We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granby Zoo (Zoo de Granby)

Granby Zoo (Zoo de Granby)
525 St-Hubert St, Granby, Quebec J2G 5P3, Canada
+1 450-372-9113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Granby
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located about an hour's drive from Montreal, this zoo contains over 1,000 animals, 75 of which are endangered species.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited the Civic holiday weekend. The initial weather forecast said 90% chance of thunder showers, but since we’d come from Ottawa, we still went. It was a great decision as we only got rain for about 10 minutes the entire day. Also what made it ever better, is that it wasn’t very busy, which I’ll attribute that to the weather. We only got the one day pass, so we could do the zoo and the small amusement park.

We were a group of seven, including my six year old son. Although, we all felt like kids, since we had so much fun. The exhibits are all very nice, well maintained and the animals look good. From the Pacific pavilion to the birds, lions, tigers, etc.. we really enjoyed ourselves.
One of the best times was the bird exhibit where you can buy a small cup of nectar for $1, and have birds coming right up to you drinking from this cup. At one point, I had two on my arm and two on my shoulders, but managed to stay clean. My wife however was pooped on by one of the birds, and we all had a good laugh.

You could also see the Red Pandas, and there’s a TV screen where you can see the new born baby Red Pandas.

We did the amusement park which is ok, nothing fancy. What isn’t great is that two rides you have to pay for. I feel that with the price of admission to the zoo, these should not cost extra, but we still bought tickets and enjoyed ourselves. We did not do the waterpark however so I can’t comment on that.

We did the train ride that goes around the zoo, and did not find this to be worth it. It’s nice to have a bird’s eye view, but there isn’t much more to see that you haven’t seen by walking. The best part would be stopped by the Tigers enclosure, but when we were there, the tigers were behind trees. If the train had stopped a bit further on the track, we all could have seen them, however he decided to stop at presumably the same spot he always does so 90% of the train couldn’t see anything other than leaves.

Food restaurants: Compared to other parks we’ve been to, we found this zoo’s prices to actually be reasonable. It’s still not cheap, but they don’t rip you off as much as others where it will cost you close to $20 for one person’s simple lunch.

Overall, it was a good day and we all enjoyed ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    85
    17
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Animals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The zoo has a wonderful layout which makes it really easy to walk through and not miss any of the animals. We managed to walk through the whole place in about 4 hours. Our kids really enjoyed it, and we did too....but admittedly, it is a bit depressing to see the lonely elephant walking around, or the one tiger going around in circles. Nonetheless, there is much to see and do and I would recommend visiting this zoo when in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Zoo and much more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Entrance fees a bit expensive, but amazing zoo...and water park and smaller amusement park...you could stay here for days and days!
The staff is very friendly, the maps are user-friendly and the entire place is very kid and family friendly. I loved it...and so did the kids. Security and safety also in top.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Love, Love, LOVE the Granby Zoo. Its a wonderful place to spend a day with the family. The zoo is much smaller that the Toronto Zoo but has all the animals you would want to see plus more. It's well thought out and the attractions don't take you forever to walk between, like the Toronto Zoo. WE love that there is a water park to cool off in the afternoon and also a few amusement rides for the kids that get bored. This zoo is the perfect package and I go back whenever we have the chance. One thing I hate is driving into the zoo from the Hwy. It's an 8 km drive from the hwy and if you go at the wrong time, it can take you an hour or more to get to the zoo. I'm not sure if there is another way in but we have to try to avoid this because it creates frustration before even arriving. Infrastructure needs to be improved. The other thing to note is that it is better to go on a weekday b/c the paths are sometimes narrow and people get stuck walking between exhibits, particularly b/c there are a lot of strollers and wagons.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great zoo, get here early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This zoo is more than just a zoo: it's a zoo, amusement park and water park all in one! The zoo is excellent with animals (including lions, elephants, giraffes, kangaroos, wallabys, fish, pands etc) broken up by continent. The staff is very friendly, the maps are user-friendly and the entire place is very kid and family friendly. The water park is a nice way to cool down on a hot day and the amusement park is fun, too. The parking lot fills quickly so get there early but parking on the streets nearby is very easy - don't bother taking the shuttle from off-site parking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granby Zoo (Zoo de Granby) also viewed

 

Been to Granby Zoo (Zoo de Granby)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granby Zoo (Zoo de Granby), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.