We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sooke Potholes

Sooke Potholes
Sooke River Road, Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Activities in Sooke
Type: Geologic Formations, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These rock formations have become a popular local swimming area.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

so beautiful but always busy during tourist season! btw the cops are always sitting at the gate waiting to watch for drunk drivers and check drivers licences.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Freezing water. Definitively would do it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We did I 3 hr hike there and after we swam on the potholes. It was soooooo cold, but our skins were sooo soft after. That water must be so pure. I felt completely united with nature there. It was very hot and sunny day but the water there is freezing, still, 100% recommended. You will feel sooooooooo satisfied afterwards.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Magnificent nature spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful natural, emerald pools all over the park. You can do an intense amount of hiking down to the pools and climbing back up. Not recommended for the weak and frail. Some pools were easier to get to than others. Parking can be a problem here on hot summer days.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Natural attraction very close to Sooke; mini-beach, fun trails to explore, beautiful views, clear water. Galloping Goose Trail crosses through this area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is our first visit to Sooke Potholes but would definitely return. It is an absolutely beautiful area. The water wasn't too warm, but we braved it anyway. We found it so peaceful and serene, but if it was busy, it may not be. The host in the parking lot was very helpful and friendly and told us the whole history of the area. If you are in Sooke, the potholes are a "must see".

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooke Potholes also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sooke Potholes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sooke Potholes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.