We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef with too much attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's Cove Guest House

Cooper's Cove Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooper's Cove Guest House
5301 Sooke Road, Sooke, British Columbia V0S 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Sooke B&B and Inns
Victoria
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Chef with too much attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed at Cooper's Cove as part of a stay and learn-to-cook package. The location, as one previous poster mentioned, is right on a busy road - on the main highway to Sooke. You really do need to be careful getting on and off this road in the dark or in the rain as it can be quite treacherous. It is located adjacent to the Galloping Goose trail - an extension of the Trans Canada Trail. Pretty much everything in Sooke and the surrounding area is within a hundred meters of this trail, though, so I wouldn't consider that a selling point.

We stayed in the 'Arbutus Room' - I suppose they call it this because there are two arbutus trees out the window. The room was pretty spartan. It was clean and basic. There was no TV but there was a CD player with no CD's. No phone. The blinds didn't work so you couldn't close one of them. The whole place was cold.Like really, really cold. You had to warm up your room on arrival and after housekeeping had been and gone as they would turn it back down. Lord help you when you stepped into the hallways - they were icy.

The common area is pretty basic too - a room looking for a theme. It's got some Asian looking lamps and some Navajo fabric on a sofa as well as on a print. A salmon on the wall and some wrought iron candle holders.... sort of a hodge podge of stuff from Pier 1 and Superstore. It too was c-o-l-d. Too cold to really sit around in.

Breakfast was so-so. A few scones and some bread. Butter, compote, fruit salad. Then a poached egg (no choice offered) and a sausage of some sort. It was far from the best b&b breakfast I've had but not the worst either. Coffee was at 8 - breakfast at 9. If you're on a 'romantic getaway' I don't think that schedule would work but it was ok for us.

The cooking class was not so much a class as it was 4 hours of helping to prep your own dinner. I think I chopped an onion - my wife sauteed some. We were asked what foods we don't eat prior to booking and we indicated that neither of us ate Ham. The main course that we were told we would be eating at the start of the 'class' was pork. Ok... we said we didn't eat ham - we didn't say we don't eat 'pork'.... fair enough. But really... c'mon... wouldn't you think to ask if they don't eat ham would they eat pork? One would generally think that such a request would come from a Jewish guest but in our case we just don't eat ham or pork. That started things off badly. The 'chef' got all attitudey Judy about it and was overtly hostile for the rest of the day. We ended up with chicken and that was fine. As another poster mentioned about the owners putting down their choices the' chef' made a point of putting down our food choices and even went so far as to suggest that we needed to be 'deprogrammed' so that we would eat pork. Odd behavior for a host. Oddly his wife (who refers to her husband as 'chef' - something I found kinda creepy) warned us in advance that 'chef doesn't like it if you don't eat your meal'. Chef has an attitude... that's for sure. Especially considering that 'chef' has his certificate from the local community college.

As a host the 'chef' was far from gracious. He didn't like to answer questions about anything and pretty much shut you down anytime you wanted some information. I'm not sure if it was all related to the 'pork' issue but he was just not nice to be around. I asked him to show us how to make an omelette. He initially refused but then when the whole group attacked him with silence he relented. He showed us the correct way which was great... until later when he blamed me for making him use up his last two eggs on an omelette and now he didn't have any to make his desert (zabaglione). Poor planning on his part.... what kind of kitchen keeps precisely the number of eggs they need for a meal for 4 people. It's fortunate we didn't drop any or we wouldn't have had any desert at all.

All in all our stay was 'ok'. B&B hosts should be warm and kind.... these hosts were not that. As a 'teacher' you should be patient and eager to share your knowledge with those who ask. We were made to feel like we were an inconvenience.

I would not recommend a stay at this b&b and I would actively discourage anyone from taking a cooking lesson here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minka97, Owner at Cooper's Cove Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
We are sorry that the writer had such a negative experience with us.We wish we were given an opportunity to adress and correct some of the issues at the time.Although we do not claim to be perfect we feel the writer for personal reasons arrived with an attitude of not enjoying the experience, as others in his party did, and simply has made many statements that are simply not true. We welcome an opportunity to host the writer again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster,BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Well what a treat this was, first off, its an adult oriented B&B which I think is great, a place for the adults to be adults! The Chef and his lovely wife were great hosts, from the moment we were making the reservations, to walking in the front door, through till we departed. We learned of this beauty when my cousin and I attend a culinary clinic in Victoria by Chef Angelo. We were so impressed with his culinary talents that we researched Cooper's Cove and booked a weekend get away with our spouses.
We enjoyed this amazingly clean and professional home for 2 days, we were greeted with a nice gift of home made truffles and some amazing sherry in our room. The hosts are a wealth of knowledge and can advise you of the area whether it be for food, sites, or just general info. The property has great views, access to a trail along the water, a hot tub on the deck, or if you just want to relax have a seat under the grapes vines in the garden.
Onto the food, I can honestly say Chef Angelo's creations are nothing short of Amazing, from the breakfasts to our five course dinner, everything prepared with love and respect, and the fresh ingredients making it all the more flavorful.
We have already talked about our next visit later this year, for the price you can not beat this weekend getaway, make sure you take the afternoon cooking class, its filled with learning simple yet very useful techniques, lots of laughs and most of all great food!
Chef Angelo works with everyone, no matter what your skill level is, you will truly appreciate this opportunity, and be sure to walk away with a copy of his cook book!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband, our cousin, his partner and I went for a family retreat. It was amazing! Not only the view, the rooms, the amazing food, the extra special things the owners leave for guests like homemade truffles, sherry in your room, plush robes and slippers. The rooms are large, very clean, bright and comfortable. It is very peaceful and inviting place to stay and the owners make you feel at home. The hosts were terrific and very professional, they recommended locations to eat, places to visit, and they shared their local knowledge with all the guests.Absolutly positive people who made it possible for all the guests to have a great time. One of the best weekends ever! We are already planning our next trip back soon. We learned so much during the cooking class; we ate the most amazing food and left with a relaxed attitude. I can not say enough great things about this bed and breakfast. You should go to thier website and book right away. Learning to cook from a world class top chef like Angelo Prosperi-Porta was a chance in a lifetime and an amazing experience. Angelo and his wife Ina made our weekend one of the best ever!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Cooper's Cove Guesthouse 6 or 7 times since 1998 where we fell in love with the beautiful, quiet, waterfront country charm of Ithis special place. While a busy highway (in the daytime) fronts the house, one is instantly transported to another world which faces the quiet calm of Cooper's Cover on the opposite side. The guest lounge, dining area, guest rooms and decks stair step down the noise insulating rock and tree shrouded hillside. We love to sit and read on the lower deck by the large spa surrounded by Arbutus (Madrone) trees enjoying the beautiful view after a busy day. We stayed in the Blue Heron room on our first visit, but we return again and again to our favorite Arbutus room. We like to bring our bikes and ride on the Galloping Goose Trail which is just outside the garden gate.
Be sure to reserve a place at the fabulous 5 course Chef’s Table dinner. The dinner is one of the highlights of the trip and we love to see some of the preparations in Angelo’s beautiful award winning cookbook "Flavours of Cooper's Cover Guesthouse". Breakfasts are lovely with special pastries freshly baked by Angelo.
Ina oversees an immaculately clean and beautifully decorated Guesthouse that is always being refined and updated. She always has time to visit and recommends many wonderful things to do in Sooke and the wider area. We will be joining Angelo and Ina in Tuscany in June where Angelo has once again been invited to be a guest chef in a cooking school near Lucca. Read about it on their website! This is a talented couple that you will enjoy getting to know as well as their beautiful Guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I booked a weekend at Cooper's Cove Guesthouse for my partner and I after reading that it was voted 'Pacific Northwest’s Most Romantic' destination and we had a fantastic time! Our room had a beautiful ocean view that we could enjoy from our private balcony or hot tub. The food definitely goes way beyond what you would normally get at a regular B&B due to the world-class Chef (make sure you pre-book the 5-course dinner - it is completely worth it! It was amazing!). And there are plenty of opportunities to wander through the garden or visit the various attractions in the area. A great escape!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Cooper's Cove Guesthouse was recommended to me by a couple who really enjoyed their stay and now I know why! The amazing gardens and waterfront views create the perfect atmosphere for romantic relaxation. And if you’re looking for unique, fresh, world-class cuisine, treat yourself to the Chef's Table Dinner with Chef Angelo and you will have an incredible dining experience. Overall a truly enjoyable trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We wholeheartedly concur with the most previous post. This B & B is a gem from all aspects. Every detail seems to be covered, as from the moment one steps through the front door and meets Ina, who is friendly, hospitable, thoroughly genuine and very helpful in offering suggestions of things to do and sites to see.

The place is meticulously clean and offers simplicity yet with a luxurious feel. The view from the breakfast table and lounging area is impressive.

Then there is Angelo and the food. Just like Ina, Angelo puts his heart and soul into his work. Like all fabulous food, our senses were roused as they experienced the aroma, the sight and flavours presented.

We will go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cooper's Cove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Cove Guest House

Address: 5301 Sooke Road, Sooke, British Columbia V0S 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooper's Cove Guesthouse is a Westcoast waterfront property offering four luxurious rooms all with ocean view, private ensuite bath, fireplace and bar fridge.Cooper's Cove Guesthouse is known the world over for the work of Chef Angelo Prosperi-Porta (member of Culinary Team Canada 1994) and his cooking school.If you're longing to share your passion for food in a very special way, complement your getaway with one of Angelo's tantalizing cooking activities.We have been featured on many television programs including the Oprah Winfrey Show and Quiet Places and Places In The Sun.We have also been recommended by Best Places To Kiss In The Northwest and Karen Brown Travel Guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooper's Cove Guest House Sooke, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's Cove Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cooper's Cove Guest House to your Saves list