We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 on your "bucket list" of places and rooms to stay in"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartmann House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartmann House
Save
You added Hartmann House to your Saves list
5262 Sooke Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z0E8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Sooke B&B and Inns
Sooke, Canada
1 review
“#1 on your "bucket list" of places and rooms to stay in"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We have been doing the B&B thing for 25 years and only once have we had an experience to even rival Ray and Ann's Hartmann House. Keeping a bucket list of places to stay? Move this one to the top but do it twice. No way to decide which spectacular room to stay in, so why choose. We visit local artists all the time and the best studio we have been in are the bedrooms full of Ray's masterful furniture creations. Every detail of a room is perfect. Ann's breakfast? Unbelieveable! Add in thier warmth, beautiful gardens, a classic Pacific Northwest view and then just be sorry you have to leave. Hartmann House sets the bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We would rate this short stay at this B&B as our best overall experience ever. The owners were exceptionally friendly but not invasive and respected our privacy. The food was creative and they went the extra mile with extras to make us feel welcome. The room was immaculate and full of refined artistic touches. A great comfy bed and real fireplace! Room darkening curtains for good sleep. Great quiet location, beautiful gardens. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culleoka, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

From the moment of our warm welcome, this splendid place provides serenity. The cottages reflect the dedication the hosts have to their guests with every need anticipated. Sophisticated hand hewn furniture lends a unique quality of warmth and the beautiful terraced gardens envelop the visitor in a pleasantly tranquil atmosphere. Ann is masterful with the local produce and the breakfasts were simply delicious. Having stayed in B&B's the world over, I find this one matchless.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed five days recently at this wonderful B & B. It was our second visit after 15 years and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfasts are just spectacular. One morning we had blueberry pancakes, waffles on another morning, scrambled eggs on another. The orange juice, coffee and home made muffins were superb and the fresh flowers from the garden were just lovely. The easy to light fireplace on the less warmer nights provided a touch of class to the comfortable suite. We hope that we are able to revisit this lovely place and it will remain in our fondous memories forever. Gladys & Doug. from London, Ontario.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

For romance among the blooms with panoramic West Coast vistas, look no further than Hartmann House, Sooke , Vancouver IS. The multi talented hosts of this two suite B and B provide an unforgettable experience, be it the sumptuous 3 course breakfast served to your suite daily by Ann; the accommodation in rooms handcrafted to a high quality from flooring to furniture by Ray; or their combined efforts to design and maintain a stunning floral garden. And if sitting under a thick canopy of fragrant flowering clematis is not romance enough, the view of Sooke Harbor ups the anti. But the piece de resistance, is the attention to detail, be it the champagne with fruit and cheese platter on arrival, the fresh blooms from the garden, the recommendation to indulge at le Sooke Spa, the daily prepared fireplace or the parting gift. There is little your hosts have not thought of to make your stay as memorable as possible.
The negative? About the only thing that would stop me from giving the destination a 5 out of 5 is their location on the busy Sooke Road, which if you stay in the front suite, means that you are subject to some traffic noise, but as many of Sooke's B and B's are located on this same stretch of road, it places them among the competition.

Room Tip: Larger suite quieter but smaller suite ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Beautiful house and choice of two great rooms (or more accurately suites). Honeymoon suite had four-poster, comfortable sofa and great wood burner - you can relax in the Jacuzzi with the logburner going and the thoughtfully provided candles. Full of lovely touches everywhere make it a most comfortable place to stay. Huge and exceptionally comfortable bed and so, so very quiet. Breakfast is home baking of your choosing and fresh fruit all delivered discretely to an anti-room at the time of your choice. This is 5 star luxury and service but at a 3 star price. Great value. Lovely people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Hartmann House was as good as it gets! Everything was quality at it's best - the furniture, the room layout, the breakfasts! And Ray and Ann were kind and caring! We look so forward to being able to stay there again.
Carol and Hal

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartmann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartmann House

Address: 5262 Sooke Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z0E8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisans cottage set in the middle of beautiful gardens. Self contained private suites, whirlpool tubs, woodburning fireplaces, kitchenettes,handcrafted king size beds. Gourmet breakfasts delivered to suites, ocean views, Featured in Sunset Mag, Better Homes and Gardens,Best places to kiss and Northwest Best Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartmann House Sooke, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartmann House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.