We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Radium Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save Saved
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
5028 Hwy. 93 | Box 67, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I went to the Radium Hot Spring on June 24. We stayed at Gables Motel for the night. This place is just like what it's said on its website http://www.gablesmotel.ca/ - clean, friendly, and convenient. We joined our stay and will definitely be back again next time when we are in the region.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

WOW! Great place and great deal.

My husband and I enjoy staying at the Gales Motel when we travel in the area. The rooms we have had are very clean, the wonderful woman at the front desk is very welcoming and I love the flowers she is growing.

We appreciate having an affordable, tidy and pleasant motel to stay in while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of family members for our Easter weekend trip, 2010. The lady who runs the place was wonderful, committed to cleanliness and making sure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were excellent value, the rates were so affordable that my relatives decided to 'splurge' on the Honeymoon suite! We all had a good laugh joking that the suite looked like Vegas in the 50's, in a good way, funky but very comfortable. Nice jacuzzi tub.
The rest of us had the regular double room. Old and in need of basic renos (the sink was cracked) but exceptionally clean.
Contrary to the previous review there was no sign of smoke in our non smoking rooms. The rooms were tooooo clean to show any signs of past smokers.
Excellent location, close enough to the hot springs for a brisk power walk! And mountain sheep wandering right past the motel, how cool is that! The proprietor gave us hot springs passes including an extra since I had my son in one of our rooms. Great service, value, location, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Radium was the halfway point in our travels and I was happy with the off season price. It was $79. And the room had a jet tub in the bathroom which I was very happy about. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and gave us two free passes to the hot springs. The room was stated to be non smoking, but the absence of an ashtray does not erase the accumulated stench of a previous "smoking room" I had some essencial oils with me so I sprinkled them around the room on the carpet to make it smell better. When I opened one of the drawers of the "dresser" there was a pillow covered in cat hair. Other than that we had a very nice stay. We got pizza at Rockies pizza which was excellent! And we really enjoyed that Jaccuzzi tub!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I had the opportunity to stay at this motel many times over the course of 2008 & 2009 while over seeing the construction our families dream cottage. Each room we stayed in was clean and extremely comfortable! The owner seemed to go out of her way to accommodate us for late arrivals and last minute bookings. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend family and friends to, if we have no more room in our cottage. :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

My husband and I would like to share our great weekend that we spent in Radium Hot Springs. We were looking for a place to stay for the night and here we saw a beautiful motel filled with the most amazing flowers so that cought our eye and we decided to stop in. We met the new manager right away we were greeted and welcomed. As we entered our room we were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort. Therefore will defenitly be returning and recomending to all of our friends. Hello to the lady manager and her wonderfull cat Oreo.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean and comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

I was all to excited to take my family to Radium for Sept long weekend. The man on the phone at the hotel told me they are right across from the springs. So upon getting there, we found in fact it was NOT! First thing wrong, next up when we got there, they wanted us to pay cash up front, i was shocked because most places use visa or mc to secure the room and then you pay when you leave. You'll find out why in a moment. Opon entering our room we were greeted with a horrible odor so foul it can not be explained and not one or two or three spiders but four of them, in our bathtub. And they we're HUGE! I have a sqeamish 6 year old, it did not sit well with her. Anyways my fiance killed the spiders, (sorry spider lovers) and we got ready to go to the springs. We returned to the hotel about 8 that nite, only to find more spiders. I went to front desk to maybe change rooms or anything, no one to be found...the door was locked! Enraged i said ok one nite staying here and tommorow we'll go somewhere else. Next morning wanting to check out and get our money back, once again no one around at all. I even tried calling. This place needs to get it together. All in all a miserable stay. I phoned when we got home and to complain and in a very strong accent the women said " you should have told us before you left" ah lady we would have if we could find you!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 5028 Hwy. 93 | Box 67, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.