We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Ontario Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Save
You added Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa to your Saves list
1014 Highway 17 | PO Box 1150, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Northern Ontario Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Only spent one night on our way to Atikokan further north and were pleasantly surprised. Maureen is a lovely gal - hard worker and the place shows it. We did not get a chance to meet John, but his wife made up for it. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable and the whimsy all about - jokes tacked everywhere and handy things very available. Breakfast was included and was on a par with places like the Holiday Inn Express only missing scrambled eggs and sausages, but everything else was available - fresh and good. Would highly recommend this little motel if you're traveling in the Ontario north - it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Our room had 3 double beds - good for a traveling family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    37
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
64
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Northern Lights was a great stop over. Stayed 2 nights and loved it. Maureen and John are great. Maureen was great with giving directions and suggestions of what to see and take pictures of. Rooms were very good, clan and very well maintained. If you are looking for a 5 star Toronto or Chicago Hotel, you are not going to get it, you’re in Wawa! Embrace the small parts of America (Yes those of us from the US, don’t understand, all the counties in North, South and Central America are America). While you might not get that 5 Star hotel, you get above 5 star service from John & Maureen.

Only negative, is as a strict Apple user their dlink router does not the Apples, while those with PC seem to have a connection the Apple products would connect but nothing more. No data flow. But that was OK, we would just go to Tim Horton’s, and have a Donut and free WiFi

I would highly recommend staying here. And go and see all the falls (High & Silver), and the beaches. Sandy beach was great for Swimming, but watching the sunset at Government Dock Beach, with just my wife and I on the whole beach (and my Jeep that you could drive right on the beach). You can see my reviews on them on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very charming, welcoming, clean & tidy. The owner put a great deal of thought into many details to take care of the guests. Extra creature comforts added in the rooms - bandages, hair bands, rubber duckie, etc. Lots of humour everywhere. Breakfast was delicious & nicely laid out. We really appreciate the owner for all the special care he put into him small highway-side motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Northern Lights Motel whilst traveling on the 17 across the county. This motel is cute, I assume children and families would love it. The sound of the highway outside did not phase us a bit. The breakfast is your typical carb heaven, a nice option for families but no meat etc. It might sound petty, but I found this annoying considering the value placed on the breakfast. Its a great thought, personally I just cannot eat the foods served. The cost is a little much if you cannot eat the breakfast (go to town for breakfast if you don't eat at the motel, the next roadside stop is quite far, we learned this the hard way).

We really enjoyed our stay here, but the facts etc. on the back of the bathroom door were a little much. The efforts to make you feel at home while staying here are endless...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is difficult to start this review as they do so much right. From check in to check out they make you feel so welcome. The rooms are so clean and well kept that you feel comfortable the minute you walk into your room. What was the biggest surprise is all the little extras in the room. I could describe all the extras but that would take away from the joy you will get from investigating every part of the room. We stayed here twice this summer, once on the way to Manitoba and once on the way back home. My family and I would recommend Northern Lights to everyone passing thru northern Ontario

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and daughter and I stayed here the night of Aug 23/12. Mo greeted us with a warm smile and when she found out that the road to Sandy Beach was closed she immediately gave us a map with an alternate route. Thanks Mo, that beach was just what we needed! As for the motel, it's charming. Squeaky clean, comfy beds, plenty of towels, a fridge if you need it (we didn't). Breakfast is a bit on the "carby" side, but for an inclusive, it's fine. Lovely blueberry muffins. We really appreciated the frosty mugs and ice that were available in the office. We would definitely stay here again, and do not hesitate to recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is located right on the highway which worried me but it was very quiet. service was superb. owners provided information on where to eat (menus were in the room) and what to do. Room was lovely. It has a lot of charm. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

Address: 1014 Highway 17 | PO Box 1150, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Motel & Chalets. Fabulous Rooms overflowing with amenities. Free Wifi, Premium HD Satellite with Free Movie Channels, Free HBO, Commercial Free Music & more. Chalets (3 Bedrooms) and Cottage (2 Bedrooms), with wrap around decks, BBQs & Propane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Motel And Breakfast
Northern Lights Hotel Wawa
Northern Lights Hotel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.