We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point-No-Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point-No-Point Resort
Save
You added Point-No-Point Resort to your Saves list
10829 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V0S 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

What's not to like? Beautiful place, your own cabin with an outdoors hot tub, fire place, wonderful restaurant, nice people, beautiful trails down to beaches. A wonderful to hang out, relax, and so forth.

We stayed in Cabin 1, which is off by itself a bit (a good thing). Don't expect anything fancy, it's a pretty basic structure. My wife thought it was a bit dark and claustrophobic, I thought it was fine given appropriate expectations. The hot tub right outside of course was great.

The restaurant is superb. Great food and large portions. We went for lunch and what we took back was dinner.

The trails down to the beach are real pretty and fun. Not long and not hard (altho getting off the trails down to the beaches can be a challenge with climbing on rocks).

Don't expect to make an easy trip to Victoria from here, it's a ways away. We had thought we'd take a day trip, but when we saw how far it was to get there, we changed our mind and stayed put (just one day btn two nights), which was fine, we had a really nice day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    23
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
138
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My girlfriend and I have stayed in this resort three times now, once in a single cabin and twice in the duplex cabin "Otter." Otter is much newer looking and much more roomy; it's a split level style loft cabin, bedroom up top, with living/dining room and kitchen on the main. The bathroom is also nice and large, with hot tub on a private deck. The massive two-story window faces the Straight of Juan de Fuca (the ocean) and is, quite simply, breathtaking. Now, both I and my girlfriend were born and raised, and have lived in, Victoria for 35 years, so for this to be breathtaking is quite simply the truth. If you're looking for a secluded getaway (even 45 minutes out of Victoria is safe enough!), with your own private cabin, with views of the ocean, then this is the place. Now, they're a restaurant, but we never eat there. Apparently the food is excellent, but being a self-taught chef, I opt to cooking in our own kitchen at a fraction of the cost. As for that, you'll want to stock up on food, including coffee, before heading to the cabins, as the nearest grocery store is in Sooke, a good 20 minute drive east of the resort. You'll also want to pack pretty much the food you'll be eating, including spices, etc. They supply all the main cutlery and cooking ware, though. No TV or internet access, which is nice. (We just brought our laptop and watched movies on that.)

Pros: beautiful location, private, and relaxing
Cons: too expensive! they've raised the rate by $80 in the past year, bringing a two night stay in at just under $500. we'll be back, but not more than once a year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband & I stayed at Point-no-Point for our 10th anniversary and I can't say enough good things about this place. We stayed in cabin 12 and it felt like we were the only ones there. The bed is in a loft which is very cute but you do have to watch out or you might bump your head. The hot tub on the deck is completely secluded. While you are there you should eat at the restaurant. The food was just fabulous.
We will would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I spent a week here with my elderly Mom in a two bedroom cabin (#11). The ocean views were wonderful. Our cabin was carefully located so that you couldn't see, or hear, anyone else. (I would avoid the duplex and fourplex cabins. It could be a problem if you ended up with inconsiderate neighbors.) My mother spent every day in a comfortable rocker enjoying the view. I hiked around the property and spent a lot of time at their beach house which is in a sheltered cove. Be aware that you must drive 20 min to Sooke to find a grocery store and there isn't anywhere nearby to have breakfast so arrive prepared to fix your own.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from two nights in Cabin B. We really don't have a negative thing to say about PNP. It was our fourth time there, and we just love it ! It is our absolute favourite close-to-home "get-away". The owners were in evidence, but always smiled, and were not intrusive at all. All the staff were excellent all the way, from the moment we made the booking, until we checked out.
We love the way things don't change much at PNP over the years. We have stayed in Cabins E & B. This resort was spotless. The cabin was spotless. We walked from one end of the resort to the other and all over the beaches, the Point, and the Beach House, and there is not a piece of litter to be found anywhere.
We have had lunch in the Restaurant in the past and it was excellent, but just did our own cooking this time. One day we went down to the Beach House and had a weeny roast over the fire-pit.
Not much else to say. It is a first class resort.
Come and enjoy time away from your cell phone, t.v., phone, computer, blackberry, etc. etc. Bring your own food and drinks and books, etc. etc. and enjoy a magical and really relaxing time. Love this place for what it is... no room-service, etc. You are left completely alone to relax and enjoy and unwind. Have fun !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Morning coffee on our private deck with the waves crashing, watching the wildlife in peace and tranquility
Beach combing and walking down the the beach house for a private fire and Weinie roast
A bowl of chowder on the cliff top restaurant complete with binoculars to watch the scenery
Cooking our own beautiful meals ( the kitchen could have a few more utensils ) and enjoying them while we sip in front of the real wood fire
Finally a soak in the jacuzzi again on the deck with the waves crashing and sun setting AAAAAHHHHH we will be back

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I recently returned from a weekend at this magical place I had heard about some 6 years ago.
To celebrate 2 very special birthdays I took my elderly Mom and my sister to this resort while visiting from Ontario. We stayed in cabin 9 which worked out perfectly as my Mom has much reduced mobility.

Our weather cooperated, the environment was so peaceful,the staff were most helpful and accommodating... dinner and lunch were amazing although pricey. All in all a wonderful place. My sister and I are now scheming to return by ourselves! For 2 people we would recommend the Hummingbird cabin. It is fabulous and looks over a beautiful sandy secluded beach! Can't wait to go back! Judy Lamb Peterborough Ontario

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point-No-Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point-No-Point Resort

Address: 10829 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V0S 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Point-No-Point Hotel Sooke
Point-No-Point Resort Sooke, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point-No-Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.