We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Aylmer Road, Gatineau, Quebec J9H7L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Gatineau
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
“Nice hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We travelled to Ottawa to apply for a passport at our country's embassy. We stayed at Double Tree by Hilton in Gatineau. We had a great experience from the moment we checked in. In general, the staff were great and very helpful.The desk clerk was very polite, professional and accommodating. We had a very clean and nice suite with hardwood floors. The furniture was also nice. The room in general and the bed were very comfortable. The A/C was working properly. We had access to a balcony from our room. There was a pool and gym at the hotel. The location was very convenient for us since it wasn't too far from downtown Ottawa. Parking was FREE!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    75
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
49
2
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Premium King Suite with our two kids. Having a suite was a great fit for us. It provided a double sized pull out couch that the kids found comfortable, and a king sized bed that was very comfortable for us. I only reccommend bringing your own pillow - I found the pillows too soft and fluffy. It was nice to have a kitchen table and four chairs to sit at when eating - or with the kids for colouring. The breakfast was very good, buffet style and the picky eaters found lots to eat. The pool is salt water and a great size for kids - however it does get deep fast so you need to keep a close watch. The hotel did have a few floaty toys available for the kids. Overall we love this hotel, it's location is great and the view is beautiful. This is our choice location everytime we visit Ottawa - It's in a quiet area that is easy to get to and from and is just a short drive from all of the fun.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was excellent. Staff always help us with problems. Nice place to stay. Rooms are clean and the lobby is nice. There is a breanfast service on site. Parking is available. It is located near Gatineau and Ottawa at the same time, since the bridge is located very near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on weekend a couple of summers ago when it was Chateau Cartier, the A/C barely worked. We decided to try again now that it is a Doubletree, not any better. It could also use some freshening up - some of the decor is tired and in need of repair.
This time we stayed Easter weekend, again it was too hot. The temp in the room was 24 degrees Celsius. We turned the thermostat down to 10, switched it to A/C and opened the window but the temp only went down to 22. Tried to sleep with the window open, but had to close it as there were "guests" continuously outside the front of the hotel smoking, yelling and laughing until 3 am. Not to mention the continuous noise in the hallways of loud, drunk, rude guests slamming doors and partying at all hours. So much for a nice, quiet, relaxing and romantic weekend. The one good thing was the cookies!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServManager, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, we’re sorry we didn’t provide the quietness and the appropriate room temperature you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. Our maintenance and customer service managers are already working on this. We apologize for the issues you experienced and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on a sunday night and got a king suite (no kitchen - just a tiny fridge) for a really good price.
The room was a really nice size, the hotel is very quiet (at least on sunday night)
The breakfast was good - they had a cold buffet and if you wanted hot stuff you just told them and they cooked it to order
I think the breakfast normally costs $15 but we got it free since my husband has status
Really my only complaint was the water pressure - we were on the 6th floor so not sure if that matters, hubby said it was ok but I thought it was really weak (for north america)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, room and facilities. We had suite with hardwood floors and fireplace which was very nice. A couple of minor issues that needed to be addressed at check in but they were addressed with good customer service. Pool and gym facilities were nice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Business trip and had used my points for my family to join me over the weekend. Never stayed here but will definitely return . Upgraded both rooms to suites and made our stay such a pleasure. Will be back as crossing to Ottawa is so simple. This hotel gives a very zen feeling!! And the staff are extremely welcoming..

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 1170 Aylmer Road, Gatineau, Quebec J9H7L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gatineau on peaceful, natural surroundings, this beautiful resort and convention centre offers the new Ekko de Brasil restaurant with casual yet elegant atmosphere and a first class Health Club & Spa including a splendid indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.