We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals and fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5067 Madsen Rd., Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meals and fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This fine hotel has a wonderful view and the hosts serve up some great Hungarian inspired cuisine. While the hotel looks like it was built or renovated in the 70's, the rooms were clean and everything was well maintained. We had our dinner both evenings on the dining room deck where we watched the sun set behind the mountains as we ate some very tasty meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    30
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
22
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The view of Radium and valley is amazing! Food at Citadella Restaurant was great, although some fruit with the breakfast would be nice. Clean and quiet. Just needs some updated decor, especially artwork on walls. Unfortunately the interior view didn't match the view from the patio doors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had an amazing stay here. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had nothing to complain about. The food was delicius, and the view is awesome. As the title shows, it's a great place to relax. I would recommend to anyone..
Thank you Stephan and Edit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary, Turkmenistan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this place in mid summer with three families and all of us had amazing experience!
About location: Million $ view from the room, easy acces to HW and hot springs.
Room conditions: cosy and very clean.
Service: it's a family managed place, Steven and Edit were very helpful and accommodiating. Food is amazing, we recommend to try Gullyash, Gollushki(?).

We are planning to visit the place again for a weekend ascape!

Enjoy your stay.
MI

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Székelyudvarhely, Harghita, Romania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rocky Mountain Spring Lodge offers a great accomodation. The rooms are large, spacious and very clean with comfortable beds. All rooms have an incredibly beautiful view of the mountains from their balconies.
The restaurant has a very friendly atmosphere too and offers various and delicious dishes with attentive service.
The owners, Steven and his wife, Edit are very friendly and helpful hosts. They really care about their guests!
This Lodge has everything you need to spend a peaceful and relaxing time or alone or with your family, so I would certainly recommend for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I expected better for the price. The room was cold and I couldn't find a thermostat. Also there was no phone in the room. The view was nice though.
The restaurant was way overpriced for the quality. I am quite accustomed to Hungarian cuisine which is why I went there for the "fine dining". A great disappointment The wine list is limited and overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Z, Owner at Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Too bad only a few of those customers write in here who liked my place.
There is no need for a phone in the rooms, everybody travels wit cell phones now-days, we have free wifi for your phone or laptop. As I mentioned it before, we are only open for six months for the summer season so the heating is used only for a few days at the shoulder seasons, there are baseboard heaters in the rooms and I tell everybody how to operate them, also if you forget you may ask me any time.
I believe the quality of the food is the best in town or I would say in the valley, and the price is the same as the other restaurants in town. The liquor prices are lower then everywhere else in town. The view and atmosphere is the best in town.
So before you write anything here make sure you write the truth and have the qualification to criticize others.
Always the people who get the best deals complain the most, as you got a really good deal with breakfast and dinner included. It's not my fault you came by yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We don't want to discourage anyone from patronizing this motel, you may find you really like it, but be aware it is definitely NOT a four star accommodation like seemingly all the reviews here optimistically state. It is only fair to future patrons to be completely honest about the condition and experience of this establishment. We found that the room was quite run-down and probably hadn't been updated for many decades. Other than being old, it was fairly clean, but there were some spider webs hanging from one wall and window. The overworked Hungarian couple that manages this hotel (I assume they are the owners) do everything, including serving and helping cook the breakfast and dinner, all the room housekeeping for 12 units, guest services, etc etc, every day so I'm sure they do the best they can under those circumstances. The west view of the valley from the room balconies is indeed very impressive, so some updating and renovations to the rooms (ie. tile floors for the small bathrooms, refinishing the pine wall panels, new rug, paint on walls, doors, and trim, balcony flooring replacement, for example) could really leverage the great view into an overall superior establishment that would deserve a four star rating. The beds are also low and very creaky, and need replacement. Walls are thin and the floors noisy so you can hear a lot of talking and walking from other rooms. Furniture in the sitting area is an interesting assortment of cots and foldup couches that aren't attractive. The old tube TV should be replaced with a newer flat screen. We appreciated having the microwave and fridge in the "suite". The electric baseboard heater for the room has no thermostat so you decide how high to set it and hope it is about right in the middle of the night. At no time did we feel comfortable in the room or want to stay in it.

Our package included Hungarian style breakfast and dinner. The dinner especially is a large portion and is quite tasty, but although you are given a menu, you are also told exactly what dish they are going to serve you that night, so not sure why the menu. Be aware that the Hungarian style means usually fried or deep fried so not especially health conscious. When my wife inquired about a healthier alternative dish to the fried weiner schnitzel, she was asked abruptly "why, are you allergic to it?". Eventually some alternatives were offered, which she enjoyed.

Comparatively, Radium has mostly old accommodations so this one may be average for the area. I would describe the lodge as basically a "cabin" environment, so if a person is prepared to enjoy that motif, all will be well. We, however, were convinced by the reviews that the accommodation would be superior, so were surprised by the actual condition of the motel.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor if you can handle stairs, as there is no noise from walking above and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Z, Owner at Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I want to thank everybody who take time and effort to write in here to help others to decide on their next vacation. We are NOT a four star hotel, but who books a room here knows that. It is an old building and I can not change that unless somebody send me a $500.000 cheque for renovation. We are in the middle of the forest, with all sorts of wildlife around us, bighorn sheep, deer, bear, chipmunk, and we have smaller ones like spiders. We work hard to keep it clean and we do not have webs inside the rooms, only in the balconies, spiders make their webs in a couple of hours.
Our visitors come here to have a good time and relax, not to inspect the building and I get good reviews on the experience they had here, not on the age of the building or the brand of the TV.
There are new hotels in the area, new furniture, flat screen TV, ask about the nightly rate.
You got a deal here for less than the price of a dinner and this is how you thank me for it. I never ever asked if you are allergic to wiener schnitzel, and give everybody an alternate choice if they don't eat pork or meat. European food maybe fatty but the majority of Europeans are thin, I can not say this about North Americans. We have salads, fish, pasta and vegetarian dishes on the menu, bigger selection than most of the restaurants in Canada.
We are open only in the summer season from April to October, so we do not really need heating, except some cold nights. Baseboard heaters are common in BC, all the other motels have them, ours are individually adjustable instead of a thermostat.
Our guests come here for the unbeatable view, the best food, friendly costumer service and the biggest rooms in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 5067 Madsen Rd., Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Citadella Restaurant is situated well above Radium Hot Springs with the BEST view in town. We have panoramic view from every and EACH private balcony, even from the lower floor. Our Hungarian Restaurant is under the motel, with a huge patio, also with a magnificent view and the most delicious meals in an idyllic atmosphere. You can see the Rocky Mountains from everywhere in town, from all the motels, but it is not comparable to our view, just like you see it from an airplane or a bird's eye. Room price includes hot breakfast served in our restaurant with a variety of items to find your favorite one. It is not a buffet, rather a freshly served breakfast made by our Hungarian Chef, just like our dinners. We have an extensive menu for the evening meals, a variety of Hungarian, western and vegetarian dishes. You can watch the sunset while dining or from your private balcony, and the sunrise from your bed if you wish. We have pet friendly and wheelchair accessible suites on the main floor. All rooms have sitting area, new queen beds, new carpets, fridge, microwave and free WIFI. We can provide coffee makers or cattle's in your room.We are located a 1000feet over town by the National Park with all sorts of wildlife frequently walking by. A trail trough the forest starts from our parking lot to the Mineral Hot Springs.We, the owners clean the rooms, so they are spotlessly clean and we serve you in the restaurant as well, very friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Springs Hotel
Rocky Mountain Springs Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.