We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family musuem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Museum of History

Canadian Museum of History
100 Laurier St, Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0M8, Canada
+1 819-776-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Canadian Museum of History like an insider
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Gatineau
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization At Canada's most visited museum, discover the events, experiences, people and objects that have shaped the nation's history. Take in the beauty of this architectural gem and its spectacular setting on the banks of the Ottawa River. Marvel at the world's largest indoor collection of totem poles, explore the traditions and achievements of Canada's First Peoples and this summer, step aboard the Empress of Ireland and relive the experience of the worst maritime disaster in Canada's history - with its stories of tragic loss, courage and human kindness - through artifacts and eyewitness accounts. Be a kid again at the Children's Museum and live the ultimate cinema experience at the IMAX(R) Theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
PR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent family musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Visited the museum with 4 children and 3 adults and it had enough information for all. We all loved the Children section and the interactive activities. Definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    172
    48
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go right up to the third floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This museum deserves a day. You will tire out before the displays run out. IF you are a teacher or have children you will love the Children's Museum. My teacher friends spend about a hour watching children interact in the ethinic houses, market,cargo boat... so much more. If you do not have children go directly to the 3rd floor and begin with the history of Canada. So well done! They have an actual church and real school house in there. After this display if you have time do the native exibit on the ground floor. You may have to come back another day if you want to see the temporary exibits! We found they were not as well done and perhaps should have skipped them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best museums ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Fantastic, informative and easy to follow museum taught me a lot about Canadian history in a 3 hour visit. Could easily have stayed longer. Highly recommended as a must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Broad and diverse museum, and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

There's something at this museum for everyone who is interested in what has made Canada the way it is, our history, and our important individuals. There is also something for kids that will keep them entertained, having fun, and learning too.
We started with an IMax movie, which was extremely enjoyable. It wasn't packed, so we were able to get seats we wanted, and settled in comfortably. There were so many movies that have been / are being / are going to be shown, that I could see me there frequently if I lived in the area.
After that, we took our 9 and 5-year-olds to the children's museum, and they had a blast. The staff in this section were fantastic, helping them to make different crafts and items, and there was plenty of playing to be done too. Highly recommended for all parents with children 10 and under.
The area going through Canada's history was really enjoyable for me, and there was certainly enough to see for the kids that they were interested as well.
Canada's First Peoples have an important section that is definitely worth seeing, but not necessarily for younger children who can't appreciate it or may not treat it with the respect it deserves. This area does not have things for them to touch and interact with, aside from the theatre, so it depends on the maturity and behaviour of the children.
There are other areas to see as well, so expect the better part of a day to be filled here. Be sure to see the grounds and spend some time outdoors if the weather's good too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“See a thousand years in a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

For the price this has to be one of the best value museums in Canada considering how much is in there. 4 floors of exhibitions from first Nations to the Children's museum. Totem poles, famous people and a wonderful walk through time on the second floor as you navigate the history of Canada. Really well laid out as you walk through the streets of a hundred and fifty years ago and stop to by a ticket at the railway station. We spent nearly 6 hours in there and could easily have spent 3 times as long if we had stopped and read and watched all the information. Only negative is there is so much in there it is information overload.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.