We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, big rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gatineau
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, big rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for a hockey tournament. The hotel was full as we expected. I arrived early, was set up with the parking (underground around the corner from the hotel - very easy, in and out access). I was told that my room would be ready at 3. Despite repeated attempts to get in early, I went to the desk at 3 and was told that it wasn't ready. The hotel clearly was having difficulty with managing the numbers. Disapointed, we went out for the evening and at least it was ready when we returned. (I wasn't offered anything for this 'inconvenience' - the front desk seemed overwhelmed or unable to handle the delays; in hindsight I should have asked for a better rate)

The rooms are large and we had a king (with a pull out single bed), plus a kitchenette. The rooms were well appointed expect for some reason the toilet paper roll was hard to reach (?) and there were no hooks in the bathroom (assume it was an oversight on renovations, that must have been fairly recent). The room had a door between the bathroom and sleeping area, which was great - since another hockey team had congregated in the hall outside our room. Once the door was closed, you couldn't hear the people in the hall which was great.

The kids enjoyed the salt water pool which was a decent size.

The location just over the river was good - it was easy to find and navigate too. It is just a short distance to War Museum and not far away from the 417 or the downtown core/Parliment buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    96
    38
    17
    6
See reviews for
47
41
8
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Easy to find when you are coming up to it, Underground parking is nice. The rooms were big, clean and very modern. We had a room with two doubles and breakfasts for two package. The bathroom had nice granite countertops, as did the wet bar. The added touch of a second door to the bedroom was nice. It wasn't too noisy that we needed it, but it's a nice option. Be aware that certain rooms are pet-friendly, so I did hear a dog off in the distance, but not too much of a problem to us. Hallways smelt a bit funny, but the rooms were fine. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were great, very nice. Gym was also nice, lots of A/c and open 24 hrs, for those who want to go either really early or later in the evening. A couple small things: one of the bulbs for our bedside lamps was missing, asked front desk for a new bulb, never got one in the two days we were there. We just ended up using my reading light and pointing it over at my father so he could read, not too big of a deal. The drain in the bathroom didn't open, which was why it was pulled out of the tub when I got there. Again, not too big of a deal, but should have been fixed. Location was perfect to catch a bus downtown (didn't want to have to find parking downtown!). Major bus station a block from the hotel. The breakfast on our package was only a couple bucks for the two of us each day, so we expected to get a continental breakfast, with cereal, toast. Were we surprised! Eggs, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, toasts, pastries, waffles, fried potatoes and baked beans were on offer! Very pleased. Overall, we would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: If you don't have a pet with you, I'd recommend not picking a pet-friendly area, might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I went for a night away, and were pleased by the prompt bilingual service we received without waiting in the bright beautiful lobby. It was Winterlude and so busy, but it was not loud at all in the halls. But much to our chagrin, the keys to our room did not work! We went back the 10 floors down to the lobby to have an attendant at the front desk seem bothered to help us with new keys. No apologies, no acknowledgment. It took 6 set of keys to find one that worked! We got better service from the nice man who came up with the keys(we called down from the phone in the hall). The room was clean, spacious, and perfect, with a view on the Ottawa river. Did not have dinner there...went to the nearby Thai place. Overall 2 of 3 staff were nice and helpful, the room was great - one we were able to get in.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor - worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear delamo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.


Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and I must say they were perfect. Clean rooms, great service in the dining room, fast elevators. The beds and pillows were second to none. Great location, centrally located. Indoor HEATED parking!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If your like me need to be going to Ottawa you got to try this place out its the best kept secret around one of my co-workers turned me on to it and Its..... Fantastic Completely Renovated Huge rooms, excellent food, super nice Staff a Hop away from down-town BEST VALUE FOR THE DOLLAR 5* HOTEL FOR A 3* PRICE!!!

Don't just read this check it out for your self!! I'm going to be on a project for 45 days and just booked one of the extended stay units they have its better than my own apartment feel like I'm living a dream!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Bonjour Scata N,
We truly appreciate your comments and your business. We strongly encourage all guests to provide us with feedback both positive and critical. Without guests expressing their perceptions with are flying blind.

We are very happy that have chosen to stay with us for the duration of your project. If you need anything just ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for an work association meeting. Rooms were nice and seems recently updated. Best feature of the room was the second door at the vestibule you could close to make the already quiet room even more sound proof from any noise from the hall. Beds were comfortable. Gym was decent with free weights, cardio, universal etc. Didn't use the pool etc but looked nice. The only issue I had was that the jam packs provided for breakfast were hard and more like fruit leather. Otherwise service was ok.
You're not at the heart of the action but close enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Bonjour WRAndy,
Very pleased that you enjoyed your conference that was held here & I agree the second door is a real plus for providing the rejuvenating environment we strive to offer. I thank you for using our restaurant and am looking into the fruit leather. Glad you got to use the fitness centre and appreciate that you liked the look of the pool. I get the impression from your comments that you had a productive and successful business meeting at the hotel.

Again thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location is a bit out of the way unless you have business to do in downtown Gatineau. Yet, it's still only 5-10 minutes away from the Casino, from downtown Ottawa, the Gatineau hills etc. We stayed for one night only on Jan 26. We had stayed there before during the renovations and wanted to see how things turned out. We took an executive room on one of the upper floors. The view was great and without obstruction. Newly renovated, this room was very nice and well appointed but still needs improvement on a few details; there is no towel rack close to the bath/shower area and the toilet paper holder is out of reach unless you are a contortionist. The restaurant looks like a cafeteria and appears to be out of place in a Crown Plaza hotel. The food was average but the staff was very nice although young and inexperienced. Still, overall I would recommend this hotel. I would have no problem going back myself but I think it still lacks a bit of refinement compared to other Crown Plaza hotels. I wish I could give it an overall rating of ''good'' rather than average but that rating is not available on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
OHoric, thank you so much for stating that ‘’overall I would recommend this hotel’’, we are glad that you found the ‘’view was great’’, that the room ’’very nice and well appointed’’ & the ''staff very nice''.

Your comment about the toilet paper is being looked after; we started out with a great look but lack of function. There are 34% of the rooms that had this design fault. We are doing modifications to the vanities & had the change made before the others were manufactured. The absence of the towel rack is also a design decision this may also be an area we need to reconsider.

We are listening to the guest & gaining experience from your observations, again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.