We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa
1014 Hwy 17 N | PO Box 1150, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Wawa
Whistler, Canada
1 review
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stumbled on it by accident and couldn't believe our luck. Easily the nicest surprise of a motel we've ever stayed in. I wish I was traveling through Wawa more often, I'd stay here every time! Clean, well thought-out, they obviously take a lot of pride in their lodging, and their well-earned Travelers' Choice award! Breakfast is great, the staff are awesome, and all the little extras put this quiet gem at the top of my favourite places I've slept. To top it off the, sun rises right outside your door. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
62
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the thick, soft towels to the gorgeous sunrises.
John and Maureen are helpful, caring and accomodating. Breakfast is an excellent selection of various foods with fresh coffee, a huge assortment of juices and breads and a pleasant room to eat it in. Check out time is 1.00pm which really helps because all the fresh air in Wawa tires you out. Travelling a little to get to Wawa is expected, that is why it is so pleasant because it is out of town a little ways, and quiet.
The little extra touches in the rooms adds to the comfort, and eases the stress of the travelling. We felt like we were welcome, and we were very comfortable. Forget all the other motels in the area, this is only one to stay in when passing through.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This has to be one of the hidden gems in the area.Mo & John are the greatest.The rooms,the breakfast,the extras,the whole experience,is not to be missed.Wonderful place to stay & relax.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Another place that I would never have found if it hadn't been for TA - and they are very proud of their #1 position in Wawa. Extremely quirky motel room with everything you could possibly need for an overnight stay and funny pictures and quotes. Mo, the woman who owns it, was incredibly helpful and helped us pick out a restaurant for the evening. The main problem is the fact that it's about 8kms from Wawa itself and nowhere near a decent diner so we had to drive some to get an evening meal. Also, being located right on the highway the traffic noise is a bit of a problem - though they helfully provide earplugs. They make a feature of their breakfasts and i expected something special - it isn't.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Clean, comfortable, and inexpensive. A mom & pop motel of the first order. Breakfast is part of the deal. The owners show good humor and whimsy in their decorative touches. A really nice find.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were so impressed with the motel. The owners thought of everything, from nail file, to q-tips and even ear plugs. The motel is situated on the highway, so it is a little noisy. Just wear the ear plugs and your fine. Breakfast was excellent, they had a variety of juices, cereals hot and cold. Several types of bread and muffins and fruit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

145 miles (240 km) from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario on Trans-Canada Highway-17 is this really neat seasonal motel, the Northern Lights. As other visitors have commented the motel's owners, Mo & John, provide a genuine warm welcome for their guests. It may at first look like a retro Route-66 motel but it's actually very unique and hip. The Northern Light's rooms are contemporary, comfortable and spacious with WiFi, satellite television and even rubber ducks in the bathtub. Each room has been designed with a sense of humor. For larger groups they have a couple of chalets available near the motel.

Wawa abounds with natural scenic beauty, beaches and waterfalls. The 145 mile westerly drive from Sault Ste. Marie is along the north shore of Lake Superior with rolling highway elevations that provide spectacular vistas of Lake Superior's coves, bays, streams, inland lakes and waterfalls. The drive is not unlike California coastal Highway-1 from Monterey to Cambria with Lake Superior substituting for the Pacific, one of central North America's most scenic highways. Surprisingly the geography of the north coast of Lake Superior is nearly completely different from that of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. The Trans-Canada Highway's maintenance is excellent. Arriving at the Wawa plateau there's a gorgeous view over the lake, forests and Highway-17. Wawa is a mining community with a population of about 3,700, has several cafes and restaurants with Young's General Store a must see. The Northern Lights Motel is about 5 miles (9 km) west of Wawa directly on Highway-17. The rates are reasonable given the quality of services provided. I've stayed at the Northern Lights before and it's become a favorite I've recommended to others. They're open from late Spring until the end of October when the heavy snow arrives. Driving the highway at night isn't recommended because of moose sharing the roadway. Other than that, Wawa and the Northern Lights Motel provide visitors with a really great travel experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa

Address: 1014 Hwy 17 N | PO Box 1150, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013 & 2012, Travelers' Choice Award 2010, Fabulous Rooms overflowing with amenities. HD TV's with Premium HD Satellite Package - Free Movie Channels. Wawa's only Hotel/Motel offering Free Breakfast 6 am till 10 am. Two large 3 Bedroom Chalets, newly renovated in 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Motel And Breakfast
Northern Lights Hotel Wawa
Northern Lights Hotel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Northern Lights Motel & Breakfast Wawa to your Saves list