We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Val David” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets Le Village Suisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalets Le Village Suisse to your Saves list
Chalets Le Village Suisse
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   1175 Rue de la Spainiere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Val David”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for six nights in a chalet in Le Village Suisse.
This was our second time and we enjoyed it very much.
The description of the chalets on the website is thorough and accurate.
The owners and staff are friendly and helpful.
The location is terrific - walk to Le Parc Dufresne for xc skiing, 5 minute drive to the main village of Val David.
Fresh bread is dropped off every few days - delicious.
Having a working fireplace is a wonderful addition.
The best thing for us is that it is very easy to feel at home in these chalets.
We are looking forward to returning next winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    56
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
75
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Third time going during March break In Val-David, nice little village. We like it. Well kept chalets with a great outdoor hottub after a day of skiing....Great skiing nearby, Mont-Blanc, St-Sauveur, Olympia and obviously Mont-Tremblant. Cross-country skiing, snow shoe and snowmobiling. Just the way winter should be enjoyed. Very reasonable price also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We absolutely loved the chalet... It was exactly what we imagined and more! Very charming ! The central stone fireplace is gorgeous and very romantic...
The Swiss Fondue from S.O.S Fondue was a perfect combination in front of the fire after a day at the Scandinavian Spa, La Source (Rawdon).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A very nice retreat within walking distance of Main Street, cross country and snowshoe trails, park and petit train du nord.

Chalets are older and not large but quaint, well kept, well appointed and roomy enough for a family with children. Furnished in true chalet style. with an outdoor veranda and BBQ. If cooking indoors, kitchen is a one person place but equipped. Fireplace worked very well.

Chalets off the main road are preferable ..only one or two face the main road,others are secluded and surround an outdoor hot tub and pool in the centre. The hot tub in winter was very pleasant .

Parking was close to chalets and allowed for more than one car.

The owners are friendly, very helpful and have added some nice touches to a personalized service; free access to videos and games, one free box of fire logs, free fresh bakery bread delivered several times a week, passes to park and trails included.

Cozy and warm for people who savour the Laurentians and their unique character.

We booked using a special rate offer and the value for our money was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found these chalets when searching for somewhere pet friendly. The chalet we stayed in was clean, cozy and had everything we needed. The owner (Diana) was great - very friendly and accomodating. The kids loved the game store. It was nice to have a hot tub and heated pool. The loft was neat but the stairs were quite steep so we were hesitant to have young kids sleep up there. The only downfall was that the Wifi wasn't reliable. Overall good value and we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked this on recommendation and weren't disappointed. The chalets are warm and have everything you need for a self catering family holiday with access to rental toys, books and DVDs as well as laundry facilities. The pool and hot tub are within sight of the chalet and it was nice to have an campfire too. The heated pool was warm enough for a baby to enjoy too.

Most of all the helpfulness of the owners and their staff. As an example, during a big electrical storm when the power suddenly went out one of the staff braved the lashing rain to bring us EXTRA candles in case we needed some more - there were already some there (and matches) we had found as well as a torch.

Travelling from abroad with a small baby it was great to find the cot, stair gate and high chair all in place just as requested and ready to put a sleepy baby straight to bed. Everything was clean and fresh on arrival.

Delicious bread was delivered every few days and there are all the shops you need in the town 10 mins walk away as well as galleries, cafes and bike hire.

The free passes to the Regional Park which is 5 minutes walk away were great and we had some beautiful walks there with well signposted routes and a guide on hand at the gate to advise what route might suit us best for the time we had.

The P'tit Train Du Nord is great with miles to cycle car free and beautiful views of lakes, forests and rushing rivers. On a rainy day we visited Montebello and fed deer and moose through the car windows and there are lots of other small towns nearby to explore as well as other parks and lakes.

We had a really relaxing break as our first family holiday with baby in tow and would love to come back. Thank you Village Suisse! Sarah, Stephen and Benjamin, Winchester, U.K.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you found this by selecting "water front" criteria in your research, be advised that only one of the many chalets is actually waterfront (The Zermatt). The other ones are located on the other side of the street from where the water is actually, and are in circle, facing the pool, the fireplace and the spa (which are all shared together with the other chalets). If most of them have no waterview at all, one or two might have a partial view. The overall look of the chalet is very swiss-rustic, which is what we were looking for, but the location is overall disapointing, mostly because we had selected "water-front" in the research criterias and that the pictures (very closed-up to the chalets) couldn't really indicate how they where they were located in relation to the water. Probably that winter renters won't mind, but maybe summer and fall renters will reconsider their choice. And be prepared for chalet that are very close to the streets and from each others.

But if you choose this rental knowing all that, you won't be disapointed. People owning the place are very frindly and will be glad to tell you about the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalets Le Village Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Le Village Suisse

Address: 1175 Rue de la Spainiere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Val David
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Val David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Le Village Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curl up next to the fireplace with your family in a cozy swiss-style chalet. Ski from your door onto 130km of perfectly groomed cross-country ski trails or take off with your dog to explore the snowshoeing trails and beautiful lookouts. Like to cook? Your chalet is equipped with everything you need. Or enjoy one of the amazing french restaurants that are in easy walking distance. On site, enjoy our full service resort including outdoor hot tub (year-round), swimming pools (summer only), lakefront, free peddle boats (summer) and housekeeping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Chalets Le Village Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Le Village Suisse Val David, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets Le Village Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.