We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in gorgeous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club

Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club
1831 Maple Ave, South, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0N9, Canada
+1 250-642-3596
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Sooke
Price range: $47 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Frisco, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food in gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had an excellent dinner at Markus' and highly recommend this restaurant. The views of East Sooke and the Olympics are beautiful. Excellent and friendly service. The Halibut was the best I had in B.C. and the Seafood stew was delicious. From the salads to the desserts, everything was beautifully presented and yummy. Markus' gardens and dedication to fresh local foods were also great to see. Make reservations as the restaurant is small and open Tuesday-Saturday evenings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    9
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great food. Very fresh produce. Excellent service. I will eat there again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant for Miles Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Markus' Restaurant is in a small bungalow not far from the water in Sooke. There are some nice views but the setting is not what makes this restaurant special. The service is excellent and the food, much of it locally sourced, is outstanding. The menu is primarily sea food prepared expertly and Markus has a very good wine list to back it up. Probably not the best place for children, but the perfect spot for couples or friends to get together for a really nice, relaxed dinner together. If I find myself back in Sooke, I will definitely go back to Markus'.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

After reading all the reviews I was expecting a superior dining experience. While I would rate it as very good, I am unable to rate it as excellent.

We had called in advance and made a reservation. Upon arrival we were promptly seated in a room with only four tables and a wonderful view of the water. After being left with the menus, I was uncomfortable with the number of times that the overly eager but pleasant server kept returning to the table to see if we were ready to order yet. I would have preferred a little more time and space in order to made a determination on what I was going to have.

To start the meal off, I ordered the grilled romaine salad and my dinner companion ordered the scallops. The romaine was grilled perfectly and the scallops were tasty.

For the main course we ordered the Scallops and Tuscan Soup respectively. The scallops were cooked just right but were served barely warm which was in sharp contrast to the accompanying roasted potatoes and seasonal vegetables which were served very warm. The Tuscan Soup was very flavorful with prawns, scallops, halibut, mussels and clams.

For dessert we shared the Trio of Desserts (Sampler size of Tiramisu, Panna cotta, and Mousse) and each were incredible and beautifully presented.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hidden away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

food was great and ambiance was very nice but not too upscale

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.