We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gander Hotel to your Saves list
Gander Hotel
100 Trans Canada Highway, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gander
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights while travelling through. While there is no question the rooms need a major overhaul, the staff was so wonderful I didn't care. Room service went above and beyond. The young woman at the front desk lent me her own iphone charger when I realized I'd left mine at home.
Also the view of the river was nice.
As a hotel five minutes from an airport, this place definitely beats any comparably priced airport hotel in other major cities. A little charm goes a long way to comfort me about older carpeting.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    26
    19
    21
See reviews for
23
12
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After reading so many terrible reviews on this place, I was very nervous about my trip. As we were travelling as a large group, (25 people) Gander Hotel was arranged for us and we proceeded with caution.

Location was good - within walking distance to most things in town. Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Our room was spacious with a comfy king bed and clean. Yes the washroom sink was outdated, but worked fine. Everything in the hotel seemed outdated, but all worked fine, including ice machines, TV's and elevators.

As we were in town for a softball championship, we didn't have any flexibility on dates and the rooms at ALL hotels in Gander were inflated for the week ($117 + tax) per night. This certainly wasn't the price point I was hoping for, but service was great and room served its purpose.

Given we were a large and loud group of people, staff were very patient with us, helping us out daily with directions, suggestions etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked a package that included two nights, one dinner, theatre, and a whale watching boat trip at Twillingate. It was good value. Our room was clean, comfortable, everything worked. The pool had a grungy ring around the edge at the water line. The dinner was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am orginally from central area, was home on vac and had an early return flight out and decided to stay overnight to avoid a early drive. I didn't read the reviews, if I had I would have not bothered to waste my hard earned money on this crappy hotel.. $150.00 at that! I arrived at the hotel with 2 adults, 2 kids and quite a few bags.. No automatic sliding doors here!..nope..not even a handicap button to press to assist with entry.. No pleasant greeting when checking in.. Nope.. Not even a smile.. She was not happy to be there and it showed...She made sure I signed the pool waiver though. Room was not too bad in cleanliness, very outdated! Bedspread was ugly and itchy.. I wouldn't sit down on it..tv old. The pool (oversized tub)was stinky/cold/and scum all around the inside. my kids only stayed in for a few mins!! They could not tolerate the smell.Towels poolside were in plastic containers with spots on them and a total of 4 chairs to sit by the pool.. The only good thing was the guy who helped me with my luggage at 430 in the morning.. Too overpriced and need to renovate!! Don't waste your money people!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gander hotels

Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My 4 kids and I stayed there 3 days ago - I had to calm down to write this review - The hotel is very old, our sink in both room were cracked, we felt the springs in our beds. I called down to front desk asking about long distance calls, all she said was dial 8 first, nothing about the $2.00 for the first minute and $1.50 every minute after. When I enquired at check out the manager literally ran from his office and said not his problem call the phone company. I said you should inform guest, expecially after I called down his response was you didn't ask. I would have used my own cell phone but Telus only works in the city here in Newfoundland. Not only is this hotel old, in need of updating, the manager has a huge chip on his shoulder.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millet, AB, CN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the Gander Hotel in June 2013 for one night. The staff is great, the hotel and rooms are very clean. Hotel is on the Transcanada Hiway and close to all amenities.

Wehave nothing negative to say about this hotel, good value for a nice comfortable room.

Room Tip: The room facing the hiway have nicer lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were on the road and in a hurry to book a hotel in Gander, so stumbling across the Gander Hotel website I thought 'wow, that looks and sounds like a great place' and booked without looking for reviews. It was all downhill from there.

First, if you look their website you might believe the Hotel Gander to be a nice, modern hotel. They certainly bill it as such - and I'm positive they bought stock photography for their photos - as they don't match the look and feel of the hotel in any way. I took plenty of photos to add to this review.

Since I could write a small novel about all the problems with this hotel, here's the abbreviated list:

-The rooms look like they were last updated in the 80s

-The carpets are horribly stained. Same goes for any fabric surfaces on furniture. I felt dirty just being there.

-Bathroom vanity full of cracks, which in turn are visibly dirty.

-Water glasses in the room looked like they'd just been picked up from where the last guest was using them and put back in paper wrappers - one was even sticky.

-Sub-par, rock hard beds

-The pool they prominently highlight on their website was slightly bigger than a bathtub, and about as cold as the Atlantic in the spring. Don't get me wrong - I like a cool swimming pool, and hate bathwater-warm pools - but this pool was frigid. PLUS, you have to go the front desk and sign a waiver just to get the passcode to get into the pool.

- Both of the women we encountered at the front desk were exceedingly rude and unhelpful. For instance, I came to the front desk and said "I was hoping you might have a corkscrew?" and the woman - who was reading a magazine - didn't even look up and simply replied "No." When I continued with "but the hotel has both a restaurant and bar - are you telling me there's no wine openers in the whole hotel?" she replied threw the magazine down on the desk, huffed at me, then proceeded with: "Listen - we USED to have wine openers for the guests - but they stole them all - and we can't afford to just give wine openers to everyone!" When I suggested that they probably *could* afford this given they're charging $140 a night for a room I'd expect at $60 super-budget motel she basically yelled "maybe you'd have better luck at the bar!" before picking up her magazine and going back to ignoring me.

-We asked "Can you recommend a restaurant nearby?" Answer: "No."

All of that said - if they billed the hotel as a super-budget hotel... charged about half of what they currently charged, and hired all-new, friendly staff - then at least you'd be getting what you paid for. Since that's unlikely to ever happen - I'd strong recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gander Hotel

Address: 100 Trans Canada Highway, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gander Hotel Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.