We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a seminar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Edmonton Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 6W9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Gatineau
Cornwall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay for a seminar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times for seminars. The hotel itself is okay, however the fact that there is only one restaurant within walking distance a bit of a pain. Also, the kind of sketchy casino crowd is a bit of a turn-off unless you are a sketchy casino person. Staff have always been quite helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad you had a good seminar and that you enjoyed your stay. As a very service oriented team we take great pride and giving an exceptional service to all our clientele. Looking forward,
to your next visit in the Gatineau-Outaouais Region.

Sincerely,

Christine Cadieux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    191
    67
    25
    12
See reviews for
97
179
21
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were planning a visit to Ottawa but were reluctant to stay at an over-priced hotel that had extra charges for parking and wi-fi and no breakfast included in the price. We found this hotel in Gatineau just across the river from Ottawa, about a five minute drive. It was fabulous! Free parking, free wi-fi and a full buffet breakfast included in the price. Fresh fruit, breads, pastries, eggs, sausages, good coffee and juices.
The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, even had a fireplace in the corner of the room. Flick a switch and romance fills the room! And a jacuzzi bath to boot! The hotel is also a five minute walk from the casino for those who like to try their luck. There is a great Vietnamese restaurant in the plaza next door and a great buffet dinner at the casino. The hotel is very quiet at night. It was a real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in exceeding in customer service and maintaining our property to a high standard of quality. Looking forward, to your next visit in the Gatineau-Outaouais region

Best regards,

Christine Cadieux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is my 3rd time a this hotel and the service and quality is always good. This time I had a business dinner in the restaurant and we all enjoyed our meals. The breakfast buffet is not extensive but it is fresh and the quality is good. The room and the are comfortable. The casino is right across the street and it's easy acceess to Ottawa. I was there for a business function. The catering staff did a great job with the foos and they were very helpful when we needed anything for the show.
All the staff are very friendly and all speak english. Lots of free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevator or it can be a little bit of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your very positive comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have shared the quality of service. It would be a pleasure for all the team members to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Christine Cadieux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had the most wonderful stay with my family. The staff was very friendly. The accomadations were execellent. The rooms were very spacious. The only down side was the breakfast was not included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, we will take them in order to improve our service. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with your family and that you have shared the quality of our service. It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Christine Cadieux
Assitant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked this hotel last week for a couple of nights for 2 adults and 2 children through Hotwire.com and rate advertized with Free Breakfast, I thought it is a good deal, I booked the hotel, and phoned the hotel immediately to verify that breakfast is free to both adults and children, and the Hotel staff confirmed this information. I was very surprized when I arrived to the hotel late afer 5 PM, that breakfast is free for the adults only. This is not what was advertized and not what the staff have confirmed to me, and not what is in my booking confirmation that I have a print out of it, it took more 45 minutes of arguing to convinced the staff that my booking says Free Breakfast, it did not restrict it to the adults only. Anyhow, the staff during this time, blamed me for booking through hotwire and that I should have booked directly through them to get the free breakfast, also they again blamed hotwire for publishing the hotel policy incorrectly regarding the free breakfast. This is the worst check-in at any hotel that I have in North America in 20 years. Stay away from hotel , notorious staff, also accuse me of lying when I said that I spoke with your hotel staff after booking and confirmed the facts, they said, I must have spoken to Hotwire not Ramada Plaza, as I am that dumb and cannot distiguish between the two. No one should book this hotel.

Room Tip: Very bad location, close to the casino only, nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are very sorry for this misunderstanding and we do apologize for the confusion .

Although this sounds like a “cliché” it is true that we are experiencing problems with third party bookings which allow only so many characters to show in the description and unfortunately does not show that breakfast is included in rate for adults occupants only. We’re working hard to have this corrected.

Nevertheless, our Front Desk Agent should have asked the Manager on duty to assist him/her in this discussion so that you would have not left the hotel with the impression that we do not honour our promises of excellent customer service, because we assure you that we do. We would very much like you to give us another chance to prove to you that we do care a whole lot for our customer. Please contact me directly at 1-800-296-9046. so we can come to an agreement for you to come back.

Ms Christine Cadieux

Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I were travelling to Mont-Tremblant to watch out son who was participating in the inaugual Ironman event. We decided to overnight in the Ottawa area - after much research (as I have loyality cards for several hotel chains) we opted to stay at the Ramada because the gentleman (Thomas) whom I spoke with by telephone was so hospitable. Good decision! The GPS was a little confused as to how to get into the parking lot but it seems perfectly logical once you get there.
Thomas mentioned he would be working on they day we checked in so please make sure we say "hello". Check-in was uncomplicated and we were given 2 poker type chips for the buffet breakfast. The room was very clean from the windows to the bathroom. If you are not able to mange a 1/2 flight of stairs then bring you bags in through the lobby if you are on the first floor rather than use the entrances on the side of the hotel.
Breakfast did not disappoint. Freshly scrambled eggs and they were always bringing in more. Plenty of sausages and a fritata (it was excellent) and hash browns - you could make your own toast - they offered several types of bread and also had bagels - there were fresh croissants and breakfast pastries - several jugs of juice - cold cereals and you could make hot oatmeal - there were waitstaff who were doing the coffee & tea service and the only criticism I have of the whole experience is that the servers were so busy that I only got one cup of coffee and my husband never did get his tea
The evening we were at the Ramada, there were fireworks over Lac Lemay so we had built in entertainment (Thomas was quite up front that the room rate was a little more than it would usually be because of the fireworks but it was presented a in a positive and professional manner) - to be truthful we also took advantage of the Casino that is at Lac Lemay as it is just across the street and a easy walk
If you are travelling to the Ottawa/Gatineau (formerly Hull) area, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have shared the quality of our service.
It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Christine Cadieux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is very clean and quite new. It is across the street from the casino, a shopping complex with restaurants and a supermarket. It's also a short hop from downtown Gatineau. It's a ten minute drive from downtown Ottawa. It served a complimentary hot breakfast with a really really wide selection of foods. The room was really nice. It was larger than a normal hotel room and had a fireplace and a jacuzzi.

The bad part of my stay was the service:( The person at the front desk was so long winded. He kept on going on and on about the place. Also be prepared that the housekeeping may knock on your door really early(e.g. 7:30a.m.). They blamed us for not putting out the do not disturb sign, but we wern't even up yet.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the first floor near the lobby or an entrance. A lot of rooms are a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments regardins th hotel but we deeply regret that you have had a negative perception of our services, taking into account that our goal is to reach the maximal satisfaction level of the customers. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction.

We do hope to have the favor of your patronage sometime in the future.

Christine cadieux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino

Address: 75 Edmonton Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 6W9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gatineau
#2 Spa Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Manoir du Casino, a very good place to beDirectly across from the Casino du Lac-Leamy & minutes from Canada's National Capital attractions. The hotel offers, 174 guestrooms/suites all equipped with a double air jet bathtub and an electrical fireplace. Enjoy the warm atmosphere of our new Italian Restaurant-Bar Risotto, pates et grillades. As a very professional and client oriented team, our goal is to use innovative ways of ensuring our client's complete satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Manoir Du Hotel Gatineau
Ramada Gatineau
Gatineau Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir Du Casino Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.