We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Bavaria

Save Saved
You added Motel Bavaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel Bavaria
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4872 McKay Street, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Radium Hot Springs
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while we were traveling to Alberta in the winter. The staff was very friendly and the motel was pretty empty when we were there. Rooms were clean and well stocked. Only issue was at 5 am a few guests started their loud diesel trucks and ran them for an hr or so. They happened to be parked outside our room. That's not really the fault of the hotel. I would just recommend keeping an eye out for those trucks during wintertime and make sure your room isn't right by them.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was an older partially renovated motel, it was clean tiny kitchenette, nice big renovated bathroom, it had T.V. and internet and microwave. The staff was very friendly and provided towels for us to visit the hot springs. The type of room we had was beds in one room so I would find out if they have rooms with a private bedroom and pullout bed if staying for more than one night with our teenage son. If we had my 80 year old Dad with us as originally intended I'd make sure I got a ground floor room. The room was quiet no road noise or noise from adjoining rooms, but we were an end unit. It was fine for our needs but not luxurious about a 10 min drive to Radium Hot Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if travelling with elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel manager, Shiraz, is not a person to trust with. We made reservation and then called to cancel the reservation. He confirmed the cancellation over the phone. Later on we saw the charge for one night on our credit card bill. We called him but he blatantly denied having received any phone call for cancellation and started making all kinds of excuses.

he then asked for cancellation number but obviously he never gave us any same as he never provided us any reservation number, which usually hotels dont give as it is always based on mutual understanding. Anyways, it was a lesson learned but I will strogly advise everybody to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Radium Hot Springs hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

They are fraud..their business is running on a spam policy, they charge falsely on the credit card number u give them at the time of the booking, even after cancellation. they dont provide the cancellation number and later ask for it when u ask why did they charge u. they should be reported to the hotel industry complaint department.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011 via mobile

Very good prices, friendly manager, great location & great help / service at front desk. Will definitely stay again next time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at Motel Bavaria for two nights while traveling through BC and it was honestly a nice little surprise...We didn't want to spend a lot of money for 'just passing through' thinking it was just going to be some hole of a motel...but it turned out to be super nice. The owner/manager was honestly the NICEST greeter/host. He made us feel super welcome, it was like visiting an old friend! He even came out after he booked us in and helped us park our boat. Just a nice way to welcome someone and that set the mood off well. The room was decent, nothing special or modern.. just a regular room nothing...but what was important to me that it was clean, it was spacious and it also had a mini fridge and a microwave.. which was unexpected. Radium is mostly all motels anyways so we felt quite at home and it didnt make it seem like we were cheaping out. It is also perfect location, 2 minute walking distance to the main street. The hotel also has a huge BBQ area, so if a lot of people are coming its a nice place to relax at night and have a couple of drinks outside... It also has a little area where you can play horseshoes and sit on a couple of lawn chairs. It was our home away from home for a couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This motel is in a very peaceful and beautiful location. They have a lovely gazebo and seating as well as outdoor barbecue facilities. It is a perfect place to be one with nature. Rooms are comfortable for the price. They were clean and cozy. The owner is very friendly and made sure all our needs were met. We stayed at another motel for the first 2 days of our trip and that place was a mess, big commotion everywhere. It was a big motel but not well-maintained. After moving to this motel, the rest of our stay was very peaceful and comfortable. It is smaller but well-maintained and more peaceful.We will definitely stay at this place again on our next trip to Radium. We would highly recommend this place. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Bavaria

Address: 4872 McKay Street, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Bavaria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Bavaria Hotel Radium Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.