We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ew” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room - CLOSED

Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room
#7 - 6717 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V0S 1N0, Canada
1.250.642.1825
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ew”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were so eager for baked goods after eating some of the Little Vienna Bakery bread at Stone Pipe Grill. It was closed, unfortunately, so we stopped in at Otter Point which was right next door to Stone Pipe. Immediately upon entering we knew we had made a mistake, but the owner came right up and started trying to really sell us hard on the random few stale looking goods he had in the case. Fortunately for us, he announced he only took cash (visa machine was sitting right there), so we were able to get out quickly. Not really sure what was going on in there, but it didn't look appetizing. Had much better luck with baked goods at the local grocery.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Disappointed by food quality. Chocolate chip cookies had 2 or 3 chips per cookie. Service was very disappointing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not worth the disappointment. Go to the market.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a light lunch after whale watching and stopped in the first bakery we saw. Nothing had prices on it, very poor looking selection, and just an overall uneasiness over the quality of a bakery it was. We were both hungry so we forged ahead and ordered a piece of carrot cake and a brownie. It came to $8.50!!! We were on vacation and in order to avoid a hassle or complication I bit my lip and took it being a bit over priced. We chose to sit in the car and eat and the food ended up being terrible. My wife's "brownie" was just a terrible mixture of icing, some nuts and some actually brownie squished together and melted. My carrot cake was ok but was definitely not made in the past couple days. We should have avoided the bakery and gone to the Market (where we inevitably ended up) to purchase better snacks and treats. There is also another bakery in the next plaza down that could only be better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stopped in to pick up family treats. Little selection and the cookies were stale.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Stale Bakery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Facing a road closure on a Sunday morning, we stopped in for a few bakery treats and buns for our lunch; the other bakery in Sooke is closed on Sunday's.
The treats: cinnamon bun, date square, Nanaimo bar, and a chocolate cheesecake like bar that the owner did not know the contents of (he thought the white bits inside were nuts but was not sure!) were ok but not particularly fresh and were quite expensive.
The cheese buns for our lunch were "fresh baked" but tasted 3 days old.
We got samosas too and they were quite good.
Stick with their specialties (samosas) and skip the baked goods, just not worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.