We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lebanese food north of Montreal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Cedre

O Cedre
2323 route 117, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0, Canada
1 819 326 0110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Val David
Price range: $13 - $41
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ô Cèdre fine cuisine Libanese Restaurant.Come and enjoy the Mediterranean gastronomic experience and be seduced by the fine Lebanese cuisine with its vast choice of cold and hot mezzes like the hummus, tabbouleh, kebbe and falafel. And why not savor these refined delicacies with the traditional liquor, the Arak!For those of you with a sweet tooth, Ô Cèdre proposes a variety of Lebanese sweet treats like the maamoul, the baklawa and many others.The Ô Cèdre fine cuisine Libanaise restaurant offers its clients access to its beautiful terrace overlooking the gorgeous laurentian panoramic scenery. The Ô Cèdre terrace has quickly become a destination for those of you who like to marry fine dining with refinement and beauty of the open air.What better than to have lunch under sun, or dine under the stars!
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lebanese food north of Montreal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best Lebanese food in the Laurentien (N of Montreal) Came here while driving on the rt 117N discovered by accident, been going since. Food is great with the freshest ingredients.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good choice for a casual meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In an area of the Laurentians not known for it's food, this is a very good choice for a casual meal with family or friends. The welcome was warm and the service by wait staff, friendly and with a smile. The restaurant was quite busy the night we were there and we took this to be a good sign. Several of the tables seemed to be filled with regulars. The food was delicious. We had the fatouche salad, grilled shrimp and the grilled chicken. The grilled chicken was fantastic and I would go back just for that alone. For the price, the shrimp were not the biggest, but they were perfectly grilled and tasty. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Entrees were promising (especially the fried cheese rolls) but unfortunately the falafel was mediocre...especially for the price. They were served with rice and no sauce or salad or anything. Service was great though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inconsistent service, but back for the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been to this restaurant 3 times since it opened.

Everytime we were served by the owner, the service was impeccable and he was trying to make us feel as if we were welcomed into his home. However, the service provided by some waitresses was poor. One ignored us for 45 minutes before bringing water. She wouldn't accommodate us for table of 7 for a special birthday even though there was plenty of space. The owner came and saved the day. We had to shout our orders from one end of the table to the other one, instead of her coming closer to get it.

The reason I keep coming back is for the taste. The only good libanese restaurant I know in the surroundings. The portions are well worth the price. The tartar is good, but I really enjoy the shish kebab and kafta kebab plates. The garlic sauce tastes very strong: always make sure your loved-one shares some with you! You should definitely end your meal with a lebanese coffee, if you like your coffee strong.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just had dinner here with my family. The food is truly exquisite! Made by the owner's chef wife and served today by the gracious owner himself, the buttery hummus, fluffy on the inside but crispy on the outside falafel, and smoked just right eggplant made for an excellent Lebanese meal. Unlike many versions I have had elsewhere the grilled meats were filled with flavor, juicy on the inside, and charred to perfection on the outside. I cannot state this any other way. This is one of the best restaurants for Lebanese or MiddleEastern type foods in the NorthEast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Cedre also viewed

 

Been to O Cedre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Cedre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.