We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe TripAdvisor needs to have a rating level above excellent?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Point of View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Point of View Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added A Point of View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
7954 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0R5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $125-$140!
Ranked #1 of 28 Sooke B&B and Inns
Stockton, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maybe TripAdvisor needs to have a rating level above excellent?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I won't try to out-superlative the superlatives already used to describe the breath-taking setting, the extremely attractive rooms and public space, the fabulous breakfasts, and the gracious hosts of this marvelous b&b. Instead, I'll just take note of the thought and thoughtfulness that's been used to enhance every aspect of a guest's stay. A simple,very basic example: small, gooseneck lamps at either side of the bed. If you even noticed such a small detail, your first thought might be, "Well, of course!", but then you think back to all of the times (maybe every time?) when a bit of bedtime reading required the use of a table lamp or, worse yet, an over-the-bed sconce while your spouse tried to sleep, and your thought becomes, "Well, of course! How thoughtful!"
For me that was the essence of the Point of View experience from start to finish. Regrettably, only a two-day experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethPetersen, Owner at A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here and thank you very much for your positive and specific feedback. In fact, all of our rooms don't have gooseneck reading rooms and, after reading your helpful comments, we will ensure that they all do. As you so clearly indicated, sometimes it is a small detail that can make a big difference. Thank you for the opportunity of making a "small improvement" for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at A Point of View was our first experience with b&b's in Canada and remained the best one. Hosts Liesbeth and Gary are extremely hospitable and welcoming. Their house is beautifully situated, a bit west of Sooke (a car is needed) and has beautiful views on the ocean. Breakfast is just great, every day a new surprise! The rooms are large and very comfortable.

The Sooke region has a lot of posibilities for sightseeing, hiking and whale watching and given the short distance to Victoria (approx. 30 km), we feel this is your best option when you plan to stay on the south coast of Victoria Island.

Hartelijk dank Liesbeth!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethPetersen, Owner at A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you SO much for your positive and encouraging feedback. Considering that there was an unexpected power outage during your visit, we are most delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here. We wish you a wonderful end of summer and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Gary and Elizabeth have created an environment of ultimate relaxation that is affordable. Clean, comfortable, and relaxing with a fantastic breakfast and hospitality. (Did I mention panoramic ocean views from each suite?)We couldn't imagine a more perfect place on Vancouver Island to spend the night, the week, or whatever time length you desire. Our hosts were friendly, helpful, and professional. (They also make a great eggs Benedict, and pancakes with real canadian Maple Syrup) We will return at our first chance, I would highly recommend A Point of view B&B, it is magnificant from start to finish!

Room Tip: 3 Suites to choose, 2 down and one up all are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethPetersen, Owner at A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We endeavour to create a relaxing and comfortable environment for our guests and are therefore delighted to hear that this was your impression. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to our B & B sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We travelled to Vancouver Island as part of a three week holiday for our 40th wedding anniversary and stayed with Elizabeth and Gary. Our accommodation was 5 star with private hot tub and fantastic views and the breakfasts were sumptuous. Elizabeth and Gary were very friendly and when they discovered our special anniversary they provided a card and some well-chilled bubbly. Their hospitality even extended to transporting us to Victoria one day and we returned by bus.
We can highly recommend "A Point of View" as the best appointed B&B we have ever stayed at with excellent breakfasts and a high level of hospitality. We will be recommending them to our friends and relations in the area and any visitors to Vancouver and Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethPetersen, Owner at A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our B & B to celebrate your 40th Anniversary.... despite the cooler, summer weather. It's our privilege to have been able to contribute to your Canadian holiday experience. All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at ‘a Point of View’ B&B for 4 nights.
The landscape is beautiful, it has an amazing ocean view, clean and private rooms, and delicious fresh homemade breakfasts.
The atmosphere is encouraging relaxation, great place for those who seek quiet, calm, and reduce stress.
The owners Elisabeth and Gary are very friendly and informative.
Definitely a wonderful place to recharge the batteries, read a good book, and explore the Sooke area.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethPetersen, Owner at A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It truly was our pleasure having you stay with us last week and rewarding to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your "Sooke adventure". We wish you both a wonderful summer and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our B & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service at a wonderful location and awesome hostess Elizabeth who will make your stay unforgettable with her delicious and abundant breakfast served in a friendly and professional fashion

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My stay here was brief, just one night but I hope to come back soon! The house, the services and the hosts were all top notch! The ambience was amazing, whether it was soaking in the giant tub, sitting by the private freestanding fireplace and or just enjoying the stunning views, it was very relaxing! To top it all off the morning breakfast was excellent, fresh, healthy and very well presented. This place is really a treat for someone who just needs to escape for a few days or for a romantic get away!

Best of all you know the hosts really love what they are doing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethPetersen, Owner at A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
If we love what we do it is because our guests are just the best. Thank you for your very kind words and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our B & B sometime in the future.
Until then, have a great summer (once it finally gets here),
Your hosts,
Gary and Elisabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Point of View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Point of View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7954 West Coast Road, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Point of View B & B offers guests spa-like accommodations while enjoying the most breathtaking views of the Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Besides beautiful ocean & mountain views, each of the rooms has a private bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower, fireplace in the bedroom, TV-DVD, robes etc. Guests have a choice of a Dutch style breakfast in the intimacy of their room or a traditional, gourmet hot breakfast in the dining room. Dutch and French spoken ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Point Of View Bed & Breakfast Sooke, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Point of View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.