We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“busiest part of the Civilization museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Children's Museum

Canadian Children's Museum
100 Laurier Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4H2, Canada
+1 819-776-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Gatineau
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the Canadian Museum of History (formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization) Hands on adventure! The Canadian Children's Museum is one of the most popular attractions at the Canadian Museum of History, and has been since it opened its doors in 1989. Passports in hand, visitors discover one incredible destination after another. Whether on a visit to homes in the International Village, a trek to a desert pyramid, a jaunt to the Port of Entry to help unload a cargo ship, or a stroll through the bustling Market Bazaar, visitors encounter endless ways to learn about the world and one another. A world of discovery where parents have as much fun as their kids!
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“busiest part of the Civilization museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

wen't there with my inlaws ..we had great time my 2 year old daughter and my sisters in-law (6 and 10 years old) spent hours and hours and never got tired :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great museum but could they have all technical things working?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Children's Museum and spent about 3 hours there with our 4 & 6 yr olds. Plenty to discover and most of all everything is hands on.
We wish though that all the buttons & screens that were to be explaining things or just being part of the displays would have worked....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fujn for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have taken our grandchildren here a few times and they have always had a great time. It has been designed well, to let young children try out all kinds of things on their own, like a little thyeatre where they can dress up like clowns, or a ship where they can manipulate a little crane that lifts dummy freight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a part of the Canadian Museum of Civilization located on the Second Level. Fantastic place for kids! Me and my daughter spent there 3 hours, but a child can spend there the whole week without getting bored. Absolutely, the best kids’ museum ever!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best museum for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This museum is the most interactive I've ever been to. Every child I've seen there has been having a blast. You get a "passport" and children travel to different countries and experience something local - climbing around a pyramid in Egypt, riding a double decker bus in the UK, visiting a market in India - and get their passport stamped. The museum if located INSIDE the Museum of Civilization complex in Hull, Quebec.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Children's Museum also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Canadian Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.