guest services team to empathize with our guests when challenges occur. These reviews are always very helpful for us to understand what areas we may need to address to make for the best possible guest experience.

In particular, we would like to point out the constructive actions we have undertaken based on your feedback:

Firstly, although we have had very little negative feedback regarding pillow and bed comfort in the past, guest comfort is a priority and we will be sure your comments are shared with the Owner’s Rental Association.

Secondly, when packages such as yours need to be changed (i.e. refunding lift passes) the guest must coordinate such matters directly with the tour operator who sold the package. To ensure our staff can provide the most accurate information to guests, we have contacted the tour operator to reconfirm the proper contact procedures and have reviewed them thoroughly with our guest services team.

Finally, it is unfortunate that several external incidents such as slope grooming, snow removal and boisterous bar patrons disrupted your sleep. While we have little direct control over such matters, we communicate regularly with the ski resort to help minimize such incidences and have already forwarded your comments to the Resort owners and requested a meeting to see if there are ways in which we can reduce the impact of these inconveniences on our guests.

We are sorry to see that you question whether or not you would recommend our facilities but we do hope that you will come back another time and give us the opportunity to offer a better guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stay at this property every year on a ski trip with my family. It is a great location right on the hill, ideal for having lunch breaks and a bit of wine. Park the car underground for three days and leave it. Kelsey's restaurant has great food and friendly staff. The rooms are clean and well appointed and always stocked with all the amenities a kitchen would need. The hot tub after a day on the hill is most welcome for tired muscles and a fitness room also helps for buringing those Kelsey calories. By far the best accommodation at the hill when considering value and quality. The prices are far better than counterparts on the hill and the location is ideal for access and ski out. I will keep staying every year and look forward to the trip! Thanks to the management and staff of Cornerstone, you do an excellent job! See you next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the hillside rooms, better views and great access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Calgary There:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the Cornerstone Lodge. We are very happy that you are pleased with our customer service team and that you will continue to stay with us for your future visits to Fernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornerstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Lodge

Address: 5339 Ski Hill Road | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Lodge at Fernie Alpine Resort offers an ideal ski-in, ski-out location and exceptional comfort in our fully-equipped 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Unit features include full kitchens, gas fireplaces, air-conditioning, free wireless high-speed internet access, cable TV and balconies. Facility amenities include a licensed restaurant (Kelsey's) and Slopeside Cafe on the main level, Fernie Alpine Resort Daycare on the main level, indoor whirlpool, fitness room, and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornerstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornerstone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.