We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sooke Harbour House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sooke Harbour House to your Saves list
Sooke Harbour House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1528 Whiffen Spit rd. | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could be so much more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

(We also had a wonderful meal at the restaurant--five stars for that!) We spent three nights here as a long weekend celebration for a special anniversary. The staff was friendly on check in and our room had an exceptional view of the ocean, wonderful bath amenities and linens. The fireplace was ready to light. We did not realize until we arrived that breakfast was not served in the restaurant, but in your room. While the food was delicious and our server/housekeeper was very kind, it just was not comfortable to have to eat hunched over the coffee table--especially when right below us the beautiful dining room with perfect views was empty. This has the feel of the fading beauty of an old house. We could not get consistent internet service in our room, so we ended up spending an hour each morning at the Best Western hotel coffee shop just so we could check and send emails. This is a destination wedding spot, as well. At 11pm we finally closed our windows so we did not have to hear "The Macarena" which was being played by the DJ at the reception in the garden. We would return (again and again) for the food and dinner ambiance of the restaurant. But, for the price, there are many better places to stay in and around Victoria. It seemed to us that they catered more to people who were just spending one night after a meal, rather than travelers who wanted a base from which to explore the lower west coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    54
    32
    35
    21
See reviews for
29
223
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. The place is lovely - beautiful and peaceful location. Accommodation was charming and lovely. Breakfasts are good - delivered to your room each day at an appointed time. Sooke's musch heralded restaurant is an abomination. Our dinner was like the Keystone Kops. Expensive with jarring combnations that do not work. To add to that, they did not refill wine, 45 minutes between courses and then the food was not cooked through. Major disappointm,ent.

Room Tip: Kingfisher room has a solarium in it, ideal for eating breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After seeing this hotel on a local TV travel show, I decided to stay here. It is everything we'd hoped for and then some. The room was wonderful, with a view of the Olympic Mountains in Washington from the patio and bathtub. Absolutely gorgeous. The inn is pet friendly too so traveling with our dog was no problem. Because of the dog, we didn't eat in the dining room but instead had room service and had the very same food. It was fantastic. We stayed here 2 nights and both nights were just ideal. We'll stay here again some day.

Room Tip: Splurge, get the best room you can afford and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the Sooke Harbour House with our two 11 year old sons, and we were again blown away by the stunning seaview, and the exquisite cuisine. The elk neck was so tender, slow cooking at its finest. We were made to feel very welcome, and even our children enjoyed the homey though stylish atmosphere. The deer came right up tot our door to nibble at the lovely tended gardens. The library and the art we found everywhere in the hotel are an absolute extra.
We can fully recommend the Sooke Habour House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We bicycled to and from Sooke Harbour House on the Galloping Goose Trail from Victoria. Our stay and meal was our reward for our exerted energy in traveling there. Each room of the House has an art theme and and is peaceful and relaxing. No two rooms are alike but each are carefully and tastefully appointed and a treat to stay in. Dinner was expensive, however all the food was of exceptional quality and prepared to perfection. We ordered the wine fleet with our meals and with each course the bottle was left on the table allowing for more than just a one glass pour. Very generous. We found the service to be friendly and attentive. Sooke Harbour House is one of a kind. It's not a chain resort and should be enjoyed for what it is, a unique retreat.

Room Tip: Sooke Harbour House is popular place for weddings. If you want a quiet seclusion it might be best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our first visit to SHH took place in 1985 when we made a six-hour journey from Seattle just to have dinner. We were hooked and have returned about every two to three years since. The inn is located at the end of a peninsula that becomes a spit and juts into the bay. The view from the rooms, quite frankly is one of the most stunning in the Northwest or the world for that matter. One looks across the Strait of Juan de Fuca as tankers purposefully chug along in the distance, making their way toward Seattle. Beyond the Strait, though, the gorgeous Olympic Mountains shoot many thousands of feet above the water, forming a spectacular backdrop. In the winter they are covered with snow and during other seasons, fingers of fog caress them. It makes for a view that beckons you to spend hours on your private porch. Adding to the view, waves lap the pebble beach below you, the smell of salt air invigorates and intoxicates, and gulls cackle back and forth as they pass overhead. If this sounds magical, I assure, it definitely is. SSH has a way of washing all your troubles away with each lapping wave. There are about thirty rooms in the inn, many with soaking tubs and fireplaces of one sort or another. Each has a different motif that relates to the Northwest or the inn. If you like Native Northwest art, the Victor Newman Longhouse room is the way to go. For the best view, the rooms on the third floor are the best. They have offered seaweed tasting classes in the past and this is a wonderful experience to appreciate how delicious kelp and seaweed truly are when freshly harvested. It may help with your survival skills if you ever happen to be stranded near the ocean. Wildlife is present is present everywhere so be sure to walk, walk, walk. This is a great place for kids as well and everyone will enjoy the wonderful and varied art that adorns the hallways, much of it for sale.

Room Tip: Be sure to have dinner at SHH. Surprisingly, the weather can be quite pleasant here in the winter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I'll keep it short. Every single bite was perfect. The service was perfect. To give you an Idea, we were sitting back, after our entrees, loving the view, when the dining room manager (owner?) approached and asked if we'd care to have dessert at the fireplace. Uh, yeah! Upon sitting down on the couch to another fabulous course in front of a crackling fire, she brought us each an extra bit of our preferred adult beverage. Complimentary. WOW!
We weren't staying at the hotel so I can't review that.
But, dinner… just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sooke Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House

Address: 1528 Whiffen Spit rd. | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking Pacific Ocean and the Olympic Mountains, our hotel has a direct beach access. Unique 28 rooms featuring spa tubs, steam showers, fireplaces and views. The restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, flowers from its organic gardens.We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. It is a perfect destination for a wedding, romantic holiday and an any season getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Sooke Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sooke Harbour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.