We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we have had on Vancouver Island and I make a half dozen trips each year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point no Point

Point no Point
10829 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V0S 1N0, Canada
250.646.2020
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Sooke
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
California
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Best meal we have had on Vancouver Island and I make a half dozen trips each year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a find. The view is stunning. The service is warm and inviting. The food is California quality with an inventive regional streak that is absolutely worth the trip. The combinations are worth the trip with touches like chipotle ice cream, stewed quince , lemon coriander cream, herbed fennel spaetzle, and house made everything. The servings are very generous, but the menu is so inviting that you will want a multicourse meal. Luckily we had been hiking and had an appetitive. This is truly worth the drive. There were orca pods in the bay and binoculars on the table yet the few with its multilayered kaleidoscope of ingredients and flavors was the best view of all. Kudos - we will definitely be back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    47
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoples' Republic of Boulder
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant on Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have been to the Point no Point Restaurant about twice a year for the past 15 years. It never fails to delight and is only 5 k from our vacation home (French Beach House). The menu is always creative, the presentation supurb, and the taste exceptional. (They had been off just a bit last year but are back to perfect again this year.) With only about 7 tables on the enclosed porch and a couple more inside, it is intimate; each table has binoculars to scan the expansive view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Peninsula across the Strait. We always take guests to PnP and it is our last stop before driving back to Colorado. Last night I had the roasted breast of chicken with chanterelles, curried apricot & cauliflower phyllo, with sweet pea emulsion. My wife had marinated wild salmon with fennel, spaetzle, pickled beets, cashews, and shaved Beemster cheese. Both were hearty portions (see pictures), tasty, and totally safisfying. We finished with a nice creme brule and accompanied the meal with a Joie Noble Blend (German flavors). As always, a peaceful, intimate, romantic, and satisfying experience.

It should be noted that PnP also is a resort with 25 cabins nestled in the rain forest overlooking the ocean that includes a tranquil 10-minute walk with peek-a-boo views through the trees and salel out to the "no point."

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackendale, Bc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the way from Port Renfrew to Sooke. The food was good, the view was excellent and the staff were very friendly and nice. Would come again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This looks like a little roadside cafe, but has several cabins and also a separate 4 bedroom lodge on private two acres that you can book for your own retreat. The restaurant overlooks a magnificent view and the food is great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Dining Experience on WEst Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

WE arrived to this surreal setting, the restaurant hanging on a cliff overlooking the rugged WEst Coast Pacific Ocean. The clouds blowing up the cliff and hanging over the trees as our window table was overlooking. Beautiful white linen tablecloths, a white candle on each table. The setup was perfect. Let's hope the food compares. WEll. It was simply outstanding on all accounts. From the cocktails, to the wines, the appetizers ( duck confit, unique crust, outstanding flavours, unique raspberry hints) the scallops with the chipotle ice cream: how original, unique and incredible flavours.... Then onto the entrees. WOW!!! The salmon , as another reviewer described and we chuckled when we read it ( a religious experience).... HE WAS RIGHT!!! How can this work of art be so incredibly unique, and delicious. IT was "constructed" with so many layers and flavours including an orange sauce drizzled around the plate that was beautiful with every bite. The service was perfect. I cannot recommend this place enough. STands out as one of the top 5 dining experiences I have had in the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point no Point also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Point no Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point no Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.