We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet but mostly good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais du Vietnam

Palais du Vietnam
335 boul. Alexandre Tache, Gatineau, Quebec J9A1H1, Canada
8197759991
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 538 Restaurants in Gatineau
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Viet Nam stretches over a thousand miles from south to north along the south eastern coast of Asia. Its wide climate range and great variety of edibles have made possible the development of a unique array of recipes which have been refined, over the years, into a distinctive classic cuisine. At Palais du Vietnam Restaurant you will have a chance to discover it all.
Toronto
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very quiet but mostly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were surprised by how empty this place was on a Saturday night. Service was friendly and pretty quick but there was not much competition!
We ordered the wonton soup based on recommendations here and it was very good. The hot and sour soup however, was neither hot (peppery) nor sour and tasted rather of cream of tomato soup, not very good. The fried rice was good with plenty of shrimp and chicken, the beef in coconut with curry sauce was very nice and so was the chicken and cashew nuts with vegetables. All in all a good meal and not very expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Service was good and so was the food! We will go back when looking for local vietnamese fare!
They have done a nice job on the inside of the restaurant in comparison to others I have been to!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Food just isn't tasty.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently had dinner there and we both concluded that the food just doesn’t truly taste anything interesting. All the dishes seemed to have pretty much the same salty taste. It's not that it was bad but rather than it was bland/boring. It seemed to us that there was too much quantity and not enough quality. The service was competent but by no mean pleasant. The ambiance was truly aligned with the rest. Nothing wrong but nothing truly remarkable either. This is clearly not an upscale restaurant and if you favour value over quality, you might like the place as the plates are huge and the prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese food in the Ottawa-Gatineau Region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Le Palais du Vietnam for 7 years. The place is totally awesome. We were never disappointed with the food and service. The owner Tree makes us feel at home, all the time. We have brought many friends and family members, they were all overwhelmed with the menu, the quality and the service. We go to Le Palais almost every two weeks.

Keep up the good work, you're simply the best.

Suzanne & Ron Couvrette

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau Quebec Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Vietnamese food in the Outaouais region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I have been going regularly to the Palais du Vietnam in Gatineau for several years and have yet to find another restaurant that offers consistency in the quality and taste of Vietnamese food in the region. They offer a varied menu of delicious items at very affordable prices. We've tried other restaurants but to date cannot find one that offers such quality & taste. They offer a Won Ton soup that is like no other soup that you can compare for taste, variety of contents & quality. It's not like any Won Ton soup that you may have had anywhere else. You will walk away with a very positive dinning experience. Service is quick and very friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone who wishes to have a gastronomic experience. We keep going back, that in and of itself speaks for reasons to try it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais du Vietnam also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Palais du Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais du Vietnam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.