We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferme Rouge - CLOSED

Ferme Rouge
1957 CHEMIN DE MONTREAL OUEST, Gatineau, Quebec J8M 1P3, Canada
(819) 986-7013
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $411
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great night out with friends, food was good- great entertainment show. Service was a little slow but the staff were very busy and attentive when at the table

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    11
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Idea!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to La Ferme Rouge at the behest of my significant other, for something a little different. Upon arrival seated very quickly. Table for two by the fire exit, more in a moment. We went on a Group-On promo. So basicly means set menu and offerings. Our server was attentive for the most part, though having to run for costume changes and steaks in the kitchen can make for a complicated life for the performer. So to the food then, onion soup was well prepared with just enough cheese and crusty bread, ordered chicken and shrimp, chicken was cooked well, just a slight metalic taste with every bite. Shrimp, so over cooked. Wifes' Prime Rib was okay. The entertainment was cruise ship worthy at best. Back to the table for two, being situated ajacent to the fire door was very drafty and downright cold with the -15 degree winter breeze chilling everything . They had tried to cover up some kind of issue with the wall with a poorly installed trim, and a picture to try and cover the defect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just come back from the Groupon deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I bought the Groupon deal. (1) Our prime rib was good. (2) The singing was good.
Then it comes the downside. The restaurant rennovation really need improvement. The amtosphere feel really outdated, which made me feel my money, even with the Groupon, was not quite worthwhile. I had the onion soup for appetizer and it was soso . Our server was good. The dancer's costume was cheap and the dance was cheesy. Looking at the seafood buffet that other people had... I am glad it was not our choice because the food didn't look too fresh.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Large celebrations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The entertainment can be good. When you have tons of people to celebrate with, it can be a good venue. There's a wild entertainment segment where your servers sing their hearts out. I wouldn't recommend ordering the buffet because I think you will end up waiting in line forever. If you order from the menu then you need to hope that your server's number isn't being called. In other words, don't be hungry when you go there, you just need to be in the mood to celebrate, I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Food and service - Needing Urgent Update...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Last time we went to Ferme Rouge was because a young family-member was working there as a waitress and performing, singing & dancing as well. At the time...we loved the performance but had second thoughts about the food and the service. Since it's a great big room restaurant, they can pack-in over 500 people in the place. As people over 50+ we soon recognized that, apart from the performances, the place is not being marketed for our older generation. Food is good if you like sea food... if not your choice is limited. Seating in our case was bad, we felt we were in a "sugar bush" atmosphere, sitting tight elbow to elbow with people next to you, good chance we knew the people around us. When it came to billing, we never did get our "bill" at our table, we had to leave our table and walk to the 'front desk'...only way to speed up our cashing out! Although our long evening was still somewhat pleasant due to the good performances of the 'performing waiters & waitresses', we have no intention of going back, at least not for a long time anyway.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferme Rouge also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferme Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.