We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stickleback West Coast Eatery

Stickleback West Coast Eatery
5449 Sooke Road, Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
778.425.4499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Sooke
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I wanted to try Stickleback when we noticed its patio on the cove. As noted by others, it overlooks the bay and has a nice view of the distant Olympic range. On a five-day trip to the Sooke area, we ended up eating at Stickleback twice. The food, though priced a little high, was excellent. Everything we had was well-presented and tasty. The Galloping Goose Trail Burger includes sauteed mushrooms, bacon, and cheddar. The baby-back ribs (with honey garlic) were tender and delicious. The fish and chips were solid. Perhaps the best dish of our trip was the Pesto Prawn Pasta (it seemed to be the house favorite) . . . such a great taste with prawns in a white wine pesto sauce.

One caveat I'll mention . . . as other reviewers have noted, the food doesn't come quickly to your table. Both times, our servers were attentive, so I had to believe that the slowness came from the kitchen. After our first visit we learned our lesson. So on our second trip, we ordered an appetizer, which came out in a timely manner. By the time we finished the appetizer (tasty Tsunami Fries), our entrees were served. When you visit, take your time. Chill on the patio for a bit. Enjoy the view. Take a few deep breaths. It's easy to do in this beautiful setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    52
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant is located in a cove with an outdoor patio overlooking the water. The setting is superb with the snow-capped Olympics in the distance. The food is excellent with a nice variety of fresh salads and fish. We highly recommend this place as a top dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the spicy noodle bowl!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, good food. I have been here a few times with 3 other people and everyone seems happy with their meals. My Dad likes the burgers, my Mom usually goes for seafood, and I like a bit of spice. They have a new menu, we will try on Mother's Day. It's the best Sooke has right now, even though it's before Sooke. Watch the double yellow solid line, you are not supposed to turn left there. Go further up and turn around to enter as it's on the left side of the road after a corner, somewhat of a traffic hazard. Watch for the veterinary clinic, turn around at that street and no problems. Worth the drive and great for a sunny day on their patio. I have had a tough time getting called back when trying to arrange reservations so just go. I have not had to wait for a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good food but service was very slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had lunch here a few days ago. Got seated right away and my husband ordered a beer. 10 minutes later the waitress finally came back without the beer. We thought we better order while we had her there. Good thing because it took quite a while to get service again. Probably not the waitresses fault, as she was the only one on shift and was doing her best. The owner was there but he was so busy texting on his cell phone, he didn't bother to lift a finger or see that he needed more staff on. The food was very good when we did get it. My husband ordered a second beer which didn't arrive until after we were finished our meals and pretty much ready to leave. I would hesitate to come back because of the very slow service. It's too bad because the location is really nice and if run properly could be an A+ place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect finish to the East Sooke Park hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Truly amazing burgers! We went at the end of a really long day of hiking and were starving. This was the fix!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stickleback West Coast Eatery also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stickleback West Coast Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stickleback West Coast Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.