We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque rooms and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wawa Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wawa Motor Inn
Save
You added The Wawa Motor Inn to your Saves list
118 Mission Road | PO Box 1190, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Wawa B&B and Inns
Grand Blanc, Mi
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Picturesque rooms and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in the Wawa Motor Inn a few days before Labor Day 2012 and were lucky to be able to get a room. We were in the log-cabin appearing building behind (and down the hill from) the main hotel building and were we happily surprised! The interior of the room was completely log walls and ceiling---it was beautiful and felt like we were in a log cabin in the woods somewhere. Outside the back door (yes, there was a front and back door) was a steep hillside and a beautiful view of the woodsy lake down below). Overall the motel was clean, reasonably priced and a good place to spend a night. There isn't much good to choose from regarding motels in the area, but this is a good one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
23
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I travel from Sudbury to Winnipeg several times a year to visit family and friends. On many occasions we stop at the Wawa Moter Inn. This Inn is unique in that it has regular rooms but also has rustic rooms and cabins at the lower end of the site. We always enjoy staying in the rustic rooms (log). We recently looked at a cabin (chalet), thinking we would treat ourselves. way too big. Great for two or three couples travelling through. fireplaces and large rooms. The rustic rooms are great size, very clean. Restaurant has good food, and has a great bar. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Rates are very reasonable considering what you get.

Room Tip: Choose the log room section as it is off the road, and will make you feel like you are staying in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this motel when we were first married 41 years ago. We were surprised to find it looking almost exactly as it did then. It has been renovated without losing its original appeal. It was clean, comfortable, and fresh looking for being around for so many years. We would recommend it to anyone traveling through Wawa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel room is average, clean enough but noisy. The hotel is always busy and management does not seem to do much when guests complain about noise. It is hard to get a good nights sleep when you have to work the next day. On the upside, the restaurant there is good and affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband & I drive across Canada once a year. The Wawa Motor Inn is
our first nights stop driving from Peterborough, Ontario travelling on our way to Calgary, Alberta. The hotel has clean rooms and reasonable prices. Staff are friendly and food is good. Pets are also accepted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in the Log Village in the back. Our room was lined with split logs, giving it a very cozy, quaint atmosphere. I liked that the room had a back door which let us get a good breeze in it. The room was clean, but it was certainly dated, which gave it its charm. Water pressure was very high (which I loved!) but the water temperature was very touchy. The faucet on the sink was not firmly attached to the sink and moved around every time you turned the handle. WiFi was slow, but reliable. Staff was very friendly. I was disappointed that breakfast wasn't included.

I did feel the room was overpriced for what we got (and didn't get...breakfast), particularly considering the place was not even half full. We came in late though, and with no 3G in town, I couldn't look up the TA reviews. It worked though.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a cheaper room than what they first offer you. This saved us $14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A buddy and I stayed overnight before flying to an outpost cabin on a fishing trip we lined up. The motel has a good restaurant and bar - both very large considering the area. The rooms were reasonably clean and accommodating. Since the Canadian dollar and the US dollar are on a par buying goods and services in Canada is more expensive than previous years. I love Canada and the people are nice but accommodations in smaller towns are a little more rustic and you have to expect to pay more. We could have stayed elsewhere but this looked like the best option.

Room Tip: Really no bad rooms since there's no scenic view out the windows that I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wawa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wawa Motor Inn

Address: 118 Mission Road | PO Box 1190, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wawa
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
The Wawa Motor Hotel Wawa
The Wawa Motor Inn Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wawa Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.