We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down by the shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sooke Harbour House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sooke Harbour House to your Saves list
Sooke Harbour House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1528 Whiffen Spit rd. | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Down by the shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were looking for something new and different in a piece of the world we hadn't visited before. Sooke filled the bill for a wonderful "get away" with helpful, caring staff and great service. The rooms are a bit unique and the futrniture cannot be called "comfortable" but the ambiance and the views over the morning water was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    54
    32
    35
    21
See reviews for
29
223
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Totally worth the trip. Each room is a work of art. And you can watch Orcas, seals, dolphins and other sealife cavorting in the harbor from your window. Ford was excellent...and it was a pleasure sampling BC wines.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The food was amazing as it always is and the people genuine and nice but seriously, the place needs some updating and the decor is hideous. It was my first time actually staying there and if I ever went back Id stay off site and just go there to dine.

Room Tip: view them online, the rooms themselves have a great layout and some of them look nice. Ours was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Food= Amazing. Other Restaurants in the area were equally amazing. A foodie paradise.

This was a romantic get away we will never forget. Woke up to barking seals and sea lions. Fire place was roaring while we watched killer whales in the distance. This is a place's reputation is well deserved.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Sooke Harbor House was highly recommended by friends with good taste and we traveled 5,000 miles to visit. We were duly impressed with the location, the grounds, the view, the artistry,and the hot tub and the fireplace in our room. But the room itself had rather silly decor, as did the room our friends stayed in. We felt that while it was a lovely little retreat place, it was overpriced. It is immaculately clean. We thought it would be more of like a spa experience with excellent customer service but we were on our own to carry our bags to and from the room and there was very little in the way of spa services. The restaurant served lovely, fresh food but, nothing particularly special. And again, overpriced. If money is no object and you are looking for a boutique experience, check it out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Dec 2010 with a package deal. $530+ tax for two nights stay and a four course dinner for two. We are a young couple - so I felt a little like we didn't belong but once I got over that, I had an amazing relaxing weekend. What I mean by that is that the resort has more of a homey cottage feel, less or an urban modern feel.
The room was very large and spectacular, with a dual shower, steam in the shower, large soaker tub. The resort itself was fun to explore and the art was interesting to look at.
I was not overly impressed with the dinner, it was nothing that I remember now.

We live in Vancouver and have stayed at many B&B's and Resorts on the islands and this was one of our favourites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

You will not be disappointed. Really. We were there in August of 2013. The views, the place, the food were all top level.....our experience could not have been any better. It was one of the best places we have ever visited, as a family. Not easy to get to, but it was worth the travel. Just wonderful. In retrospect, we wish that we would have planned more days around this magnificent area and property. We were happy to have also visited the opposite coastline (northwest Washington) as well, but this one property really knocked our socks off. If the weather is as nice as it was when we visited, you just can't imagine a more beautiful place (even though we have yet to visit Alaska and hear that it is amazing as well). Our dinner there was so fresh and high quality and the dessert and drinks were as good as they get. We feel as if the pricing there was worth what they provided too and as if we were treated fairly and were given a lot of value for what we spent. If possible, we recommend trying to get there during the day so that you can take in all of the landscapes and the scenery, but none of it was as beautiful as the views from that specific point at the Sooke Harbour House as you look out onto the ocean and across to the State of Washington's mountains and Olympic National Park. On our way back to The States, we took a ferry ride back to Port Angeles and it is a beautiful scene as well, but not quite as special from Sooke, for some reason. The incredible flowers and gardens, at the Sooke Harbour House, make it a very unique place that you will never forget.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sooke Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House

Address: 1528 Whiffen Spit rd. | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking Pacific Ocean and the Olympic Mountains, our hotel has a direct beach access. Unique 28 rooms featuring spa tubs, steam showers, fireplaces and views. The restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, flowers from its organic gardens.We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. It is a perfect destination for a wedding, romantic holiday and an any season getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Sooke Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sooke Harbour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.