We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we needed was Hiedi and it would been Swiss Miss to a T” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets Le Village Suisse

Save Saved
You added Chalets Le Village Suisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalets Le Village Suisse
1175 Rue de la Spainiere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All we needed was Hiedi and it would been Swiss Miss to a T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

cute little cottages adjacent to a great park for hiking and rock climbing and the Petit Train du Nord linear park for biking or running. The cottages are equipped with kitchen amenities that allow you to cook during your stay, on site laundry is a plus as well as the free wifi access. There is a magical swiss quality which allows you to truly feel like you are getting away from it all. They have a pool, hot tub, fire pit, fire place, grills on the decks, dvds and games available to borrow, all that adds up to make the stay here ideal. The staff are available if you need them but pretty much stay out of your way. I enjoyed my morning visits with their dog Sasha who helped me miss my dogs a little less - I should note they do allow dogs for an additional fee. We liked it so much here we added a day to our stay. We found when we arrived we did not want to leave.The village of Val David is quaint with a grocery store, little bistros, rental services such as bike, ski, canoe etc. I think any family or outdoor enthusiast would find this rental location and town a much more enjoyable and affordable alternative to Mont Tremblant and if we should ever venture up from Miami again I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Lara,

Thanks for your wonderful review of your visit. It was really nice to meet you and I hope that we (and our dog!) can welcome you back on a future trip to our area. Next time to enjoy the winter wonderland perhaps? ;-)

Regards,
Diana Garroway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    10
    1
    6
See reviews for
61
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a great stay at Chalets Le Village Suisse. The location was perfect, just off the trail, and an easy walk to town. The Chalets were rather rustic and as mentioned by other reviews, in need of new windows and could use an upgrade to some of the fixtures. That said, it had a lot of charm. It's a cabin feel. A bit like luxury camping (cable televisions, nice bedding, fridge, all the amenities of a house, etc.) or staying at an old lake house that's well loved. The pools were nice. They aren't fancy, but there was something for everyone. We also had a great campfire to make s'mores. The best part of the stay was the owner, Diane. She literally helped us with every request, printing maps, answering calls, delivering towels, bread, and giving us the ins and outs of Val-David. Her shop is charming and worth a visit. There was the best selection of unique children's toys I've ever seen. We're considering returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a lovely cottage in the Laurentides. Rooms were spacious enough and we had ample kitchenware for our stay. The pool and hot tub were lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed the touring the lake with the pedal boats. That being said, on our last night, I was ready to leave, even at 11pm after discovering two giant spiders hanging out in our rooms. The windows are in dire need of an upgrade as it lets in all sizes of spiders and is filled with spider webs. Also, the ceiling fans, light fixtures and are home to webs. Just gross and unsafe with little ones crawling around or sleeping in the mezzanine. If they changed the windows, gave a thorough cleaning job and upgraded the furniture this would be the ideal place for a family getaway up north. Oh... Could you also please clean the kiddie pool and ensure all light fixtures work? I would also add to change the stairs leading to the mezzanine as it is unsafe for both adults and kids.

Room Tip: Choose the renovated lakefront chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our chalets and had time to profit from our on-site activities. Regarding the spiders – given we are in the woods, we do our very best to keep the critters that live all around us out of our chalets. In summer with the doors open and the in-and-out, it is a challenge. The windows (yes- difficult to clean, but functional) are also fully removed & cleaned each spring and fall. After your comments – and those of other guests from the same week, we have had the chalets exterminated out of our usual maintenance schedule. The children’s pool is cleaned twice per day, but yes – we will look into increasing the frequency during our high season. Thanks again for your suggestions and comments. It is our goal to provide our customers with a perfect cottage experience and all suggestions are of help. Also - Le Davos and Le Zermatt have new windows and the others are on our list to be replaced in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location for a large group - we had 2 cabins next to eachother with a great greenspace in front and a great pool that the kids loved. Great location too - close to village and hiking and biking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our 28th anniversary at Le Village Suisse. We were not disappointed. The cozy chalet, the fireplace with complimentary wood, the barbecue on the porch and the kitchen equipped with all the basics needed, made our stay terrific!!! Being able to truly relax for a couple of days was wonderful. The fresh bread delivered to your chalet was great!!! I would highly recommend this for anyone needing to get away and relax. Val David is a perfect getaway and Le Village Suisse is the perfect place to stay. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was able to enjoy a two day get-away here with my husband, children and parents and we were all very comfotable and extremly pleased with our days spent together. Site was clean and welcoming, hottub was awesome at 10 pm with my teen daughters... I'd go back again tomorrow, happily. Fresh bread was also very enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable, pleasant and comfortable, hosts are very helpful and welcoming. Great location. Close to village center and nature hikes. Loved the fact we could rent games from the shop. "hot tub" was a bit dissapoiting. Room was Cozy. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalets Le Village Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Le Village Suisse

Address: 1175 Rue de la Spainiere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Val David
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Val David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curl up next to the fireplace with your family in a cozy swiss-style chalet. Ski from your door onto 130km of perfectly groomed cross-country ski trails or take off with your dog to explore the snowshoeing trails and beautiful lookouts. Like to cook? Your chalet is equipped with everything you need. Or enjoy one of the amazing french restaurants that are in easy walking distance. On site, enjoy our full service resort including outdoor hot tub (year-round), swimming pools (summer only), lakefront, free peddle boats (summer) and housekeeping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chalets Le Village Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Le Village Suisse Val David, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets Le Village Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.