We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Bennett

Inn on Bennett
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Bennett
Save
You added Inn on Bennett to your Saves list
66 Bennett Drive, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1M9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gander B&B and Inns
Ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My parents stayed here on their driving trip across Newfoundland. They said they received a very friendly reception by Tonya. They met her parents who are also very friendly nice people. Tonya's husband is a chef and his full breakfast was delicious. Rooms was very nice. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night on our trip across the province. We were 3 generations and all our rooms were accommodating. The 3 children really loved their room with a double and single bed. Tonya and Dwayne gave us a super breakfast which was enjoyed by all. We arrived on a hot afternoon and Tonya steered us to the water park a few blocks away where the kids had a blast! This was our grandkids' first experience with a B&B and they were impressed! Tonya advised us on several restaurants and the one we chose was perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only stayed one night in Gander on our way to Gros Morne and the west country. Beautiful well kept house, close to all the shopping in Gander. Our hosts, Tonya and Dwayne Abbott, were very friendly - just what you'd expect from a Newfoundland couple. Our room had a comfy queen with private ensuite. Very quiet, with a view of the flowering trees in the back garden - lovely. Breakfast was delicious! Fruit parfait followed by French toast with fruit - very yummy and a specialty of the house!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tristate NYC area
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This excellent B and B has many things going for it: good location about 8 minutes to the airport and 3 to the TCH, delicious breakfasts with choices, ultra cleanliness. The hosts are very welcoming and seem well suited to this business. Do be aware that noise is an issue as the guest rooms are closely clustered together ( loud footsteps in the hall woke me at 1:30 AM and my neighbor's snoring at dawn) and the street is a cut through for the TCH and Airport Drive. The weekday commute starts early so as a result we were awakened by the cars whizzing by. All in all, I would choose this again over the chain motels in town.

Room Tip: Perhaps the upstairs rooms are more removed from the road noise than the 3 downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This B and B was a great find!
We stayed just one night on our drive from St. John's to Gros Morne but instantly began to wonder how we might contrive to return. We were tired after a long flight and drive but thankfully finding Inn on Bennett from the high way was really easy. Tonya was very welcoming and an excellent host. The room was delightful with lots of thoughtful touches and the bathroom was spotless with a great shower. The bed was fabulously comfortable and it's a quiet spot so we slept really well.
The next morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast of granola, fruit and yoghurt followed by a choice of cooked options - I strongly recommend the French toast with stewed apple and cinnamon. Their motto is "arrive as strangers and leave as friends" and it truly felt like it was the case. I would recommend this place without hesitation to anyone travelling on the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in Room #4 for one night in July. The room had one double bed and one single bed. Room #4 does not have an ensuite bathroom. However, we had a private full bathroom that was across the hallway. The B&B was very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was really lovely, well-prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

A beautiful home, a lovely room, a delicious breakfast and the most down to earth, friendly welcoming hosts anyone could ask for. Jean and Ross are two of the best ambassadors Newfoundland could ask for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Bennett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bennett

Address: 66 Bennett Drive, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1M9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gander
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Inn On Bennett Gander, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Bennett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.