We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Greek !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ulysses Restaurant

Ulysses Restaurant
122 Barlow Ave, Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
250.992.6606
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Quesnel
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not so Greek !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Food was good but quite expensive,and no kleftico so hubby chose pasta ! Menu more Italian than Greek. About to shut when we entered at 8pm as no one in there but let us stay, therefore no ambience at all.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent food, but high prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have eaten here a few times. Food is fine, quite tasty and quite generous portions, but prices are on the high side. Potatoes AND rice with the meal seems rather redundant, though - heavy on the starches. Would rather have more salad and a chioce of rice OR potato.

Typical Greek restaurant choices - no surprises here.

The service is adequate but not great - wait staff seems a bit disinterested, though not actively rude. The last time there I ran out of water partway through the meal and hoped someone would come & check on us so I could request more, but everyone was in the kitchen area chatting - our food was delivered and that was the last we saw of anyone. Finished our meal & got up and stood at the entry waiting to be noticed - we probably could have walked out without paying!

It's never very busy - wonder if the service is the reason? We're happy to pay for cheerful and attentive service, and we never leave less than a standard tip - 15% - but at Ulysses it feels like way too much for the effort expended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Going Greek was a little too cheesy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Conveniently located. I've had better Greek salads for less $. Oddly, the over-priced $9 side salad was probably due to the crazy amount of cheese on top. The decor was...lacking in personality.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dropped by for an evening meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Place was fine. Typical restaurant but I thought the food was expensive for the quality of the food. I would probably eat elsewhere next time I went through Quesnel.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over priced :0/”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Very average. $50 for two, no drinks. Service was good. We love Greek food but weren't wow-ed by this restaurant.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulysses Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ulysses Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulysses Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.