We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply an excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lac-Leamy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Lac-Leamy to your Saves list
Hilton Lac-Leamy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Boulevard du Casino, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 6X4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Gatineau
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simply an excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Everything was perfect: extremely clean premises, fantastic room and restaurant views, very polite and helpful staff, superb facilities. Simply an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    142
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
86
206
23
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I don't think I can say anything bad about this place. Perhaps a negative would be that it's pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Staff: Everyone we met there was very friendly and helpful. If you don't speak ANY French, don't worry; everyone always spoke French first, but repeated themselves in English immediately. If you want to try French, they will be happy you at least tried, especially if you're American. I took six years of French, but my last class was eight years ago, so I was pretty rusty. Everyone I've met so far seems thrilled (and extremely surprised) that an American is at least trying. The reactions are pretty interesting.

Room: We had a deluxe room on the eighth floor overlooking the lake, which is where fireworks are set off on Wednesday evenings. Make sure you have a camera if you are there for that! It was beautiful! The room was extremely nice, and the bathroom was HUGE with a sit-down shower separate from the bath. You couldn't hear much from outside the room. Our first night, there was quite a party in a room across the hall and a few doors down. We only heard it from the hallway when we returned from shopping, and that's because they had the door propped open. Once we were in our room, we heard nothing, and they had been pretty feisty from what we could tell.

Food: We ate in the room most of the time. The food from room service was excellent, although expensive. There's a 24-hour cafe at the casino, which had a good variety of options. The soup was very good and is all you can eat all day.

We didn't visit the casino, other than the cafe, so I can't say anything about that. We walked down to the pool and spa area, and it looked very nice and very well kept, exactly what you'd expect from this hotel. Also, the Chihuly glass in the lobby and by the stairs is gorgeous. At night, the fountains outside rotate colors and make for a great photo.

We absolutely want to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunavut, canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed @ Hilton Lac Leamy for 2 nights while attending a congress. We had a room facing the lake, 2 queens, LG 42 inchs screen, very comfy room. The view was great escpecially in Sept-Oct period when the leaves change color. One fun option in these rooms is the sound level controlled in the washroom, wow! Staff was pleasant, parking rather pricy, casino was a nice plus, restaurants rather expensive. Location was good, very quiet hotel athought it was sold out for the weekend I stayed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This was our second visit to what can only be described as one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. There's really nothing bad to say at all. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the room spacious and elegant, the bed was comfy and it was very quiet at night for sleeping. Our package included buffet breakfast which was top notch both in terms of quality and variety. Dinner at Arome restaurant was also superb with great service. The attached casino is smoke free which is a huge plus for us non-smokers. The location on Lac Leamy is great for walking and seeing wildlife. Just a top notch place to relax and have fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton Lac Leamy in Gatineau for the 2nd time recently. Again I was upgraded to the Executive Floor where the city views are spectacular. The lounge was open all weekend for breakfast, light dinner, and evening snack. I don't see this a lot in the U.S. The food was delicious and plentiful. The staff member Vincent takes great care of executive floor guests. I have been traveling to the Gatineau/Ottawa more frequently and I really like the city and the Hilton there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Went for a one night stay for my mom's birthday, had a 2 double beds room and it was simply great.

Pros: Amazing view from room
comfortable bed
bathroom is huge and very clean
big 42 inch TV
outdoor pool/hot tub overlooking the lake
had a welcome note and a little treat for my mom's birthday
Free Parking

Cons : a small fee for the internet
restaurant is expensive, so did not go, went to eat at the casino instead

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I can see why the Hilton Lac Leamy is voted Number One, I loved this hotel, it is perfectly situated close to Ottawa but on a peninsula surrounded by a lake. Beautiful! We stayed the first week of March, (I arrived the day the Canadians won the Olympic Hockey gold so there was HUGE excitement everywhere!) During the day It was sunny and still possible to go skiing around the lake where people were ice fishing. The hotel is a short cab ride from the Bymarket shopping/restaurant district and I would recommend Highs where we had a great steak one night. (A grown-up steak house)! Nearby are the Parliament buildings and also the Museum which is well worth seeing, big, light and airy with a great collection of Canadian Group of 7 art amongst others, it is also walking distance to the Bymarket shops.
The room was spacious and clean, and the lounge downstairs was a great place to sit and relax for a drink before dinner while overlooking the lake. This hotel also has a cigar bar which is popular with the gents, although the smoke extractor seems to be non-existent. The service throughout is very friendly, very 'Canadian'! I really liked and appreciated the staff who were all helpful to a fault and all of whom spoke English (this is a predominantly french speaking area).
Also worth a mention is that the hotel is about 15mins to Park Gatineau which is beautiful and there are some lovely little rustic restaurants, walks and even some downhill skiing.
Finally, the restaurant is excellent I did not think it was overpriced, seemed fairly standard and food was well prepared and did not disappoint.
One observation is the current system at breakfast is for 1 person to check her computer to admit guests to the dining room, and this takes time, about 4mins or longer if the guest doesn't have a token, then she has to walk them to their table, meanwhile quite a line up of people are kept waiting, it might be an idea to have one or two staff standing by to walk the guests to their table and one staff member to do the computer/token check in. One day the queue for breakfast numbered about 25 people.
But overall this is a great hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Lac-Leamy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lac-Leamy

Address: 3 Boulevard du Casino, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 6X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatineau
#1 Spa Hotel in Gatineau
#1 Green Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Lac-Leamy 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Lac-Leamy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lac-Leamy Hotel Gatineau
Hilton Hotel Gatineau
Hilton Gatineau
Gatineau Hilton Lac Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy Gatineau, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lac-Leamy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.