We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A (not-so) hidden gem in a sleepy harbour town...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6929 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A (not-so) hidden gem in a sleepy harbour town...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was my first trip out to Sooke, my S.O. had been to the area a few times but not since the hotel had been built. We were enticed to the area via a Groupon Deal and travelled to the area via the ferry (drive-on passengers) and drove from Swartz Bay. When we pulled into the parking lot it immediately knocked our socks off. There is ample parking in the front entrance parking lot as well as an underground parking lot designated for hotel guests. The decor in the lobby is refreshing and offers a beatiful view to the back of the hotel which faces the waterfront, dock and boat launch area. The adjacent restaurant was great and super convenient, almost too convenient especially with the option to bill your meal to your room. The breakfast menu was just as great as the dinner menu and the desserts were fantastic. We ate there a multiple number of times and had a great experience each time. I would highly recommend anyone give this place a chance. It definitely sticks out amongst the regular scenery of the town but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Room #214 does not have a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking part of our Group On promotion. It has been very rewarding to find new clientelle that appreciate our dedication to hospitality and superior accommodation. We hope that you will come visit us again when you have the chance to escape it all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    87
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
69
148
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a new hotel and is certainly squeaky clean, well appointed, and beautifully situated, and I have to say we had an excellent stay there -- no complaints at all. Service, comfort, and food all at a level one would expect from a Best Western Prestige level of accommodation. And if you are a water/boating kind of person the walks, ocean views, and launching ramps are all right there.There are however a few lingering reservation that we took away: in an attempt to be a bit grander, the hotel seems grandiose with twelve foot ceilings and with outdoor paintwork that almost requires one to wear sunglasses on a bright day. Why the architects didn't try to integrate the structure into the surrounding environment a bit better, beats me. Sooke is a rural gem and the hotel seems a transplant from elsewhere. Odd. But it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view balcony -- definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your experience and thank you for letting us know. We pride ourselves in giving our guests all that the Premier level of Best Western implies. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another restful stay in this relaxing and quiet area of Greater Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Request a room with a view...339 was great!. With a large deck facing the water you can have your coffee in the morning looking out to the quite sunrise. The Bar/Restaurant was very good, fresh seafood and attentive service. The only drawback was the elevators, sooooo slow but then I guess once you are in Sooke everything slows down. It was a great stay, I was there for a meeting and the meeting rooms were very comfortable and the appetizers that they served at the evening reception were some of the best I have had.

Room Tip: 339 facing the water with a large deck and on the corner of the building ... great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your appreciation. We do feel we are a gem in the stunning natural setting of Sooke. I am thankful you enjoyed your meetings as well as your room. We hope to welcome you back for your next visit; be it business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Although the architecture is a bit of an anomaly in this sleepy little town, the hotel is very very good with room comfort and super friendly service. Indoor pool and hot tub were nice. Free wifi. Good restaurant with great wine list. Right on the waterfront in Sooke Harbour with its own pier. Lots of seals swimming around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor facing the harbour. You will have a deck where you can sit and adm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sooke is a great place to get away from it and enjoy the views, characters ( the seals and there are a few otters around as well), and great hospitality. Thank you for letting us know and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed for one night to attend a our friends' wedding. The hotel lobby, banquet space, wedding lawn and rooms were all stunning. The service was also amazing with everyone more than willing to go the extra mile for the wedding guests, the bride and groom and all the other hotel guests for that evening. And, the buffet was great!! We didn't stay for breakfast, but heard that the breakfast buffet was excellent!!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are amazing and the third floor has patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
It was our pleasure to ensure that your stay and the event were perfect. We really appreciate your compliments and hope to be able to welcome you back for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Bc
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent 3 days on meeting at this resort. Fabulous views, great staff and so was my room.

I had a king room overlooking the marina. Great way to start the day on the balcony with a coffee. Iike the extra touches the rooms have, mine even had a tv in the bathroom!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the huge showers, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing your experience and the photos. Our great staff look forward to having back for another stay to enjoy more of our great view and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a great 3 days at the hotel. We enjoyed the hotel. We caught fish with Al- great time. Jonathan at the front desk made our lunches for fishing after hours-Benjamin (general manager) is first class! Thank you for the hospitality! Andrew and Brian

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the compliments. Ben, Jacob, and the whole crew will be pleased to hear them. I especially appreciated the photo you posted. Mornings looking out to the Ocean are so beautiful from the Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next fishing adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort

Address: 6929 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort Sooke, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.