We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Isle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Isle Motel to your Saves list
Mystic Isle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   153 Hwy 17 South, Wawa, Ontario P0S1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very clean, quiet and comfortable room.
Beautifully modernized and renovated bathroom.
I highly recommend this motel.
I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
52
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Ontario
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I recently overnighted at the Mystic Isle. The place is very old but was immaculately clean and once our room warmed up, everything worked with the exception of the wireless internet. Our room seems to be too far away from the source of the wireless to work. The real problem with it's location is that none of the 3 restaurants which are located nearby was open. It was necessary for drive approximately 4 miles into the town of Wawa to get something to eat. Next time we are passing through Wawa we will stay at one of the downtown motels and avoid the Mystic Isle.

Room Tip: Check to see if the nearby restaurants are open before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

After traveling for 11 hours with our 2 children, we pulled into this motel at 8pm. Checked in quickly and was given room #10. The room was very clean and cozy. The water was instantly hot, and we all had showers with no loss of water pressure or hot water. I was happy to see a little sitting area for the kids to eat, as well as a fridge for drinks. We did not hear the highway, as this motel is up on the hill. Wifi worked well. Overall this was a great little place to rest after a long day on the road. We left too early to say Thank You! We will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timmins
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed on the Thanksgiving weekend 2011. This is a clean and comfortable motel. This is an older strip motel style but had modern upgrades. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I picked this stopover on a whim on a cold, snowy night....obviously off-season. The room was clean comfortable. Free movies, extensive cable, good quality furnishings and charming details like nice prints on the wall, one "log" wall. The only imperfections were that the complimentary internet signal did not work for my MacBook laptop, and the bathtub and sink - both spacious and clean, did not seal to hold a bathtub/ basin of water. I could have a bath but it was slowly draining as I was in it, and I had to use the hot water tap @ it's highest to get a warm tub. It was fine for a morning shower, though. All in all, the pros definitely outweighed the cons, and a happy choice. Hair dryer, soap, shampoo, coffee included, btw.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed at Mystic Isle while driving across Canada in late October. The motel was up on a hill overlooking the highway and Lake Superior. Despite the proximity to the highway, it was very quiet.

Rooms were really clean. Bed was comfortable. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and polite. In the morning when we were getting ready to leave he stopped by to ask if everything had been to our liking.

This is rated as a 2-star motel. But the service and comfort is much more. But remember, it is a roadside motel in Northern Ontario. Still, it was excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elora
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Was looking for a clean,quiet place on highway it was perfect.owner was very friendly and across the road and i mean across the road! a nice resturant,good food reasonable price..nice after a 12 hour drive from elora ont. first night on route to etown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Isle Motel

Address: 153 Hwy 17 South, Wawa, Ontario P0S1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mystic Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Isle Motel - Wawa's nicest rooms and premier accommodations situated close to Lake Superior beaches , waterfalls , hiking trails & the golf course . The snowmobile trail goes right through our parking lot.We're nestled on a hilltop in a quiet birch grove with a beautiful view of Lake Superior & rugged Michipicoten Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mystic Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Isle Hotel
Mystic Isle Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Isle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.