We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indiginis People of Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Museum of History

Canadian Museum of History
100 Laurier St, Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0M8, Canada
+1 819-776-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Canadian Museum of History like an insider
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Gatineau
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization At Canada's most visited museum, discover the events, experiences, people and objects that have shaped the nation's history. Take in the beauty of this architectural gem and its spectacular setting on the banks of the Ottawa River. Marvel at the world's largest indoor collection of totem poles, explore the traditions and achievements of Canada's First Peoples and this summer, step aboard the Empress of Ireland and relive the experience of the worst maritime disaster in Canada's history - with its stories of tragic loss, courage and human kindness - through artifacts and eyewitness accounts. Be a kid again at the Children's Museum and live the ultimate cinema experience at the IMAX(R) Theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Indiginis People of Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Unfortunately the day my husband and I visited the museum it was pouring outside, we walked over the Rideau Bridge from the City of Ottawa to Gatineau. It was such a pity the weather was so bad because we didn't get the full spectacular view from the bridge of the river Ottawa and the Parliament building. The museum itself was so interesting. The exhibits were excellent, the staff were very friendly just like all the Canadians that we met. You must take a look at the Imax cinema it is so worth it. I had been to one before in Glasgow Scotland but my husband had't he was impressed. A must visit to Ottawa it will take you about half and hour to walk across the bridge longer if you stop and take in the views. You pass the US embassy which is quite an imposing building much more than any of the other embassies in Ottawa. Please visit this museum you wont be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    173
    48
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Is now called Canadian Museum of Civilization”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This museum, with it's new name, is just across the river from Ottawa, and what a museum! The sheer size of the main First Nations exhibit area is amazing. As you go down the escalator from the main entrance, you can see the entire exhibit, which is brilliantly lit by the natural light of floor to ceiling windows that are at least 30 feet high. The view is breathtaking! And, when you go around to the large First Peoples Hall, it is very well lit and easy to follow as well. Unfortunately, that is the last exhibit that is well lit. The rest of the exhibits, while very informative and interesting were shrouded in such darkness as to be almost unseeable. (Thankfully flash photography is allowed, glare notwithstanding) However, aside from that obvious drawback, I enjoyed this museum immensely. I would have to go back again many times, I think, in order to absorb all the information conveyed here, and if you could get headphones and hear a narrative, the experience would have been greatly enhanced.

Journey to the South Pacific, playing at the Imax theatre was a wonderful treat to take in. It provided a needed break from the standing and wandering necessary to see the museum, and was extremely well done. The theme is preservation of the sea life and coral reefs in and around West Papua, and following an island boy on his two month journey of discovery about this theme, made it a great human interest story as well.

All in all, we had a great time. The only thing missing - Maple ice cream! While we enjoyed our gelato, we felt something as iconically Canadian as a maple flavour ice cream should have been available.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not your average museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited this museum in late 2012, and really enjoyed it! The history they show is directly related to the average Canadian, as opposed to museums like the ROM here in Toronto which is interesting but emphasizes ancient egypt, etc which is harder to connect to. The exhibits with the town storefronts and the Japanese fishing boat section were both very interesting. Very relatable and entertaining all around!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a family museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This museum has a wonderful play and learn section for young kids that is alot of fun . The exhibites are wonderful for the adults. If given the chance the to go for an event with the food included it is well worth it The location is spectacular, being right accross from the Parliament hills.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Museum of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

You visit there more for the setting tan for the contents. One of the most interesting buildings I have ever seen. There is not a straight wall in this building. BEAUTIFUL grounds with great view on the parliament buildings across the Ottawa river. Great for walks around the area. 15-20 minute walk across a bridge to the parliament building and to the museum of art (worth the walk).
Interesting totem poles inside the building. IMAX and OMNIMAX theatres if you like that kind of thing.
GREAT kid museum if you have kids from 2 to 10. They will love the interaction with the exhibits (wearing costumes etc.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Museum of History also viewed

 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Canadian Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.