We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was really wrong, but nothing was really right.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6929 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nothing was really wrong, but nothing was really right.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Here is what I liked: The location is lovely. BC public transportation was great and there's a bus stop just outside the large parking lot in front of the hotel. If you want to visit without a car, and don't mind a bit of walking for entertainment, you can. Also, there was a hobie kayak rental place right next to the hotel. That was a lot of fun, even with our 4 year old son.

One point about the "oceanfront" name: If you are expecting wide ocean views, this is not the place for you. The hotel is in a harbor of sorts. Your view (which is quite nice) is across a relatively narrow stretch of water to the green trees on the other side.

Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't fit in the location at all. It's an odd design that looks like they were going for a psuedo plantation feel on the coast of Vancouver Island. They weren't short on real estate - the rooms and bathrooms are large and the corridors are wide, but somehow they just missed the mark. Everything was laid out poorly. For example, the hotel elevator had a back door that opened directly to the hotel kitchen, so we always shared the elevator with food carts and kitchen staff. The elevator often had spills that would be typical in a service elevator, but this also functioned as the guest elevator.

We selected a view balcony room. Our room's balcony was separated from two other balconies by low metal picket railing, so no privacy. You were standing/sitting right next to anyone on an adjacent balcony and anyone on an adjacent balcony could look into your room. The view was lovely, but the window to the view was inexplicably small.

We ate at the restaurant twice since we were traveling without a car. Service was just okay, food was edible too. We would not have returned, except that we needed a quick lunch on our way out and couldn't get anywhere else on food for food in less than 15 minutes.

With all of the great places to stay out there, we wouldn't return to the Prestige Oceanfront Resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We always appreciated guest feedback. Though we are pleased you enjoyed our rooms, I apologize you were not shown the Guest Only elevator. We are working with the restaurant ownership to maintain policies pertaining to the use of the other elevator. We hope that in the future you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    87
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
70
149
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a weird place for a hotel. We were looking for a west coast experience and did not get it. The hotel looked liked something from the Southern United States. I guess Americans built this weird structure.
Our room with no view was dirty and we found it noisy. Staff was never on front desk when we walked by. We checked out early and went to the Sooke Harbour House and it was much better, night and day better in all aspects. As for value and ambience the Harbour House is more like what we expected for this area.

Room Tip: Not worth the visit. The hotel is definitely not premier or prestigious. We will never be back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Before you go, make sure you aware that this is a 2.5 star hotel (they don't do a very good job of keeping it clean, otherwise it would be a standard 3 star hotel in any city). The hotel is situated on one of the prettiest spots on Vancouver Island, hence the extra star giving it a 3.5. Furthermore, they are only are few years away from it rating even lower. The hotel is relatively new, but has been designed so incredibly poorly (lots of dark hardwood floors everywhere that show every bit of dirt and dust) that without an incredible cleaning staff, which they don't have, the hotel and the rooms (ours anyway) always look dirty. If you have any doubt rub a damp white towel on your "clean" floor and you'll see how dirty it is.

PS We ate at Ric's Grill twice... not worth the money. Food is average and everything we were served was lukewarm, never hot (even the french onion soup i ordered!)

Room Tip: Anything with a water view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve. We continue to work on our housekeeping methods so our guests can enjoy the rich colour and beauty of our floors as well as our resort amenities and beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the BC long weekend in August along with our Labrador Retriever. Upon our arrival on Friday afternoon, August 3, we were pleased to see ample parking on the main level. Having a disabled parking pass we were also happy to see 2-3 such spots right near the entrance to the hotel. We arrived around check in time which I believe was 3pm.

There were no other guests arriving the same time as we were so we had a smooth check in. We booked our room a few weeks in advance. What was interesting initially was that the room prices quoted by the staff here when you called in to make a reservation were more expensive than their prices listed on their website by about $40-50. Once we saw the difference in prices we called back the hotel stating what we saw on their website vs. what was quoted by making a phone booking. The staff happily honoured the difference over the phone and we got the cheaper price offered on their website.

We informed staff that we were bringing a dog. This was happily accepted but we had to book a room on the lobby floor facing the gardens and not the sea. Most of the other rooms were not available to us simply because we had a dog with us. Our view was not great at all, though we were content to give this up a view in favour of having our beloved dog with us. We had the choice of going for one queen bed or two. We opted for 2 queen beds simply because the room was bigger than a 1 queen. Fortunately there was no issue with the size of the dog as there can be in other places. Dog bowls for food and water were provided though certainly rather small for our large breed. They also provided you with a tiny dog bed. If they really wanted to give you very good customer service they should have asked what size dog you were bringing, We did, however, come equipped with all our pet things. Our room was certainly very dark though. Our dog would jump up on the beds and leave some hairs there. We also used one of the bathroom towels to clean the floor where our dog ate and drank. The sheets were not changed whilst we were there for 3 days which is fine. They also did not replace the towel we used to clean up after our dog. Once we left we were never contacted back by the hotel about cleaning up after our dog. I guess that is where the $20 a night charge comes in for having your dog with you. We could hear guests above us moving around though was not an issue.

We did not opt for the breakfast option at the hotel. I believe it was $20 per person a day. I did a lot of research before coming here and looked up some real nice breakfast places. Little Vienna Bakery & Mom's Cafe being our favourite in the village centre. Huge portions at Mom's Cafe. We ended up going for breakfast on consecutive days here as it was so good.

There was a gym at the hotel which we did not use. It looked OK though. We went to the indoor swimming pool a few times whilst we were here. The entrance to the men's changing room was always locked oddly enough so my wife and I had to go through the women's entrance. This entrance did not go right in to the women's changing room so it was OK for me to walk direclty to the pool from this entrance. Our dog was left in our room and she was content just to rest without making any noise.

The entrance to the lobby is almost very tropical with the foliage they have and the decor; the backdrop being the view to the sea. Comfortable chairs were always in good reach. I really do not think this place is a resort though like others have commented on. Certainly there are facilities here though it should be called a hotel, not a resort. We were hoping to swim our dog on the beach here. There was only a pier which went out to the boats though and no real access to any sand and water. Whilst it is an oceanfront property it has very little to offer in terms of easy access to the water. We did find some grassed areas (but not many) where our dog could go toilet. The shoreline here was rather small and rocky.

We never ate in the hotel once as there are some great local places to eat: Stickleback West Coast Eatery, Stone Pipe Grill and of course (the very expensive!) Sooke Harbour House. The location of the hotel really isolates it from local life. You really need to be here with a car so you can get out and about.

The parking lot got a lot busier as the weekend progressed. Disabled spots got to be full also though we never needed to park underneath the hotel. Parking on the lower level was a problem in that there was no access to the lobby area by stairs or elevator. You would need to walk up a hill to get back to the hotel entrance if you parked below. For some this may not be a problem, though would definitely pose one to the frail and weak. There were several parking spaces for vehicles with boats and they were all taken up over the long weekend.

We would certainly come back though in due course. Not sure there is a lot to do for children here.

Room Tip: Make sure to go to Mom's Cafe for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities we offer our guests with pets. I apologize your towels were not replaced and we are taking steps to ensure such oversights do not happen in the future. The lock on the Men’s Change Room unavoidably had maintenance issues that have been resolved. It is unfortunate that you were unable to locate the stair and elevator entrance to our hotel in the underground parking lot. We are improving our signage to make them easier to locate. On your next visit to us, our staff will be happy to direct you to several beautiful beaches that are wonderful places to enjoy with your dog. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed two nights here for a romantic getaway. Our room faced out the front with a balcony and view of the water - very beautiful indeed. I would say that our room itself was spectacular with ceilings that were at least 12 feet. The room was so spacious with a king sized bed and a sitting area as well. The hotel/room/bathroom etc. was very tastefully designed and decorated.

A few areas of improvement that were overlooked was the cleanliness of the outside sitting area. There were dirty (very dirty) tables that never got cleaned the whole time we were there. I can't say this for our room as our friendly maid did a spectacular job on the room. Another area for improvement would be to build a fence on the outside area so that people that just came in through the lobby to see the hotel can't walk directly in front of your room. The outside patio area is all very open with nothing blocking even your neighbours from walking directly in front of your room and most people's instinct is to look in, making our room not too private. The pool and hot tub were also very murky and we chose not to go for a hot tub.

However, we loved our stay at this beautiful property and would definitely return. We ate a meal at the hotel's restaurant and it was delicious. We definitely felt pampered while we were staying here.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to fine tune our procedures and amenities. It will be a pleasure to pass along your compliments to our staff and I know they look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed one night on August while on a tandem bike tour of Vancouver Island with our 2 boys. Staff was extremely accommodating in finding a secure, dry place for our 2 tandems (not always an easy feat!). Very friendly staff and our room was clean. We especially enjoyed the pool!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. I trust your Vancouver Island Bike Tour was a success. Our team will be happy to hear that you appreciated their efforts and the Resort. We hope to see you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed end of August. Rooms were spotless, good sized & ours had a stunning view over the little marina & bay. However, the hotel felt as if it was in the process of closing down. The bar only opens on weekends (we stayed a week night) & having booked the breakfast package we were disappointed to be given vouchers to spend in the tiny coffee shop (only 3 tables) as the restaurant doesn't open for breakfast. Staff were sparse. Not worth the CAD 350 we paid for the night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass along your compliments and concerns to our staff. It is unfortunate that you were unaware of the bar that is available in The Mix by Ric’s just off our lobby that is open daily. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort

Address: 6929 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort Sooke, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Prestige Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.