We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5067 Madsen Rd., Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing views!~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This family owned and managed Lodge has everything you need to spend a peaceful, relaxing and pampered time in Radium, BC.
The service was great, the food exquisite... but most of all, the views from the room and the restaurant are breathtaking!
Steven and his wife are excellent hosts! I certainly would want to go back and spend more time there, as one night was not enough to enjoy it all...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a coupon from DealFind for 1 night stay Including breakfast, dinner and 2 hot springs passes at Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge. The room was OK. The best thing is we saw wild goat and deer when we drove up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Rocky Mountain Spring Lodge. After several visits to Radium this location was unbeknownst to us. Luckily, via an advertised special we were tempted to visit this vacation spot. Our initial contact upon arrival was an introduction by the owner Steven whom we learned was of Hungarian descent. The room was modest but very clean and spacious for our family of four. All rooms have a beautiful view of the mountains from their individual balconies. The room had air conditioning which was welcome at the end of a hot day.
Our stay included breakfast, dinner and passes to the Radium Hot Springs. Our first supper at the Citadella restaurant (on-site) was excellent and we discovered that the chef was of European decent (Hungarian). All of our meals were excellent and enough can not be said about the food. Our favourite meals were the Wiener Schnitzel and the Hungarian dumplings for desert. However all of the menu items we sampled were excellent and we had no reason to venture elsewhere for our cuisine. The restaurant appeared to be popular to both patrons & non patrons of the lodge.
The drive up to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge was scenic and we thoroughly enjoyed the wildlife at the side of the road. Where else can you go for a walk and find big horn sheep, deer and mountain goats happily grazing?
The only recommendation would be fluffier pillows.
This is truly a hidden gem and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We're just back from spending 2 nights here and thought it was great. We did the Getaway package which is a fantastic deal (includes a fabulous 3 course meal at the Cittadella restaurant on-site and free passes to the Hot Springs)

Our room (upstairs) was huge - more of a suite - and the balcony had a wonderful view of the mountains and was a lovely place to sit and 'decompress' after sighseeing and hiking. Terrific value, we thought - and the restaurant's terrace was a delighful spot to dine.

The welcome could maybe have been a little warmer - but perhaps this is shyness as the service became more attentive and cheery as we stayed longer.

Overall we were delighted we stayed there - the bed was really comfortable and the room quiet and private. Big chests of drawers to store your stuff, loads of space - and the fridge was useful.

In all, a great spot and we'd return happily. And it's quite amazingly cheap for such a very positive experience.

Room Tip: We asked for an upstairs room and it was private and tucked away - and meant there were no other gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hi TripAdvisor Readers,

I booked 1 night for two in Rocky Mountain Spring Lodge.Our stay included 3 course of dinner, 2 tickets to the Hot Springs and Breakfast.
I had a deal going on so I thought somewhere will be a catch.
Well let me tell you it was not any drawback.
The Lodge has a spectacular view what others are mentioned already, but we just have to say it again because in Radium you will not find to many accommodation with such benefit. How nice to wake up to see the Mountains see the town and also to check out the deer as grazing below your balcony. The room was modest but EXTREMELY CLEAN and big, the bed was comfortable.
Dinner was HUGE and really DELICIOUS. Hungarian cuisine is for people who brave enough to try something new and not same old same old(like pizza).
They had nice variety of nibbles on the menu and as we heard the cook is from Budapest so you ate real deal Hungarian food!!!!
The service was top notch I can not believe as how busy they were the wife-husband team could just provide what we wished for.Good tips for hike to the Spring and what we can see in Invermere where we can find good beaches etc. I could just go on go on...
So I will make it short and of it: if you looking for good place to stay and fill your belly in Radium do not hesitate to give a try to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Citadel Restaurant. Bonus exceptionally reasonable.
We will be back we just booked one more trip to see Radium and car-show in September!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to book number 10 or 11.If you have Fido with you unfortunately these rooms are not available fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for a mother/daughter getaway. The value is unbelievable. It has everything you need. Large spacious rooms, a view to die for, first class food and service that you just don't find anymore. When we arrived we were early and our room wasn't ready yet so I asked where a good place to go for lunch was ( the restaurant doesn't open until 5) and he offered to have his chef cook us lunch since he was there anyways. So we had lunch and by the time we were finished our room was ready. The breakfast that comes with your room is awesome. They give you about 6 or 7 different items to choose from and very quick service so you can start your day. It was so nice to have great customer service as that is hard to find these days. They truly care about their guests and just want you to be happy. Anything you need they will accommodate if they can. We will definatley be back again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Booked a 2 nite package which included hot breakfast, 3 course dinner and passes to the hot springs for a really low rate online so we were not expecting much. Very charming small lodge with 12 rooms all with balconys with views of the Purcell mountains the view is just gorgeous. The rooms are dated but very clean bedroom is separated from the living room with a pony wall. Futon in living room tv, microwave, and fridge. The beds are ok but bring your own pillow as they are pretty slim. Restaurant attached to the lodge was has an excellent Hungarian menu with lots of choices with large portions all delicious try the apple strudel for dessert yum yum. Very nice Hungarian owners that aim to please.

Room Tip: ask for second floor as one can hear noise from upper floor if on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 5067 Madsen Rd., Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Citadella Restaurant is situated well above Radium Hot Springs with the BEST view in town. We have panoramic view from every and EACH private balcony, even from the lower floor. Our Hungarian Restaurant is under the motel, with a huge patio, also with a magnificent view and the most delicious meals in an idyllic atmosphere. You can see the Rocky Mountains from everywhere in town, from all the motels, but it is not comparable to our view, just like you see it from an airplane or a bird's eye. Room price includes hot breakfast served in our restaurant with a variety of items to find your favorite one. It is not a buffet, rather a freshly served breakfast made by our Hungarian Chef, just like our dinners. We have an extensive menu for the evening meals, a variety of Hungarian, western and vegetarian dishes. You can watch the sunset while dining or from your private balcony, and the sunrise from your bed if you wish. We have pet friendly and wheelchair accessible suites on the main floor. All rooms have sitting area, new queen beds, new carpets, fridge, microwave and free WIFI. We can provide coffee makers or cattle's in your room.We are located a 1000feet over town by the National Park with all sorts of wildlife frequently walking by. A trail trough the forest starts from our parking lot to the Mineral Hot Springs.We, the owners clean the rooms, so they are spotlessly clean and we serve you in the restaurant as well, very friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Springs Hotel
Rocky Mountain Springs Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.