We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Portions/Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Brown's Fried Chicken

Mary Brown's Fried Chicken
Trans Canada Hwy, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1W7, Canada
(709) 651-2020
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 35 Restaurants in Gander
Restaurant details
Newfoundland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small Portions/Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Mary Browns is supposed to be a fast food restaurant, however we waited 20 minutes for our meal and the restaurant wasn't even busy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't go for lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went to Mary Brown's in Gander on Sept. 20th while travelling with a colleque from out of town who had never had this chicken before. I was bragging that it was really moist....better than KFC. We went at 11:30 a.m. Maybe that was the mistake. It was the most dried out chicken I've ever eaten. They must cook it at around 10 and leave it under the lamps for several hours in preparation for the lunch hour crowd.. ....disgusting meal.
My recommendation is to go there after the main lunch hour crowd has gone through or else tell them that you'll wait for the latest batch out of the frier.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you're in a hurry....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Part of a very popular local chain; the food is certainly palatable but, well, it's more or less what you'd expect, from a chain restaurant known for its friend chicken/potatoes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful service....... NOT!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Went to Mary Browns today, ordered a 3 piece finger MEAL. When we arrived home there was no pop and we were over charged. I called and was talking to the manager and she said there was nothing she could do, if we wanted we could return what we had and she could give me the right order! On a day like today when all the school have been cancelled (snowstorm). I asked he if she can deliver and she said "no" because the cab driver wont return the old order...................... The old order is going to go in the garbage anyway!!!!! The manager was very rude, and did NOT want to help me as a customer, usually ur supose to help the customer, do what u can so u know they will come back, a little tip....................... ur not supose to do the opposite, just incase u didnt know!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good spot for a quick meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This fast food stop offered a reasonably good chicken dinner and was walking distance from the hotel. There are not many other places to eat in Gander so for us, this was a good choice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Brown's Fried Chicken also viewed

Gander, Newfoundland
 

Been to Mary Brown's Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Brown's Fried Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.