We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de la Gare

Save Saved
You added Auberge de la Gare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de la Gare
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 St-Joseph blvd, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 3X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Gatineau
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nice hotel.
Clean comfy room and bed.
Decent free wifi.
Free parking.
Good location, 10 min drive to Ottawa's main attractions.
Highly recommended.
They offer a free continental breakfast, can't comment on this as I didn't avail of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I found this hotel by chance, after booking at another hotel I cancelled my reservation early and booked ADLG, Great place clean,big LCD TV comfortable beds. Rooms are simple but has everything you would need even a small fridge.

lots of restaurants around for all tastes.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Qc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days and was really surprised. The rooms are extremely clean and I had a very nice room, with a new mattress, a plasma TV and had access to wireless for free. It is extremely comfortable and I like in particular the feather pillows. The staff is really friendly and really polite, I wasn’t worried to ask about anything. Good breakfast.
One of the nights the parking was full thought, but one of the staff members showed me where I could park, just across the street for no charge.
I really enjoyed staying at the hotel because it’s also really close to the Lac Leamy Casino and 10-15 min from downtown Ottawa.

I definitely recommend the hotel and I’ll be going again this month.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

I was looking for somewhere different to stay in the Ottawa area, and something that was near the casino on the Gatineau side. Chose this due to the positive reviews on tripadvisor.com The hotel is conveniently only 10-15 minutes from downtown Ottawa. Parking at the hotel was difficult, as the small lot was full. There is no overnight parking other than in the hotel lot, and luckilly I managed to double park near the front door of the hotel in the lot. Be careful if you're driving to get there early, or else you could be stuck if the hotel is busy. Not one more car could have squeezed in the lot. On the plus side, the staff are lovely. Warm and friendly and do what they can to help. One staff member went out and brushed all the snow off my car parked in their lot overnight. I saw him going around doing that for the other cars there. Nice touch!! The rooms however, leave a LOT to be desired. Very spartan. Bland.........pretty much Red Roof Inn quality at best. Even use a old fashioned metal key for entry! Bathroom is small but relatively clean. Beds weren't the most comfortable unfortunately. Wireless internet (free) was excellent. Did not try the complimentary continental breakfast that was included. They also give a $5 coupon towards the next stay, but.......despite the warmth of the staff, the comfort level just wasn't enough for me to repeat this property.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The reviews ( written in English ) are true. ( we can't read French so we can't determine what they say ). Safe, clean, quiet, comfortable, good staff , parking, convevient etc. . $88 / night for seniors and you can save an additional $6 / night if you make up your own room. All positives and nothing to complain about.

  • Liked — safe, clean, quiet, value, parking etc
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

A very nice place. Very Clean Room !! I haven't seen clean as these ones for a while now.Very Quiet too!! The breakfast is good. I would recommend this hotel just for sleeping and working on a business trip. No pool,gym or restaurant in the hotel. Many restaurants are very close though !!! Good for a businessman like me or a tourist who spend most of his time outside the hotel. The rate is modest !!!

  • Liked — Quiet and Clean. Helpful Staff.
  • Disliked — No Gym, but I don't care much,since i preoccupied with other things.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,QC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Great hotel close to everthing. Modest Rate. Very quiet rooms, unlike the other ones I previously stayed at ! Will return soon !!!

  • Liked — Quiet Rooms for a good night sleep.
  • Disliked — No pool or gym.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Gare

Address: 205 St-Joseph blvd, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 3X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Hotel located in Gatineau's downtown and minutes away from Ottawa's downtown. Clean and Quiet rooms. Friendly Staff. Free breakfast and parking and many other amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Auberge de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Gare Gatineau, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de la Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.