We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION and VIEW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Gatineau
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION and VIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel is right across the river from Ottawa. The view from the 9th floor was spectacular. The service was excellent, the staff at the front desk spoke English to me and the breakfast was fine. The parking is outdoors but right in front of the hotel so there is easy access. Basically, I liked the place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Bed was really comfortable. Lots of channels in English and French.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    46
    22
    24
See reviews for
78
71
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

VERY clean! Reasonable. Great location. Great views on river side (front). Fantastic, congenial but unobtrusive staff. Unfortunately with health fiasco with youngest grandson did not get to try pool. Staff accommodating and smiling. Location -near Museum of Civilization, Jacques Cartier Park and Cartier Bridge - which leads to Byward Market area, National Gallery and Parliament Hill. Thank you Best Western!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
ThefiveAS,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel, with the Trip Advisor community. I was sorry to hear that your grandson was ill and wasn't able to enjoy our swimming pool. However I was happy to read, that our staff took good care of your family during this difficult time.

On behalf our entire team, thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This location was a last minute pick and check in for my elderly parents and I, as we hadn't expected to sleep in Ottawa while passing by. But I was thoroughly surprised with the cleanliness for this place's price. Front building may not look as extravagant, compared to other hotel brands. But for the cheap price, friendly staff, cleanliness of the room (key for me), free amenities... I'd book again!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Seeking Adventures,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. I was so happy that you felt good about the "value on dollar spent" you received from your stay Offering clients a courteous, clean, comfortable stay are our greatest goals and ones we take to heart.

Once again, on behalf our entire team, that you for taking the time to write about your positive experiences with us and we hope to see you soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A two-night stay Tuesday and Wednesday, February 25-26, 2014. We made the trip from Michigan to meet a longtime friend and her husband, as they made the trip from France for their son's hockey tournament.

By good fortune, we were able to secure a two-night rate promotion, which meant our room was about $125 per night ... a fair price for a metropolitan area. We saw no prejudice for being English-speaking and for being Americans. In fact, the staff from check in to check out was courteous beyond words.

The room showed some wear but we are not hotel snobs, so it was easy to overlook the minor flaws. The fact our bathroom door in room 229 had a hard time shutting was our biggest problem speaks well to the great stay. Strange zoning in this town, as the hotel is surrounded by residential areas, still walking distance to a few restaurants and attractions. HDTV was awesome.

There was a fee of about $7 or $8 for breakfast buffet, but that expense was offset by free parking! What a joy to not get screwed to pay for parking at a hotel, a common practice in most larger cities. The fact that they have free parking on its own would bring me back.

We didn't spend much time in the room, so the bland view from the back of the hotel was not a big deal. We had a chance to stay in a higher-level room facing the river, but we wanted to be on the same floor as our friends.

There are nicer hotels in the area, but there is no nicer staff. Kudos to everyone there for making our Canadian vacation an enjoyable experience. And we REALLY appreciated the recommendation to "La Pataterie Hulloise" for the best burger in the area. It is a very unassuming place we never would have found or considered, but no doubt the best hamburgers in Quebec. Should have ordered two.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Wow!! Thank you for your amazing review. And WOW your friends and their son came all the way to Canada to play hockey? No wonder you ventured up to the cold North for the tournament that’s a pretty amazing opportunity.
I have passed your feedback to the team; they really appreciated your comments, made their day. Our team is mostly bilingual; some are stronger in their second language than others, having English speaking guests gives them practice.
You loved the HDTV in the rooms, so do I; we strongly felt that clients deserved the upgraded service. Next time your travels bring you to Ottawa, make sure you book the river view room, the view is spectacular.
Once again, on behalf our entire team, that you for taking the time to write about your positive experiences with us and we hope to see you soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent the Friday night in Gatineau to see a show at the casino. We were absolutely astonished when we arrived. we were given a complimentary upgrade and our room looked over the river directly across from the parliament buildings. we were on the 8th floor and had a fantastic view of the city. The person at the desk was very helpful with directions to the casino, and places to eat. Her personality really made the experience delightful.

The room was very clean and the mattress very comfortable. We ate the buffet breakfast at the hotel which is extra but worth every cent.

Great hotel and would not hesitate to return.,

Room Tip: take the higher floors to enjoy the view of the river and the parliament buildings in Ottawa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Grant677690,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, with the Trip Advisor community.

I was so happy that you received good value from your stay with us, and that you appreciated your complimentary room upgrade. I was also happy to read that you took advantage of some of our nearby attractions, mentioning the Casino de Lac Leamy. You also mentioned how well you slept, since installing these new pillow top mattresses we have been getting several rave reviews on sleep quality. For your information these are Simmons Felicity pillow top mattresses.

Once again, on behalf our entire team, that you for taking the time to write about your positive experiences with us and we hope to see you soon.
Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We, family of 4 stayed in Best Western Gatineau for 1 night during the Winterlude begin of February. Great location just a few steps from The Snowflake Kingdom at Jacques-Cartier Park and the bus stop, free Winterlude shuttle bus to the Rideau Canal

Walking distance to museums, just across the bridge from downtown Ottawa, Byward market with huge selection of restaurants.

Staff at the front desk and restaurant was really nice and helpful. From our room great view of the river and the Parliament Buildings.

Next time when we are back to Ottawa we will stay here..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Juke565,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, with the Trip Advisor community.

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed our location during this year's Winterlude 2014.
Having the snowflake kingdom located directly in front of the hotel is certainly a blessing for us and for our clients. Thank you also for commenting on the outstanding customer service you encountered while staying with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of our teams.

Once again, on behalf our entire team, that you for taking the time to share your positive experiences with us, we hope to see you soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at BW plus Gatineau Ottawa in January. It was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, all of them were bilingual which was a awesome, my french is weak. We stayed on the ninth floor with a wonderful view of the city of Ottawa. They were preparing for the ice festival which was amazing to watch. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go high for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Heidi T

I wanted to personally thank you for your review of our establishment. It takes time and effort to write a review and I want you to know how much I appreciate your time.

I was delighted to share your comments with my team and have congratulated them on a job well done. Thank you for your compliments regarding cleanliness and customer service, it is truly gratifying to hear that all the time spent on training is making a noticeable difference to our guests..

Once again HeidiT, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a moment to relax and enjoy the view! Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is an award winning, waterfront hotel that provides guests with a picturesque view of Canada’s Capital. Our 9 storey structure has 133 guest rooms including 9 suites, 4 banquet rooms offering a total of 4500 square feet of meeting and banquet space and with our events manager directly on site, we can accommodate all your business or leisure event needs. Our hotel offers a relaxing blend of inviting hospitality with state of the art, modern day conveniences, including complimentary wireless high speed internet throughout, free local phone calls, an equipped health facility, a newly renovated indoor salt water pool with a lifeguard provided at all times and indoor parking. Enjoy a stroll across the historic Alexandra bridge, to the famous Byward Market and Ottawa’s downtown business, shopping and entertainment district. We look forward to welcoming you to the Outaouais’ best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gatineau
Best Western Gatineau
Gatineau Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.