We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Northern Motel and Restaurant

Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Highway17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
705.856.7302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We passed Wawa again on our vacation and stopped by The Best Northern for dinner: it was a Wednesday night, after 7 pm and we were hungry. And the restaurant was full! I guess many others figured this place is worth the wait, the dinner did not disappoint. I hope their success continues, soon they will have to hire more staff?! There were people arriving still after 8pm though one would think people have dinner early in this part of the world. The Hungarian potato pancakes, bison burger, beef roll ups were excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Whenever we visit Canada, we like to try to eat local Canadian food, and were very surprised to discover this eclectic restaurant serving all kinds of cuisines, including Polish recipes, in Wawa.

Intrigued by the wide-ranging menu, we decided to choose some of the Polish specialities for a change and had the pierogies and beef rolls. These were excellent and so filling that we shouldn't really have had any dessert afterwards, but we couldn't resist. My husband had the apple crisp with ice cream, which was beautifully cooked and delicious. My dessert was an absolute tour de force: a melt-in-the-mouth crêpe filled with soft cheese and accompanies by mixed fresh berries, fruit coulis, chocolate sauce and ice cream. It was one of the most delectable dishes I've ever eaten.

The service was very good and prices were excellent for the quality of food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delectable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The ad that we saw promoting Polish food gave us no idea how absolutely wonderful our dining experience would be! The owners are both waiter and chef and manage the motel and cottages as well. We had beautiful music via a dvd while we dined on amazing cuisine. House wine, white, from Chile, was perfect. Pireogies were mouthwatering. Ethnic beef rolls and hunter's stew were beyond expectations. Pork chops were prepared to perfection. House salad is wonderful. Don't miss the pavlov dessert or crepes. The dining room overlooks a beautiful window into the natural surroundings. You can't go wrong in making this a dining destination.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only place to eat in Wawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was my second visit to Best Northern for dinner. Both dinners were fantastic. I highly recommend the cheese perogies & the cheese crepes. Service is always fast and very friendly. This is the only restaurant that I return to when I'm passing through the wawa area. The prices are also very resonable. Well worth the stop!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Fine Dining Dinner Experience In Wawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Three of us ordered different dinner entres and all of us were happy. The bill was about $100, including 3 glasses of wine and a shared dessert. Nice European touch with tangy shredded beets on the side, and the breaded porkchop with mushroom sauce dish had delicious cabbage along with homemade mashed potatoes. The stuffed chicken that came with alfredo pasta was moist and tasty. The pork tenderloin was indeed "tender", but that diner would have liked side vegetables that were not al dente. The woodsy view through the dining room window is relaxing, and we spent 3 hours. The only drawback might be somewhat slow service, but we were in no hurry, and it was a Friday night. The people (owners) doing the serving were wonderfully friendly. We will return for other special occasions, now that we know of the place!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Northern Motel and Restaurant also viewed

Wawa, Northeastern Ontario
Wawa, Northeastern Ontario
 
Wawa, Northeastern Ontario
Wawa, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Best Northern Motel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Northern Motel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.