We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthful of Flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Amazonas

Restaurant Amazonas
19 Chemin Eardley, Gatineau, Quebec J9H4N8, Canada
(819) 684-9676
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 538 Restaurants in Gatineau
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mouthful of Flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was our first time in Aymler and eating Peruvian food. We had "anticucho", a beef tenderloin scallop dish and the seafood "chupe". Both dishes were so delicious and flavourful (portions very generous). we also had the empanadas which were delicious, quite different from Argentine type empanadas.The music and ambiance wonderful. , The price very reasonable for the portions, high quality ingredients and preparation time that these dishes require. We'll be back to drink a large "chicha morada" a hot summer day with one of those delicious desserts that they have.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit of warmth at minus 30 celcius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazona's was a delight and welcomed break from the harsh winter cold.

Immediately upon greeting and seating we were transported to Peru by
this lovely family owned and operated restaurant.

Operated by Maria Lopez and Segundo Vargas, chef and owner.
Both have considerable culinary experience in both Lima Peru and
here in Canada.

They offer traditional dishes from Peru including ceviche,
cancha and tamales, among other popular dishes.

You can also find traditional Peruvian drinks such as chicha morada,
pisco sour, and, of course, the familiar Peruvian Inka Cola.

All in all it was a great experience and we look forward to our next visit

They accept reservations, call 819-684-9676.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

One doesn't think of a real variety of "ethnic" food in a suburb like Aylmer but this is a hidden treasure.

It's a relatively new restaurant in a converted house and has a limited (but very tasty) menu. It's a family run restaurant and well worth crossing the Champlain Bridge to enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice, cozy Peruvian restaurant.True taste to Peruvian food!
The anticuchos are amazing! One of the best ones I had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Amazonas also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Restaurant Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.