We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality, high price, awful beds.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wawa Motor Inn

The Wawa Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wawa Motor Inn
Save
You added The Wawa Motor Inn to your Saves list
118 Mission Road | PO Box 1190, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Wawa B&B and Inns
Kingston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Low quality, high price, awful beds.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Overlooks sewage lagoon, and cabin constantly smelled of sulpher and sewage. No smoke free cabins available, so it also smelled of cigarette. No tvs in bedrooms. Beds are horrible....I've had befter sleeps camping in a tent. Much better choices elsewhere....like the back seat of your car!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
21
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a great stay here Canada Day weekend. Our room was in the lower "log" building and we loved it. Clean and fresh - fridge was a nice touch and so was the back door out onto the little veranda with a view of the river & golf course below. The staff took very good care of us and we had nice meals in the dining room. Would definitely be a repeat guest if I was back in town and we felt we got great value for the $ here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I should have checked tripadvisor prior to booking this motel which was recommended to me by someone who lived there. I was told it had a great restaurant and was a nice place to stay. The first indication that I would need to lower my standards was at the check-in. Even though the front desk staff was pleasant, the time it took to process my credit card payment and get my room key was unbelievably long. There were 4 people waiting to go through the same process after me.

The restaurant service was a little slow. The food presentation, despite not looking all that attractive, was pretty good.

Our first night there was quiet as long as the fan was on to act as white noise. The rooms were clean. It was a standard type of room one would find when staying in a small town. The next day, after returning back to my room from work at 4, I found the room was still not cleaned. I tried to call the front desk but there was no answer. I walked to the front desk to inquire as to the room cleaning and there was a line up of 5 people waiting to get taken care of, so I walked back and tried calling again. The lady said I could walk back to the front and get some clean glasses....other than that, our rooms did not get any service.

That night we intentionally went elsewhere for dinner to a fantastic restaurant 5kms away that served home-made Polish dishes as well as other specialties called The Great Northern. There is also a motel affiliated with that restaurant....so, next time that's where I'll stay.

Room Tip: stay in a room not facing the road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sure the place does have a nice size and has a Tim Hortons nearby....don't leave your stuff unattended in the rooms the managers go through the rooms and your stuff when your out of the motel. And they will dictate strongely to you what you will do in the motel during your stay, like eat at the most expensive restaurant in wawa(motel restaurant).

Room Tip: I couldn't tell you...my trust has gone way down for motels, might get a camper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was one of the more expensive motels I stayed in but the quality wasn't great. The staff wasn't particularly friendly and blamed the cable company for poor TV reception. I think one could do better elsewhere. Trucks leaving early were a bit noisy. It is close to Tim Hortons and the highway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last 6 years. It has been the same service, quality and value each time. It is a reliable option with well kept rooms, pleasant staff, an accessible location and a bar/restaurant on site that is open late enough that you can still get a meal if you arrive after 7 or 8pm.

I will continue to stay here, not because it's my favourite hotel, or has the best beds but because I know exactly what I am getting and that is decent quality for a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We pulled up at 10pm and there was availability for the night, with the storm that has happening there was limited places to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room is large and homely. A bit pricey for a late night stopover but limited choice due to the storms, interior is neat and tidy though a little dated but rooms are clean and well heated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wawa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wawa Motor Inn

Address: 118 Mission Road | PO Box 1190, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wawa
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
The Wawa Motor Hotel Wawa
The Wawa Motor Inn Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wawa Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.