We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but the staff is really nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Motel

Lakeview Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Motel
Save
You added Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
28 Broadway Ave, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not great, but the staff is really nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Clearly the town if Wawa has seen better days and so has the Lakeview, but you will forget all that when you are greeted at either the front desk or in the bar. Just real nice, sincere people. Will return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The kids and I happened upon the town of Wawa on Canada's Thanksgiving. Nothing was open, the streets were barren. But proprietor Bonnie was at the front desk of the Lakeview, and welcomed us in for the night. We stayed for 2 nights. Clean and comfy room. Free wifi. Quiet surroundings. Nice to my kids. Friendly people everywhere we went. Several restaurants on the same road, within walking distance for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hope to find our way back again one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My room had one small open window with a fan(no AC) overlooking the back parking lot of the Bar, and the noise that goes with that. A wobbly and noisy ceiling fan. A toilet that took three flushes to clear. The drain in the shower did not drain properly and by the time I finished my shower the water was over my ankles. A Wifi connection that I could not get a signal for unless I went to the Bar. Oh! by the way, no phone. The first time in the forty or so years of staying in rooms all over that I can recall not having a phone. This proved to be a problem because unless you have the local area provider for your cell you are shut out. Strong signal but no service.The bar did have a pay phone. The walls were thin enough I could hear the guy in the next room belching and when his alarm went off at 5:00 am and again at 5:30 it sounded like it was under my very thin foam pillow. The only positives I found were that the room was very clean and the Bar was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rode from Hearst to Wawa and stayed at the Lakeview when the visitors center pointed out they had motorcycle lock ups.
It is an old style Hotel that seems to have been restored on the inside perhaps a little better than the outside might suggest. It was great value and they included the little bike garage (used for snowmobiles in winter) at no extra charge.
Our room was upstairs and nicely furnished in the old style. The bathroom was very clean and recently modernized with quality fixtures etc.
The bar was a good place to get some of the character of the place and meet the locals. The beer on tap was well priced but be aware that they don't have a kitchen.
There are several restaurants within easy walking distance (we ate a decent breakfast at the Embassy down the street).
There is a good view of the lake just across the street (hence the name).
We would stay there again and if you are looking for a place with a bit of character it is probably better than the strip type motels on the road into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at this place in Wawa (gotta love this place) on our motorcycle trip around Lake Superior. The visitor's center staff recommended this inn as they are motorcycle friendly which is an understatement! They have locked garages for the bikes at no extra charge and offered us the use of their hose to rinse off the bikes. The room we stayed in was just charming - had a B & B feel to it. The staff was friendly and accomodating. There are 2 bars, and we were warned before we checked in that it might get a little noisy since it was a Friday night - but we were not bothered at all. We were on the second floor. There was no AC and it was HOT while we were there - but the windows open wide and there is a ceiling fan and a window fan that kept us comfortable. The bathroom was huge. Our room was clean and nice. The inn is at the far end of the main street in Wawa and most everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The wife and I just finished a 1700 mile motorcycle ride around Lake Superior and chose to stay a night in Wawa, Ontario. Found this place on trip advisor and liked the reviews so I booked it. The reviews were right, this place is pretty cool. Check in was easy and the rooms were very clean. There is a bar on premise and on the weekends I guess they have a club that opens on Friday and Saturday nights downstairs (never checked it out). You are within walking distance of restaurants and if you do ride a motorcycle they do have individual lockable garages that keep the bike safe and dry. No air conditioning in the rooms but when I asked for a fan I had it in minutes. Great place in town with nice people running it, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The bar is average but if you are looking for a romantic night with a lover, then rent one of the 2 Jacuzzi rooms for a special treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 28 Broadway Ave, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury affordable rooms. Pub & Patio Bar including downstairs nightclub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.