We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome New Year's Party!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mix by Ric's - Sooke

The Mix by Ric's - Sooke
6929 West Coast Road | in Prestige Oceanfront Resort, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada
+1 778-425-0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Sooke
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Tapas, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome New Year's Party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the best New Year's party we have ever been to! The 'Moulin Rouge' themed decorations and atmosphere were fantastic along with the amazing entertainment and dinner. Truly a spectacular evening, one we will never forget! I have put it on my calendar for next year!! Bravo to Val Lessard & team for an awesome event!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Great to hear it! We'll make sure to pass your comments along to Valerie and her team, and we look forward to celebrating with you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best New Years resolution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I have made a new resolution this year, and that is to make sure I am back every year for the Mix by Rics New Year's Eve Event. Loved every minute. Great food, great atmosphere. Unbelievable entertainment. It was like going to Vegas but not having to go through the hassle of travelling. All the theme this year was cabaret style, must say the mc Ron Larson was great, dj bombus kept everyone upbeat, Chris Murdoch and luciterra, as well as the evolutionaries were amazing. The band coco jafro definitely rocked us into the new year. The brunch the next morning was superb. Can't wait for next year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Fantastic! We'll pass along your great feedback to our team, and look forward to celebrating with you every year! You know, our hard-working staff do an amazing job during the rest of the year as well ... we'd love to have you come check us out anytime ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
2 reviews
“Enjoyable Outing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The view was awesome. The restaurant is comfortable. The food was well prepared, well presented and very tasty. I would highly recommend that anyone visiting the area give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The experience at the Mix was great! The views are beautiful. Customer service was really good. My meal though was the best part of the experience. I had lobster Mac and Cheese. Wow! It was wonderful. I never had this type of Mac and Cheese before. I could eat this everyday. A must have when in Sooke.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I just moved to Sooke about 6 weeks ago so have been sampling the local fair at various restaurants. We had heard mixed reviews about the Prestige hotel but decided on a whim to give it a try for dinner. Beautiful and welcoming entrance to the lobby and a spacious well decorated lounge/dining room in Rics.
Service was prompt, attentive and pleasant. We had one main server who was great and a couple of other servers who helped out here and there.
We decided to share mixed tapas and the food was excellent! great flavours, good variety. Price is getting up there but would certainly return for special occasions and maybe a light tapas lunch.
Good wine list with OK pricing. Couldn't really comment on the view even though we had a window seat as it was night time and quite dark outside.
Only "negative" comment we would have is that the tub seats are quite low to the table.
We inquired about their frequent visitor card for locals (saw a notice on the way in) and they promptly set us up with one, resulting in 10% off our bill - Nice!.
Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mix by Ric's - Sooke also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Mix by Ric's - Sooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.