We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit a moose on the highway, hotel helped us out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bristol Motel
Save
You added Bristol Motel to your Saves list
170 Mission Road, Hwy. 101, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hit a moose on the highway, hotel helped us out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We hit a moose outside Wawa and were able to get a room at the Bristol. Best value on our whole trip, the manager even gave us each a beer after seeing the damage to our vehicle. He was very helpful, let us know about the greyhound and even offered to drive us where we needed to go. Room was great! 3 Beds for $85! Best value weve had on our whole trip. Highly recommend this place, managed by good people!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
6
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro Oh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My son and I stayed here June 4th, 2010. We found room 111 very nice and comfortable. The room actually had 2 sleeping areas separated by the bath. Everyone was very friendly on check in and out. Room very clean and the shower had fantastic water pressure . Good muffins and coffee in the lobby next morning. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Beach, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I am part of a group of Gold Wing motorcycle riders (25 couples) who ride to Wawa every year and stay at the Bristol Motel. We have been doing this for quite a few years. The hospitality is awesome, the rooms are clean and comfortable. If they weren't we certainly wouldn't return every year. The motel is situated close to everything in town - restaurants, gas stations and the grocery store. I would certainly recommend them to anyone traveling in the Wawa area.

Ted Lumley

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I travelled to Wawa on business and was in the Bristol Motel for 2 nights, though I'd have stayed somewhere else if I'd been able to. The hallways stank of stale alcohol and smoke, and the room I stayed in was very stuffy and musty. The impressive-looking air conditioning device didn't work at all, and there was no ventilation system for the bathroom. I suspect the bowed ceiling in the bathroom is probably filled with mould. In addition, the shower-head sprayed water in a very uncomfortable, even painful manner. At night, the fluorescent green lightbulbs placed above each room's window make it quite difficult to get to sleep at night. The window-shades really don't do a good job of blocking it out, and I didn't want them closed fully to allow for what little air exchange I could get through the very small window opening.

I might have let all this slip, seeing as we were way up north and none of us expected to be staying at something like the Royal York. However, after a review arrived online by one of our group (bear_km), a number of us were confronted by one of the owners who demanded to know if we knew who had written it; he was quite rude. Then upon checking out of my room, I was mistaken for one of the people in our group who had been having breathing problems in their room and had to go across the street to a better-maintained motel. When I was about to hand in my keys, I was verbally abused by the woman at the desk and accused of lying about my ailment. When she finally realized that she was mistaken, she allowed me to hand in my key and continued to deal with me in a very terse manner without any apology.

If this is the only place in town that has space available, you might try driving in from the next town over. This is a poorly maintained and badly decorated motel run by a couple who need a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I recently stayed at the Bristol Motel and there were several problems. Firstly, two colleagues of mine, upon entering the building and spending a few minutes there had problems breathing, and one had an asthma attack. When the problems persisted for them, and when it was clear that the air in the motel was the cause, they asked the owner for a refund which was refused. They were accused of being liars and they relocated to another motel. The rest of us in the group stayed there. Some of the other problems included: a hole in the ceiling directly above one of the beds that was mildewy and mouldy, a fluorescent green light that shone rather unpleasantly through the bedroom windows at night, limited ventilation in the rooms, peeling walls, etc. Although there were a few nice gestures (free muffins and coffee every morning), the owners were rude to more than one of my colleagues, and were not professional. The wireless connection was rather dismal, and the business centre included one working computer with slow internet. I would never recommend this place to anyone going to Wawa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Myself and a colleague just checked into the Bristol and I immediately had breathing problems and my friend had a full blown athsma attack, triggered by mildew and particulate left in the air from sandblasting. After leaving the hospital, the proprietor wouldn't refund us our rooms. She also called me a liar.

I would avoid the Bristol, but both the Sportsmen and the Best Northern are worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmk123, Manager at Bristol Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
I am sorry that the Bristol Motel did not have an elevator for you and that your problems arose when you had to walk up the stairs. You moved to my neighbour's motel but you continued to revisit my motel that evening and the next morning, with no further "attacks". Every story has two sides. Also I would not give you a refund as the company paid for your room with their group which you were not even a member. Northern Ontario people appreciate what we have, travelling in the north many things are not available due to where we live. Some people are very hard to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Have stayed here many times love it. This visit was not one I did not want to have to take as it was for a funeral. Under the circumstances would not of wanted to be anywhere else but the Bristol. The motel staff we excellent in making sure I was comfortable and available if needed whether it was for an extra pillow to just letting me tell stories about my falling friend. The motel was near the funeral home, walking distance which was wonderful as it was allowing me time for some well needed air in between getting to and from the funeral. Afterward they opened up the "TV room and conference room with large table" for myself, family and friends to all get together and console one another with stories or our dear loved one. Food trays were also brought in for us to enjoy. Hoping next visit is on a happier note.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmk123, manager at Bristol Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2010
we are very happy to have accommodated you and hope your next visit is for a happy time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Motel

Address: 170 Mission Road, Hwy. 101, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bristol Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.