We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho did I miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Edgar

Chez Edgar
60 rue Begin, Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
819-205-1110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Aylmer
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ho did I miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I live nearby and did not know the place. When you travel the world you tend to ignore your own yard. Amazing place, you eat almost in the kitchen, observing the chef. Delicious brunch on Sunday morning. I was told that there were only 13 seats and you cannot book. So we waited by the door at 9:15 for a 9:30 opening and at 9:31 the place was full. Worth the wait, but go early or late for lunch in the afternoon. My partner had sweet crepe with generous portion of pork belly and other spices, I had something more spicy with guacamole. Excellent

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bayreuth, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“try it - you won't be dissapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

What do you write about a restaurant? This place serves really good food, the staff is very friendly, the prices are ok and it's right located at one of monacos yachtharbours. Again food, staff, location and price - two thumbs up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I live in Gatineau and had never heard of this little restaurant which happens to be in a restored home in a residential area. The menu and seating is limited but the food is amazing! It's wonderful to watch these young, friendly entrepreneurs bustling around preparing your meal in this open concept restaurant. We've had brunch there several times and have tried different menu items and honestly, everything is delicious! The breakfasts are beautifully presented and are very hearty. A little advice ... arrive early morning or expect to wait because they only seat
about 12 people. Summer months are best as there is extra seating on the patio. Nevertheless, it will be worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Victim of its popularity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited for Sunday brunch as a group of 3.

Pros:
* The Dutch Baby was very good
* Nice selection of yummy pastries

Cons:
* 30min+ wait outside in the rain for seats
* Did not get a table, but 3 seats squeezed at the window counter
* They sit 5 people at said counter in a space big enough for 3
* It's such a tiny place that you have people bumping into you while you eat
* Over 25min to get a cappuccino
* Very small menu for a full breakfast (only 3 options)

I believe Chez Edgar is a victim of its popularity: too many customers crammed in such a tiny space with a small staff that can't deliver efficiently. It should be a to-go counter with only a few seats and standing room to wait for orders, or it should be scaled to fit the demand. Sadly, in its current form, I feel that you can't get the full experience you deserve. It's a shame because the food is delicious.

Tip: Avoid on the weekend

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An Accident Worth Repeating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was in Ottawa- for the first time in a number of years. Went out for a bite to eat - trying to find a place I enjoyed many years ago in the Gatineau area. We didn't find it - but on a recommendation, tried Chez Edgar.A nice menu - great service - cute building. As a group, we ordered a fair portion of the menu - and shared. I don't think we had one bad item - and some were quite excellent. Worth the trip - worth the money - worth the calories. Way to go Edgar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Edgar also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Chez Edgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Edgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.